We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Kona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Hercules, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great location in Kona”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I booked a partial ocean view room from January 18 to 23, 2013.

The taxi ride from Kona airport to the hotel cost us a little over $30 (excluding tip). If you have a rental car, parking is $12/day.

Check in was a breeze. Front desk personnel was nice and welcoming. However, I was disappointed with the room she assigned us (Rm 659) because it was towards the back of the building, so the view of the parking lot and the garbage area took away the beauty of the partial ocean view. Not worth the $$$. Also, our room was too cold. We tried to adjust the thermostat to 69, but it just stayed in the low 60s, so it was really cold at night. On the bright side, the room was spacious, the beds and pillows were very comfortable. Shower head provided the perfect amount of water pressure. There was also free wifi in the room.

The hotel deserves its 4 stars because of its location. I like that it has an ocean front (albeit small) that is great for snorkeling and SUP (stand up paddleboard). No waves for surfing though. My husband had to drive further down Alii Drive to Lymans just to surf. The ABC store within the hotel grounds was perfect for grabbing snacks and souvenir items. The hotel is walking distance from restaurants and shops along Alii Drive. Hulihe'e Palace, a tourist attraction, is also just a stone's throw away.

Concierge desk helped us plan and book our tours. Free printing of boarding passes on the ground floor near the exhibit area. Guest lobby had ice cold water (with lemon, lime, and orange) for weary travelers.

Overall, I'm glad we stayed at this hotel. I wouldn't mind staying here again in our future visit to the Big Island.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuchsiapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. Glad to hear that you were able to enjoy several aspects of your stay and also glad that our hotel was convenient for your shopping and dining explorations. We do however sincerely regret that your accommodations were not as you had hoped in terms of the view. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope that you will allow us to welcome you back the next time you are visiting the Big Island. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    1,312
    360
    96
    62
See reviews for
783
1,334
157
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and found this to be a good hotel. Staff were friendly, the rooms were clean and best of all, the hotel is located along seafront shopping and eating places. Parking spaces were adequate but if you're looking for a hotel with a beach and nice sand, you may want to look elsewhere. They have a small beach amidst the rocks (this stretch of the island is all rocky) which is often crowded during the day. There is also no room service so if you get hungry after 10pm when most all the bars and cafe closes, you'll need a car to drive up to the Denny's next to Walmart down the highway.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gymrat76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Aloha! I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and was able to take advantage of our complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel. We have a great property but I think it's the staff that really makes the experience. We all pride ourselves on offering the best we can in Island hospitality. Mahalo for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and the rooms are very comfortable. I was amazed at how quiet the hallways were. We never heard staff or other guest. We had two partial ocean view rooms on the 4th and 6th floor. The hotel staff were all very friendly and accomodated my request to have rooms away from the elevators. I'd definitely stay there again.
They also have great activities like a tour of the grounds and ukulele lessons on their weekly schedule. Oh, and the luau was fantastic.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micbou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your one week stay at our hotel. Also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our fantastic luau. It's wonderful to hear that our staff provided you with great service and accommodated your requests. We have an energetic, caring staff that tries very hard to provide an Aloha experience for our guests. Thank you for your kind words for the staff and for your honest feedback of your stay. Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to your next visit. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackfalds, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a great stay here. It's a big, beautifully appointed hotel. The main floor was filled with colourful artwork and artifacts. Every evening there is live entertainment by the pool. It's close to the beach and shopping and some great restaurants. The staff was excellent, totally professional. Our room was in tiptop shape and the toiletries were higher end, no cheap Chinese ingredients. Everything was clean and fresh. We had a fine view of the ocean and could see the sunset. Parking is $12 per day, much cheaper than Honolulu.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Aloha! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff provided you with excellent service. We are so glad that our location was convenient for you. Mahalo for taking the time to share your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

its near everything !! walking distance !! I had my wedding there the staff is so friendly and helpful ! I stayed a week its big nice clean and everything is new looking it has a nice pool little beach

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina30_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor review of your recent stay. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests feel we are a great value and that our staff is providing good service.
Congratulations on your recent marriage. So glad to hear that you chose Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel for your celebration. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!!
Mahalo for staying with us and a hui hou, until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at King Kam from Jan 27 to Feb 8 and loved every minute of it. The location was perfect for us. We never felt the need to rent a vehicle. You can buy some basics from the ABC store attached to the hotel or go to any of the dining establishments within walking distance. There is a trolley which stops regularly in front of the hotel which makes many stops all around Kona for $2/ride. We would hop on and go to one of the markets or Wal-mart if we felt the need. You were within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants and loved trying a new restaurant and we thought you would miss out on so much of the experience by just driving around. We met so many wonderful people on this trip just by walking into a new place.

I would recommend the Kona island experience tour. Once again yes you can rent a vehicle and go to the volcano. But we had an amazing tour guide (Hilory) which filled you in on so much about the history of the island that you would never experience by just driving to the volcano. He explained about the different climate zones, the history of King Kameha, etc. This tour went to black sand beach, macadamia nut farm, candy factory, coffee plantation, waterfalls, all with so many free samples that you would never get this experience from just driving to these places. We would have never seen so many things trying to find them on our own. Basically in one day we saw all of Kona and some of Hilo.

There were many things about the hotel that we loved. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds and pillows were amazingly comfortable and the staff are so friendly and courteous. We had an ocean view in the tower closest to the road. At first I thought I would hate the road noise but it only took one night and we were use to it. I loved being able to sit on the balcony and watch the canoes go out in the early morning with a cup of Kona coffee!! In the evening we could sit and watch the luaus; our view was totally amazing.

We would, and plan on, staying here again!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side would be away from the road. We had the other side with ocean front which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadaAdab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Aloha and thank you for posting such a great review of our property! Your compliments for our staff are very much appreciated; thank you. We're glad you enjoyed our clean and spacious rooms and the amazing views from your balcony along with our perfect location. We look for foward to welcoming you back for more great Hawaiian memories. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great location, right on a small, beautiful beach, walking distance to many shops, restaurants and bars. Rooms are large, clean and bed is comfortable. Pool area is great. Buffet breakfast and the restaurant were very good. There is a $10 a day parking fee. The staff were friendly. I enjoyed my stay and I recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was glad to hear that our location was convenient for your shopping and dining opportunities. Also glad that you were able to take advantage of our pool and lovely beach area. We appreciate your generous praise for our staff and thank you for mentioning your great dining experience at our restaurant. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,823 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing