We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is my second stay in this Courtyard, which by the way, it is outstanding beautiful. Maybe better looking that some of the full Marriott's chain Hotels which we are members off. I highly recommended. The front desk is very helpful and extremely people service oriented. This courtyard has many shops, galleries. Also an incredible Spa, great weight room and exercise room with outdoor view. The pool, the pool deck area with dinning seating is amazing it has ocean view. In addition the main restaurant has large windows which they open up so you feel totally in the Islands. It also has ocean view. This courtyard has his own private beach and everyone loves it! The room I got was the same as last time on the six floor facing the parking lot, which I notice was just re paved, looking great. I'm hoping next will be the two tennis courts, which can use a little TLC.
This room has a distance view of the ocean. Here is a tip: I was told the best views in this hotel are the South end.
We enjoy our stay always here since they have next door an ABC Shop for anything you might forgotten or need. They are perfectly located at Alii Dr. which has all phenomenal shops, restaurants, attractions, diving shops, etc... All at walking distance. This Courtyard is the perfect place to stay. Aloha! We will see you soon.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MJ778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Aloha and Mahalo for your great review on Trip Advisor. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests feel we are a great value in Kona and that our staff is providing good service. Glad that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location and lovely beach area. We've been getting some nice comments about our relaxing pool area, our new Spa, and our 24 hour fitness room. You will be pleased to know that we are in the process of renovating our tennis courts, so be sure to visit us again in the near future to take advantage of this new added service. Our team looks forward to your return. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,928 - 1,934 of 3,113 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just have returned home, from spending Christmas at the King Kam. and we were so impressed, with every detail of this hotel, since it has been remodeled! Also, the service was great, Manager Gerald, and bar Waitess Sheila, who both were from Hilo orginally, really gave top service! Front desk people, cleaning gals, everyone treated us like they truly care we were there. The food in Honu, was to die for, and the food at the bar, unreal, so good. The Steak sandwiches there, are tops. The bar is an open one, which is so nice. Covered with unbrellas when it rains though, and it hardly rains in Kona, but it did on Christmas night, so we had to cancel the Luau we were going to play tourists and attend, so we ended up eating at the bar, as Honu was booked solid. We had a great time, and great food at the bar though. We were there with friends from Hilo, Dora and Larry, plus, our two service doggies, and everyone at the Hotel, welcomed and loved them! When we want a get away and just staying on our Island, it will be at the King Kam. Only negative thing was, the Fire Alarms ( wow are they loud) went off on Christmas night at 2:00am!! We had to make it down all the stairs, with both doggies, and also with Dora and Larry, who were on our same floor, and giving directions to foreign people, who did not seem to know what to do next! So, we had an exciting trip, and lots of fun. Aloha, Evonne

Room Tip: Ask for the front building, and the 6th floor, it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvonneHilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Aloha!
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay in December. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your accommodations in our newly renovated rooms. Also pleased to hear that our staff provided you with great service. Our hotel is focusing on making our guests feel as comfortable, welcomed, and connected with us, and we are showing it with your great feedback.

We apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered with the false fire alarm that was caused by an act of vandalism, we hope that the inconvenience was minimal.

Many thanks again for your feedback, and we look forward to your return. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel on the 21st of Dec to be welcomed by garish decor and Christmas tree. Strangely the corridors were cold and there was a strange smell from the elevators and the corridors.

Our room was OK nothing to shout about however the balcony made me feel like I was in a battery cage. For some strange reason there was a whistling sound in our room as if we were in some sort of pressurised environment. My partner had to put a pillow and the runner from the bed at the bottom of the door to get rid of the sound. Spooky

The beach was tacky! And dirty ( It looked like a man made beach. Not sure if it is). The public changing rooms/ toilets I walked past reeked of odour .

Breakfast was blah. My eggs were not made very well.

The only positive I could find was the service received from concierge. Judith in particular was very good at sorting my mixed up taxi.

Overall- Very ordinary experience not bad. I also liked the fact that the hotel was within walking distance of shops and other touristy places.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leylahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay. We regret that the hallway sounds and odor were troubling to you and hope that this did not greatly impact your overall experience. Please be assured that this and all other issues have been addressed to the appropriate departments for immediate attention.
Thank you for the time you have taken to post your review and we hope that you will allow us the pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My mom chose this hotel out of a brochure from my travel agent. We stayed in a room on the fifth floor with a partial ocean view for 4 nights. The room was clean and comfortable, and the employees really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. My favourite part of the day was grabbing a coffee from the shop on the main level each morning and watching the sunrise on the beach a few steps from the hotel doors. Having a coffee shop and ABC store onsite was extremely convenient. Laundry facilities are available on the main floor ($2 wash, $2 dry, $1 for Tide). I only ate one meal (lunch) at the hotel (poolside bar), and it was good. I liked having the coffee maker, mini fridge, hairdryer and wifi in the room. I also appreciated the shopping and restaurants within walking distance. I was happy to be able to buy international stamps at the front desk, where I could also mail my postcards. My only complaint is that it can get a little noisy in the evening with the pool and bar just outside the rooms, even with the patio doors closed, but it was bearable. If I return to Kona, I'll definitely stay again at the King Kam.

Room Tip: Splurge on partial ocean view. The price is justified when you can sit on your balcony and see the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Aloha! Thank you for your kind praise for our staff and for posting a great review on Trip Advisor. Watching the sunrise in the mornings with a cup of coffee is an excellent way to start off the morning so we're delighted that you took advantage of all the great amenities that we offer our valued guests. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in December 2012 after the Outrigger closed and cancelled our reservation. The Marriott honoured the price and included the buffet breakfast (large selection of food, but wouldn't have purchased if not included). The hotel was clean and comfortable with an excellent location. It is walking distance to the shops and restaurants of Kona. It has a nice pool and small beach area that even has some fish swimming around for snorkeling. Parking is $10 per day. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanCouple2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for providing us with insight into your recent stay. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and was able to take advantage of our convenient location and lovely pool area.
We look forward to hosting your on your next trip to Kona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were very impressed with this hotel during our stay in Kona. The hotel was very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The beds were ultra comfortable. The location was close to shopping and a small beach. The beach was too small and calm for our kids (age 10 and 12) but there were little kids that were able to enjoy it. The pool was clean and not busy. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the West tower are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trinacanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel and your generous praise for our staff. Our top priority is our guests and providing them with exceptional services to create a positive experience. We have a great location near shopping and dining explorations. Mahalo for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nice hotel with good accomodations. Recommend getting a room with a ocean view or garden view. We ended up with the parking lot/partial ocean view, but I did pick the most economical room. All rooms have small balcony. Bunch of stores, pool, bar, and resturant onsite. Located a bit away (5-10minute walking distance) of the main block of resturancts and shops, but it is quiter too. Mini mall right up the street.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAdives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,248 reviews
6 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,994 reviews
21 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
12.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3612 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $197 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing