We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is great! The location is perfect, the rooms have been renovated recently, and the beds are VERY comfortable. The service is also very good and the staff is very pleasant and helpful. The only minor negative point is the size of the bathroom (might vary from room to room); in my room it was very small, it was difficult to close the door while being inside. This is not a big deal although. Overall I recommend strongly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeDassin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,880 - 1,886 of 3,017 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Courtyard over Thanksgiving week (2012). We were originally booked at another hotel that went out of business. We were offered three replacement choices with the Courtyard being one of them. Not only did they honor our prior reservation, but matched the package we had (B&B) which was 50% less than what they normally charge.

The Courtyard was recently renovated after the last tsunami on the Big Island and you could certainly tell. The property is right on the bay in Kailua-Kona. The pool is small, but is supplemented with its own beach. It is centrally located to everything . . . beach activities, shopping, sight-seeing. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful . . . unusal for a large hotel nowadays. We were given a room upgrade upon registration, which included free WiFi in the room. There is self-parking for $10/day, which is very reasonable for Hawaii. The Buffet Breakfast was warm and tasty . . . and included an omelet bar, fresh pancakes and waffles . . . but standard fair for a buffet.

We will certainly return to this property on any future trips we take to the Big Island.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view upgrade. You may get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itan2Much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My family stayed at this hotel for one night over Labor Day weekend because we were flying home the following day and wanted to be close to the airport (we were in Hilo before going to Kona). Labor Day weekend was very busy at the hotel because of the 2012 Queen Lili’uokalani Long Distance Outrigger Canoe races, and I think our stay at the hotel was different than normal because of that.

The hotel room was spacious and the beds were comfortable. Our room was on one of the upper floors and had a partial ocean view. It probably wasn't worth the extra money to get a room with a partial open view though since it was nothing special; we mostly looked down at the top of the air conditioning units. It was fun to watch some of the races the following morning, but the hotel was noisy and busy the night we stayed there. The racers took over the pool, beach, and restaurant area. Luckily they seemed to retire for the evening early, probably to get ready for their races the following day. I think the hotel should have warned us about the event when we made the reservation. If they had, we wouldn't have stayed there.

I would probably stay at this hotel again if I needed a place to stay in Kona. However, I think it would be smart to avoid staying in Kona since there are so many beautiful places to stay on the big island, and Kona isn't one of them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LikesToTravel333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We arrived the weekend after Thanksgiving and stayed for 5 days. I was very impressed with the location, atmosphere and great value of the hotel. The place was lovely with great pool / hot-tub, gym and swimming / snorkeling area right there. It was well kept and had a very "resort" feel to the place. The reef outside the hotel had tons of fish and was calm for easy viewing. The lobby had some nice artwork and interesting items on display pertaining to the Hawaiian culture. The staff was friendly and accommodating, which made for a memorable time. There was a restaurant with a roof eating area directly across the street (I don't recall the name) and it was excellent. We ate there 3 of the 5 nights. To add, the island was great to explore we drove practically the whole place. My only change I would have made to my stay would be to add 2 or 3 more days to my visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

if you want a resort-ey feel or just want to spend most of the time hanging out at the hotel, you'd probably really like this hotel.

if you're a more independent/adventurous traveler and/or have a car and plan to just use the hotel as a base, and/or just want a more mellow/laid back feel, then this hotel and the location might feel too touristy for you. if i were to stay in alii drive again, i might opt for 1-2 miles south of king kamehameha -- there's still plenty of smaller hotels to choose from down there, but there's fewer shops and restaurants, which makes it much quieter and less crowded.

pros:
really comfy bed and pillows.
beautiful rooms with nice carved-wood accents everywhere, stuff you would expect from a much more upscale hotel.
it's in the busy end of alii drive. if you don't have a car, it's convenient to just be able to walk to all the restaurants you need.
the start-point for ironman is right outside the front door. if you're in hawaii for ironman, stay here!

cons:
it's in the busy end of alii drive. tourist-trap restaurants everywhere. we had a car, so just getting out of the parking lot into the busy strip sometimes took a long wait.

there is a nice sandy beach adjacent to the property. it's a nice beach, very calm so good for lil' kids. but it's also small and you'll be sharing it with lots of people. not too exciting as far as swimming/snorkeling and definitely watch out for kayakers and paddlers.

rooms have sliding shutters instead of curtains covering the sliding door. well, the slats are pointing the wrong way so that at night, people on the street below can see you even though the shutters are closed. not cool.

our stay came with buffet breakfast at their in-house restaurant, honu's. although the food was ok (good for free, but they were charging non-hotel guests $20... ripoff!), their plates and glasses always looked dirty. the wait staff was really nice, though.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank EmersonMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Had a great time during thanksgiving weekend! I was surprised that this was such a hidden gem! I did not have a car so the location was great as I walked up the street to Starbucks and Pier 1....even had lunch at Bale.......walked all the way down Alii drive and went to the open market....there was a craft fair that weekend so spent alot of time (and money) purchasing gifts for friends and family......Recommend it for Kamaaina and vacationers who want a location that's convenient! The rooms were clean and spacious! The pool was awesome...poolside service was great and the dinner buffet on Saturday night was to die for!

Just need to check the air quality in the lobby area between the front desk and the restaurant/pool......otherwise everything was clean and spotless......loved the couches with the TV's and the internet areas.....

Shops were limited but great to have an ABC store to get those last minute snacks....coffee at the shop next door was good.....

Beds were soft....housekeepers were sweet.....did not have a bathmat on arrival but one showed up the next day along with extra amenities.....the bed was very soft and comfortable.....

Did not have a spa treatment but the staff was great when we walked in to speak to them.

Room Tip: My room was located in the tower to the right of the front desk and my room was around the corner fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharKaLani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Spent 10 nights here and found a lot of very positive things about this hotel. First while the building is a bit older, it has been renovated fairly recently. The rooms are nothing special, but are generally clean and comfortable and spacious.. We found the beds very comfortable.

Front desk staff were always very pleasant and went out of their way to accommodate us and a few special requests we had. They moved our initial room to one adjacent to another couple we were traveling with. The made a late check out possible by rearranging incoming guests. Everything we asked for they made happen and always with a smile and never made us feel bad for asking.

The hotel restaurant was very good for dinner while the breakfast buffet was only average. My complaint was the fruit that was served was only marginally ripe.

The location is excellent. Walking distance to plenty of shops and restaurants. The hotel also has probably the best beach in the area. A nice sheltered little harbour with lots of nice white sand both in and out of the water. If you are a casual snorkeler, there is plenty of small reef fish to view right at the beach. In fact we visited several of the more popular and recommended snorkeling hotspots along the Kona coast and found the quantity of fish at the hotel far higher than other beaches. Not to mention you simply walk out in the nice sand beach to enter the water unlike some of the more precarious entries you must make on other beaches.

Perhaps we are naive but we found the room cleaning staff not as friendly as other properties we have visited. Not unfriendly or rude, just quietly polite. We were also a little shocked to learn that the coffe mugs and glassware found in the room was simply swished in the bathroom sink and wrapped back in plastic. Often they were found still dirty.

The outdoor pool was clean and refreshing. Pool area and adjacent bar/grill were also kept very neat and tidy. Prices were reasonable and in line with other establishments.

If planning a stay in the Kona area, I would definitely consider this hotel. The location, beach and price all make this a good choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edrichywg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,205 reviews
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,912 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $190 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing