We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax & treat yourself”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was nervous this place would be a bit tacky considering the location and being part of a big chain, but I was pleasantly surprised! Stayed just one night as we had lots of places to see on the Big Island. Room was very comfortable, nice linen, quiet. Didn't have much interaction with the staff but they seemed pleasant. We had a "partial ocean view" and I would probably spring for the full ocean view next time since you really had to sit out on the balcony in one particular spot to see the ocean at all! We chose a higher floor which I liked. Didn't bother with the restaurant as it looked way overpriced even for Kona. Perfect location for walking to restaurants, checking out the shops and swimming off the pier. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inthekootenays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,076)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,931 - 1,937 of 3,076 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel was one of my favourites on my journey. Loved the location for the luau and the food was amazing. felt like i was on holidays! The rooms are neat and tidy with wifi in the rooms. bathroom is a little small but that doesnt matter. Great locations right in the centre of town and loved the fact it had a small beach at the back of the resort. Hired some stand up paddle boards and paddled out the back and did some snorkelling. parking was $10 a day and nice and close to the airport. Would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lozzzy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

-3 mornings in a row the tub was not draining, despite them promising it would be taken care of.
-Front desk called at night, wrong room
-Room with view of garbage area and parking lot
-$10 a day parking

+It is a nice location and a rare hotel in this area to have beachfront.
+Nice public spaces.
+Well appointed rooms
+Good sleep quality.
+Servicable fitness room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fillmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Have stayed twice, both times for 2 nights. Definitely will stay again, it's a great location, the pool area is nice, and it's one of the only sand beaches on big island, protected for young kids.

We did the Luau once, will not do that again. It was way overpriced, and some of the actors seemed like they hated tourists.

The dinner buffet was ok, and pricing was not bad on that.

The clientele seems pretty diverse (families, couples, retirees, etc.).

Generally a pretty happy place, what you trust about Marriott right in Kona.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is in a good location for exploring Alii Drive and it is close to the water and convenient to the Kona airport. The room was large, clean and quiet. View of the garden, pool and ocean marred by large roof on 2nd level. Very good nightly rate given how expensive it is in Hi. About $10 a night to park.

Room Tip: 3rd floor in West tower with "garden view" mostly see the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed at the King Kamehameha for three days during our first trip to the Hawaii islands. We spent most of our trip touring the island and snorkeling at different beaches but the little time we did spend at the hotel was great. No need to stay at a high priced hotel unless you just like wasting money. I have fairly high expectations and this hotel was fine for me. Better yet it allowed us to spend more money enjoying the different things to do around the island. We stayed 7 days on Oahu and wished we would have stayed longer in Kona. We will be back.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Shelly-John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was a great hotel in a great location. The plus was not only discovering a small beach in front of the hotel, but that the snorkeling was excellent. I have snorkeled in many areas in Hawaii that are considered great spots, but this little beach had huge schools of fish to observe and the variety of fish to view was awesome. Very easy to walk to good restaurants, shops and historical attractions.

Our room was nicely furnished. The beds were comfortable and everything was in working order. We appreciated the mini fridge and in-room coffee maker. Staff was nothing but courteous, helpful and professional.

Loved being able to order drinks and food from the pool menu from the lounges set up on the beach or at tables by the pool. The ahi nachos were great.

Room Tip: If you can get a beach front room as opposed to a beach view room, it's much nice to face the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,234 reviews
6 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,962 reviews
21 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
12.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3612 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $199 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing