We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 Star Property Wrecked by 2 Star Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
120 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“4 Star Property Wrecked by 2 Star Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

-3 mornings in a row the tub was not draining, despite them promising it would be taken care of.
-Front desk called at night, wrong room
-Room with view of garbage area and parking lot
-$10 a day parking

+It is a nice location and a rare hotel in this area to have beachfront.
+Nice public spaces.
+Well appointed rooms
+Good sleep quality.
+Servicable fitness room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fillmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    1,286
    348
    88
    58
See reviews for
763
1,297
152
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Have stayed twice, both times for 2 nights. Definitely will stay again, it's a great location, the pool area is nice, and it's one of the only sand beaches on big island, protected for young kids.

We did the Luau once, will not do that again. It was way overpriced, and some of the actors seemed like they hated tourists.

The dinner buffet was ok, and pricing was not bad on that.

The clientele seems pretty diverse (families, couples, retirees, etc.).

Generally a pretty happy place, what you trust about Marriott right in Kona.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is in a good location for exploring Alii Drive and it is close to the water and convenient to the Kona airport. The room was large, clean and quiet. View of the garden, pool and ocean marred by large roof on 2nd level. Very good nightly rate given how expensive it is in Hi. About $10 a night to park.

Room Tip: 3rd floor in West tower with "garden view" mostly see the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Washington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed at the King Kamehameha for three days during our first trip to the Hawaii islands. We spent most of our trip touring the island and snorkeling at different beaches but the little time we did spend at the hotel was great. No need to stay at a high priced hotel unless you just like wasting money. I have fairly high expectations and this hotel was fine for me. Better yet it allowed us to spend more money enjoying the different things to do around the island. We stayed 7 days on Oahu and wished we would have stayed longer in Kona. We will be back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly-John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was a great hotel in a great location. The plus was not only discovering a small beach in front of the hotel, but that the snorkeling was excellent. I have snorkeled in many areas in Hawaii that are considered great spots, but this little beach had huge schools of fish to observe and the variety of fish to view was awesome. Very easy to walk to good restaurants, shops and historical attractions.

Our room was nicely furnished. The beds were comfortable and everything was in working order. We appreciated the mini fridge and in-room coffee maker. Staff was nothing but courteous, helpful and professional.

Loved being able to order drinks and food from the pool menu from the lounges set up on the beach or at tables by the pool. The ahi nachos were great.

Room Tip: If you can get a beach front room as opposed to a beach view room, it's much nice to face the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here when we visited the Big Island. It was a short drive from the Kona airport and it was really in a convenient location; it is right on the beach, a quick walk away from the touristy restaurants and shops, a longer walk away from several larger stores (e.g. Long's Drugs Store, Hilo Hattie's), and a quick drive to the local Walmart where one can pick up tons of Hawaii souvenirs for cheaper than you can find them at the local ABC stores (of which there is one on site at the hotel and one right across the street).

We were on a budget and did not pay to have an ocean-facing room, but we were still able to see part of the beach from our balcony. Everything was nice and clean in our room and it was very quiet during our stay. The pool was small but nice and clean and the beach was really beautiful especially at night when we ate outside at the hotel restaurant (the scallops, by the way, were fantastic). We also ate breakfast there one morning; he got the breakfast buffet while she asked for miso soup and was allowed to refill her bowl a few times from the buffet for only $4 instead of the price of the whole buffet meal. We also ate lunch once at the poolside bar and restaurant; food here was tasty but nothing really fantastic.

Parking was plentiful and convenient; we never had trouble finding a spot at any point during our stay.

Overall, we were really happy with this hotel and will be back again whenever we visit Kona in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SadLawGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great location and the hotel was recently renovated. We had a great stay, although we were out most days. Pool wasn't crowded and its quite central to the big box stores if you need anything. Good service, although we didn't try any of the restaurants. Free wifi and parking rates were reasonable $10/day. Only downside was that because a big group was coming in the day we were leaving, there was no hospitality room available. A slight inconvenience when travelling with a toddler and flying out late at night.

Room Tip: we stayed in the east tower, ocean view was partial but good enough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemmad03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing