We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, wonderful breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location, wonderful breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at "King Kam" for the last night of our week on Big Island, before flying back to Canada. It was an excellent choice. It is centrally located in Kona and you can enjoy the great bars and restaurants on foot without having to drive again. The rooms were tastefully decorated and very clean. Breakfast was truly awesome, the best we've had during our stay on Big island: plenty of buffets to choose from; fresh pancakes, etc., and a lovely terrasse right on the private beach of the hotel. The personnel was friendly and helpful, starting right at the reservation made on the phone.

If we have go to Kona again, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelgianfromOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Aloha! Thank you for your perfect rating on Trip Advisor and we were very happy to hear that our hotel was an excellent choice. We love hearing from our guests and appreciate your kind words and I'll be sure to share it with the rest of the team.
Mahalo for staying with us and a hui hou, until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    1,278
    340
    88
    58
See reviews for
758
1,284
151
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
371 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a hotel, not a resort, so expectetions shpuld be set accordingly. That being said, the hotel is extremely well located to visit most of the Big Island. We had an oceanfront room witha good view on the small beach and the Ironman starting platform. Very well appointed room, with a very comfortable bed. Friendly staff throughout the hotel. We never dined at the hotel, but enjoyed the breakfast buffet five times ... not spectacular, but certainly adequate. Decent gym.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel_Jan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed for a week the last part of Sept. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and helpful. Our room was kept spotless and the bed was very comfortable.The coffee pot, small fridge and small safe were nice to have. We were on the third floor of the west wing, not much of a view but we were not there enough to notice. We had no trouble with noise or air conditioning. Shopping and dining are with in walking distance. The ABC store in the building was a plus. The rates were very reasonable. All in all our stay was great! Already planning to return next year and stay again. Would totally recommend The King Kam!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
717 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were in Kona for the annual Queen Liluokalani Regatta. The race started and ended at the pier which was just behind the hotel. This is ,also, where the IronMan starts and ends. My husband was one of the paddlers. Checking in was efficient. The receptionists were friendly. We traveled for a total of 19 hours so we were very tired when we got in, We attended the Island Breeze Luau the next day. It was held in the back of the hotel by the water. The staff was eager to help or give information. Judith, at the concierge desk, was friendly and knowledgeable. The Honu's Restaurant served breakfast (buffet). We only ate breakfast twice at Honu's as were always on the go. We did not have a chance to use the pool or gym. They had a coin-operated laundry facility and a free Internet access in the lobby area. There was a mall with gift shops, art store, coffee shop and an ABC Store connected to the property. The canoe regatta started and ended at the pier which was just behind the building. The hotel was very busy throughout our stay.
The room was adequate. We had a balcony that faced the lawn and part of the water. The bed was comfortable. There was a small refrigerator underneath the flat-screened TV set. There was a coffee maker in the room. Our room was very noisy as it was 2 doors away from the elevator. My husband and I are both Marriott Rewards members but I made the reservations in my name and specifically asked for a room away from the elevator, on a higher floor. This request was ,also, in my Marriott Profile which was kept for all Rewards members. We stayed at this facility for 8 nights. We complained about our air conditoner that was freezing (65 degrees Fahrenheit) on the third day. The engineering staff came in to check it several times. I suspected that it was a non-functioning thermostat since the temperature never went above 65 degrees. We were told that it was not a thermostat problem but it would be fixed the next day as it required more than a day to get the parts needed. One lady at the reception desk told us that she would try her best to move us but "they were full". We did not get moved! We were miserable so we would open the sliding glass door at night when it was too cold but then, it would get hot and humid so we would turn the air back on. I have a breathing problem so it was uncomfortable. The noise got worse when the sliding door was open. Between the elevator and the ice machine going on, it got to be very noisy at night, The manager, Ms. S. K. gave us two complimentary vouchers for breakfast one day to make up for the air conditioning problem. I told her that if we did not have the problem with the AC, the hotel would have gotten perfect marks from us. When we got home in Florida, we both had bad cold and cough. We would stay here,again, if we had the chance but we would avoid Room 678. The next time, we would not put up with a room that was icy cold. We would demand to be moved to another room.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator and ice machine. We were in Room 678 (6th floor) and it was 2 doors aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TRAVELdglobenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Aloha!
We appreciate your feedback and really do our best to take care of our loyal Marriott members. Unfortunately, because of the annual Queen Liliuokalani Regatta the hotel was full and apologize for not being able to accommodate your room request to your satisfaction.

And my sincere apologies for the noise that you experienced from the elevators and ice machine during your stay. Please be assured that all issues with the air conditioning unit has been addressed with our maintenance department.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can host you again during next year's annual canoe regatta. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Great downtown location. Near food and night life. It's a little bit of a drive to the best beaches but centrally located. I'd say there again for sure. The bedding is nice. The parking a bit pricy for your rental car. Close to grocery stores.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in late Sept. It is a good hotel with an exceptional staff who were always courteous and attentive. It's clear that the Management takes their job seriously and wants guests to be satisfied.

This is a hotel that is excellent for those seeking a relaxed stay, but plan to spend a significant amount of time out and about. The location central & easy to find with a lot of dining options within walking distance. While it has "resort" like opportunities, you might be disappointed if you were looking for the full beach resort experience. There is a fair amount of traffic at the neighboring pier and public ramp. Room rates were very reasonable and I would classify the place as an exceptional value relative to it's peers.

We were very satisfied with stay and would recommend it to others. Especially those who are first time visitors to the Big Island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Compass71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests feel we offer the best value for the best location and that our staff is providing exceptional service. I agree that we are in a great location for shopping, dining, beach activities or just relaxing by the pool. Our team looks forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here in early September, 2012, for one week. The location is great, near beach, shops, and restaurants. The hotel appearance was nice and they had great gym and even offered a free yoga class, which we enjoyed. There is a place where you can rent snorkels on adjacent beach and it was not bad, but the time we went, a bit too murky...not their fault, of course. The room was comfortable, with nice balcony, but could have been cleaner. Saw a clothing tag on floor day we moved in and tub was dirty looking, mostly stained. Still, had a great shower. Housekeeping kept forgetting something, like towels or soap or clean glasses...just did not seem well organized. When i asked an attendant for soap, they handed me one bar, reluctantly, although i needed a facial bar, too. Also, the shampoo was different...one day it was the usual brand, then mid-week it was a different one--Bath and Body Works, which I like better anyway. However, the sheets were clean, so that is most important for me. There was a black mold spot by the tub, which was finally gone by day we left...it almost seemed like they re-grouted that part of tub, so guess they are maintaining it.
The front desk staff are very nice, and maybe I should have just dealt with them for all minor housekeeping complaints.
We ate at hotel once, for breakfast. Big mistake. Should have done buffet rather than table service. Asked for a fruit bowl and it was mostly mainland fruit with, amazingly, the most flavorless bland canteloupe ever sampled. Most of the fruit was bland, but i have had water with more flavor. They advertised tropical fruit on the menu for buffet, so maybe it would have been better. There are better places to eat, like Kona Inn, Ultimate Burger, and Ba-Le. Quinn's across the street wasn't bad, either.
While I may expect quirky service and poor food from a lower-budget hotel, i don't feel this hotel completely meets standards i expect from a Marriott, for those rates.

Room Tip: We got partial ocean view, street side, which I thought would be noisy, but it was not bad at all. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scooter914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Executive Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your review of our property on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and feedback, I was disappointed to read we did not meet your expectations on this visit; I extend my apologies and assure you that all concerns regarding housekeeping has been addressed with the appropriate managers for their review and corrective action to prevent future occurrences.

Please accept my personal apology for the inconvenience that you encountered during your visit. We hope this incident has not caused you to lose faith in our services and hope you will continue to support Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel.
Many thanks again for your feedback, and I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you in the future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,739 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing