We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxed place to stay and get married”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My, now, husband and I stayed here in October, in fact we had our wedding in the hotel grounds. We cannot recommend both the hotel and Kona Weddings, who have an office in the hotel, highly enough.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the location fantastic for wandering out for lunches, dinners and drinks, although we also loved eating at the pool bar in the evenings (great bar staff). There was some refurbishment happening on the ground floor (damage from the Tsunami) but it was not a problem. The snorkelling from the hotel beach was better than when we were on the Great Barrier Reef.

The wedding ceremony was just us, Danny (minister) and Helen Cheek (photographer) and Henri from the hotel. It was great, having been together for over 20 years we hadn't expected it to be such a happy and moving occasion. Helen took some amazing pictures, and believe me that was an achievement as hubby and I are notoriously unphotogenic. I still smile to myself when I think about the whole thing.

Having read some of the more negative reviews here, I really can't understand them. For the price you could not ask for better and I can't imagine the staff that I met being rude to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonDram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,258 - 2,264 of 3,074 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed at this stylish remodeled hotel in first week of Dec. They did an outstanding job remodeling the hotel/rooms. The hotel stuff was very nice and gave us one of their best rooms with an excelent view of Kona bay on the top floor. Room/Bathroom were spacious, clean and aranged with good taste. We took our breakasts on the balcony watching the sunrises. The hotel has its own pool and almost like its own sandy beach. I can keep going complimenting the hotel but to make a week story short we can sum it up in few words: We'll be back next year !

Room Tip: Ask in advance for the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Imagine arriving at the hotel late in the evening on your honeymoon and the first thing you will meet is a very very rude front desk person. But this was nothing but the start. The whole hotel was under construction and renovation (we weren't told about this when booking the room), the noise is awful, places are dusty and people really aren't happy about that. We went to our room, which was supposed to be a partial ocean front room, the room was otherwise OK BUT what we saw already in the total darkness from our room was that there was a huge construction area and a big trash container right in front of our room. We didn't know whether to cry or laugh as this was a total disaster right from the beginning and it was the last week of our honeymoon in Hawaii. We were too tired to go downstairs to complain and meet the awful customer service (!) person. Instead we did it as the first thing in the morning and accepted somehow the third room that we were able to take a look at. The noise and renovation is though everywhere in the hotel, so you can't escape that.. The breakfest was very good and the gym was great too. The customer service got really cheesy with no real benefits after our complaints to the front desk. The location of the hotel is very good, but that's about it. Unfortunately not real beaches near this hotel though. I wouldn't ever return to the hotel because of our not so nice and comfortable honeymoon stay in there and think that the place isn't worth of recommendating either.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tiina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

This was our first trip to the islands. There were some resorts that looked inviting but when we drove around we saw that they were in the middle of nowhere. It's 20 miles to town if you want a cheap hamburger. This is located on the dock that the cruise ships unload at and it's a pleasant walk up Alii rd. where the tourist junk shops and restaurants are. You can walk up Palani rd. where there are fast food places, Walmart, and Longs drugs if you're on a budget.
This was a great central location to tour the island. 10 miles to the airport, 20 to Captain Cook, and 80 to the volcano. Also, you're in the middle on coffee country. There's no aircraft, traffic or loud partys to ruin things. Very clean and everyone was friendly. It made our vacation perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor facing the inside. Not a super view of the ocean but OK of the dock and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The location is FANTASTIC. The rooms, restaurant, and staff was GREAT. I would definately stay here again. It is not a 5 star hotel, but I didn't expect that going into it so I was not let down. Love it! Eat breakfast at Bongo Ben's. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Having stayed here once right after the renovation and then after conversation to Marriott Courtyard I think there is potential for a good reasonably priced hotel in Kona. Like the Courtyard in Honolulu this is a conversion and much better than the Honolulu Courtyard which at best is a Fairfield Inn and no where near a Courtyard.

The staff was just getting into the Marriott way but the conversion is nice, and the location one can not beat.

I would recommend this property to try, in fact I am returning next week on business!

The restaurant also has the potential to be wonderful. Be careful on wine selection we had to send back a very expensive bottle as it had turned. The waiter relied that it's hard to store wine in Hawaii. Thats why they have wine closets

Room Tip: Great location ask for the second building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghostrider5408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

If you want to be in Kona then this hotel is perfect. It's a bit of an older property with a few hiccups. 1st of all, the shower head is at 5' 8". I had to to crouch to take a shower. That's not acceptable from a Marriott property. Also there is no minibar or room service. If you want a drink you have to walk to the bar outside and it closes at 10PM.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OC_Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,234 reviews
6 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,959 reviews
21 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
12.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3612 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $198 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing