We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, clean, updated hotel which was close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great, clean, updated hotel which was close to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We checked in on Sunday, September 4th. There were a lot of people there for the canoe races and we had to wait for our room to be ready. We came back at 1530 and checked in. The first room we were given was facing a wall, which would have been quiet, but we were hoping for a better view. We were then given room 411 which had a view of the pool and beach area. We heard noises the first night (from the luau?) but nothing after that...and we were so tired it and had no problem falling asleep. The hotel had some construction going on, but it was nothing that bothered us. The rooms were very nicely updated and the beds were very comfortable! My only complaint about the room would be the size of the bathroom. It was a little tight, but nicely updated. The room also had a fridge, safe and balcony with 2 chairs.

The hotel is in a great location. There are all kinds of shops and resturants just across the street. The beach area just outside of the hotel rents paddle boards ($25 per hour) kayaks, canoes and snorkel equipment. We got a $5 (hotel) discount on the paddle board which dropped it down to $20 an hour. There is also an ABC store in the hotel, which is great for postcards, etc.

The pool is not huge, but we always got 2 chairs together. Also, there is a $10 per day parking charge.

We "named our price" on priceline.com and were absolutely thrilled that the hotel we got was the King Kamehameha. We would definately book here again, but I don't think we'd be lucky enough to get the deal we got this time.

**About the negative review written for the "local".... I just can't understand how they had such a difficult time. If we had any issues or concerns, they were taken care of immediately and always with such a great attitude.....at all times of the day. We LOVED this hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    1,286
    348
    88
    58
See reviews for
763
1,297
152
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed here for three days in September. First two days were croweded due to the canoe race and they were playing loud music. The next day was quitier and we got to enjoy the hotel. They are still renovating the hotel, but was very nice and clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Recently remodeled and did a fabulous job. I recommend paying the extra $ to get the oceanfront corner rooms - other rooms are tiny as it is an older property. Pool is decent size and sparkling clean. Rooms were immaculate and staff was very nice. Keep in mind this is not a resort hotel like up the road and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get the oceanfront corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redsoxnation949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

After a long flight from NY to HI we were happy to find out that our hotel had most amazing mattress we have ever slept on. I actually wrote down the name and collection it was from before we flew back home. Simmons Beautyrest Classic - Gentle Nights II just incase someone was wondering.
Staff was OK at the front desk. We had a key issue so I went down to get it fixed. Took them a while because they were short staffed but overall they were fine.
Rooms were really clean and sleep was most comfortable.
I called ahead to tell them that we are on our honeymoon in hopes that they will give us a room with a decent view. Instead it was pointing towards some tennis court that has seen better days. Some people care about that stuff when doing a review but we didnt because we were there to enjoy our selves.
Location couldn't be better and everything was within 5-10 minute walking distance.Hotel has a ABC store around the corner (in the hotel building) where you can buy anything you need from foods drinks and accessories for cheap.
Hotels rental shop was great. FREE snorkeling gear for guests and $10/hr for kayaks which was awesome.
Restaurants around the hotel were very reasonably priced
Breakfast - $7-15 (a lot of food)
Dinner - $12-20 ( $20 if you order fish which you totally should)
Drinks - $4-8 (bartenders are very generous)
Hotels tiki bar was full of great tourists and very nice bartenders who are full of stories and tips. By day 3 they knew us by our names :)
Over all I would give this hotel 4.5 out of 5 start because I am not the type of critic who cares much about where his window pointing to or whether key cards worked or now and I waited few minutes to many at the service desk. If you want a real review which talks about Food Drinks Sleep comfort Location Amenities then little things like what I mentioned will not bother you.
We are planning out trip again next year and definitely will be staying in that great location .

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EmilGevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

My stay would have been fine if it wasn't for the noise.

At 8 am, I was awaken by drilling, hammering. At 10am I called to see how long it will be as I needed to get more sleep, do a bunch of stuff and fly out that day.
They only knew about construction on 2nd floor, related to tsunami. The assured me there was nothing near me. They did offer to move me, but I just needed an hour or two more sleep and had to check out.

A couple hours later by the pool, I saw, and documented TWO work crews, one floor down, but one room to my right and left! I was in a noise sandwich! I took a picture, and walked over to tell them...and ask for a 1pm late check out which they normally charge $25 for. They only waived it when I told them specifics and said I had pictures of it.

When checking out, I kept telling them how bad it was. I thought they would offer to waive my parking or something , but they just kept apologizing. I am hoping they really went to the manager w/my suggestion to not fix rooms at 8am! Geeze let people sleep till 10 am at least! I understand tsunami damage work is a lot (on lobby floor and probably 2nd fl) and has to be ongoing, but changing out the sliding doors, which is not all day, shoudl be scheduled later. How can you expect people to pay to sleep in a construction zone during their vacation!

Room Tip: Make sure there are no room improvement projects (i.e changing sliding doors w/drilling and hammerin...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank hwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Pros - This Hotel is in a Good location, and is close to the main attractions, restaurants in town and is walking distance to main chain stores wallmart etc. Room was finished to a good standard with a good comfortable bed and bathroom. The room (5th floor) had a balcony and gave a sneak look at the sea. Fridge had a night switch which was handy as was slightly noisy.
This hotel is one of the few in town to have a sandy beach and has watersports gear for hire at a discount rate for hotel residents. (the Kono boys, very friendly) kayaks, snorkel gear, stand up boards etc, it also has a safe area away from the open sea to practice before you go out to the main bay.
Have to mention the restaurant staff are friendly.
Cons - The Hotel was under renarvation, it had been affected by the Tsunami and half the ground floor was closed. The main restaurant and gift shops, probably other things as well but hard to judge as alot of the area was boarded up. Work started at 7.30am so not much of a lye in! we asked for any discount voucher because of the inconvenience and were bluntly told the hotel is as is!
a Tip.. Dont make the mistake we did if you are hiring a car from Alamo, hire it on the first day from the airport and not the third day, there is no cheap way to get back to the airport apart from a expensive taxi ride, they dont have a local pick up and the hotel is not interested in sorting anything out for you, shuttles etc. having said that Alamo once there provide good service, ask for Bernie! you wont go wrong.
Conclusion: Once Hotel is fully renovated it would be worth a punt.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve_ang_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

The hotel is within walking distance to a ton of restaurants and nightlife in the city of Kona. The beach outside the hotel is definitely not worth spending any time at especially since there are so many stunning beaches in the area. The lobby was still undergoing some renovations after the tsunami, but it looked fine for the most part. The room looked like it had been updated recently. The beds were comfy. My one complaint concerning the service was that they wouldn't let us unload our bags in the front of the hotel. We had to pull around to the back and park, which was annoying since we had a lot of stuff - and there were no luggage carts for some reason.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hiya891234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing