We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place and great room”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Maluhia Country Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful place and great room”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The place is amazing, peaceful and straight out of Peter Pan movie.The room was nice and clean. The WiFi was fast and reliable. The breakfast was outstanding, fruits, eggs, Belgian waffles and more... We enjoyed staying there for two nights! Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeroen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    69
    32
    20
    14
See reviews for
47
188
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in the Japanese Tea House room, it was clean, cozy and larger than I had expected. We had an early check in and the room was ready for us when we arrived which was great. Out hosts were knowledgeable and incredibly friendly, suggesting some good local eats, a local art fair and Captain Cook Cove for snorkeling and seeing spinner dolphins. The temperature in our room was comfortable and while it is on a main road, we had no trouble sleeping. Although sadly we were always out too early every morning to enjoy the breakfast, it looked like they had a great set up. Overall, I liked it...

Our biggest disappointment was that the photos on the website are really make this place seem very spread out and in a wooded area, rather than sitting in the middle of a suburb. While I read over most of the info on the site & I realized it was off a county road, the photos really suggest that the property itself is very secluded. We found it wasn't quite as much of a romantic getaway as a I had thought it would be. We could also hear our neighbors in the house next door, which also made it feel less private.

If your looking for something romantic or a little off the grid, this is probably not the place for you. However if your looking for a friendly place with a more local feel in a convenient location, go for it.

Room Tip: Not sure if other rooms are quieter, but the sliding door lets some noise in. Has a private bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WowTigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed one night in July 2013 with our 12 year old son who absolutely loved all the critters, from the geckos, to the many birds, koi and bunnies in the back. Ken is such a nice man and spent time at breakfast sharing his heart with us. If you are super picky and are looking for a four seasons experience, move on. However, if you want to really get a feel for what Hawaii is all about, then this is the place. The breakfast makes this an outstanding value if you are on a budget and is not to be missed. The wonders of nature that surround you while you dine is worth the price of admission. Again, if you are mr or mrs picky pants, go pay $300 a night for a sterile night's stay but you will miss the real Hawaii experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tressy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed there 2 nights during our honeymoon and found at Hale Maluhia exactly what we were expecting from a house of peace (which is the English translation of Hale Maluhia)! Ken (the owner) and his staff have been absolutely welcoming and gave us precious suggestions.
We stayed in the nice Pikaki room which is fully equipped with kitchen, fridge, microwave, LCD Tv and dvd player ( a rich collection of movies is available for use), free wi-fi and private bathroom. For breakfast they provide a choice of delicious cakes and muffins, fresh tropical fruits and you can even scramble you eggs or make your own waffle.
This amazing property, beautifully located on a hill (close to the town centre) is very well manned, clean and quiet. The perfect place to stay in Kona at very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicchi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights . The welcome of the owner ken was very nice and we loved our "treehouse" all the rooms are surrounded by trees like you wre in the jungle. It was very clean and the people were very friendly and helpful! Only negative point, the road is a bit noisy and very near.... Nevertheless this is a bed and breakfast with a real hawaii feeling!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Hale Mahulani complex is very comfortable and conveniently located.  Only a short drive to the highway and Kailua-Kona.   I stayed in the Pikaki room which was clean although in need of some drywall repairs; the bed a bit soft but relaxing.  This room steps out on a peaceful, covered lanai.
There are mosquitos, although not voracious.  The complex has a variety of bird life including chickens and turkeys which seem to blend in well.  
The unfortunate setting in the crook of an increasingly popular, windy road leads to an intrusion of road and neighbor noise.  This was most noticeable in the early morning and late afternoon, by nightfall the traffic let up somewhat.
I did not meet the owners who were on site but I suppose busy.  The grounds keeper was friendly and helpful.  The breakfast was an adequate array of local fruits, some breads, juice, hot beverages, and a make-it-yourself omelette bar.
If you are looking for someplace cozy and conveniently located and don't care about noise this may be the place for you.
Keep in mind the NOISE is NOT country noise but Traffic, Neighbors, on-site Telephone ringing and conversations. If PEACEFUL is what you are looking for this may NOT work for you.
I would most likely not return here.

Room Tip: Considering the location on a hairpin curve I doubt there is a room that would not be exposed to tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LRRabbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KonaPilgrim, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
My apology to this guest for missing them, I do come to visit at breakfast most every day sometime between 8 - 9 and try to help those have questions concerning our wonderful Island. We have 11 out of 14 world climates on this one island. Sorry that I missed them but I am now 81 and may have missed that morning. Most folks deeply praise our Breakfast Lovers Buffet of fresh island fruit, juices, pastries, home made bread and the all you can eat DIY Omelet Bar with bird watching. ( However, we do the dish-washing.) As to the noise, some times the locals going to and from work are a little noisy but it is usually only during working hours. The Gomes across the street from us do have a rooster and so we do provide soft ear plug if needed, if there is a problem sleeping late. Most love the Country sounds of our Inn but then there are always exceptions as beauty is always in the eye of the beholder. And yes,, I did notice the small hole in the sheet-rock next to the shower, and now it is on our fix list. But it is amazing how many of our guest do personally comment to me as to how they love the PEACE of our lovely inn. Perhaps these folks were just having a bad day or would have been more comfortable in a concrete hotel? We are truly a Hawaiian Coffee Country Inn with a gentle and comfortable peaceful touch of aloha from Old Hawai'i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

At first glance, this place looks great and certainly gives that sense of peace. The room upon entering looked okay but upon closer inspection, there were dust bunnies behind the bedside tables and dressers. The window screens needed maintenance so we couldn't open the windows for fear of insects invading our room. Staff and owner was cordial but not approachable or friendly at all. Staff picked on food that we thought were reserved for guests. Waffle batter was used and reused for days. No thanks. Really disappointed with this place. Will definitely not recommend but will certainly share my awful experience with friends, colleagues and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krisleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KonaPilgrim, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
It almost seems that these guests stayed some place else? But we did find the bent screen and have in on the fix list. And as we don't like to use bug spray around beds we do need to watch for spider webs but the spiders are harmless. Our apology that we missed one. But we are a REAL Kona Coffee Country Inn. And the staff has plenty of gentle aloha for those who want to be friendly. It would have been nice if these folks had said something at the time so that we could have made their stay more comfortable, but an antiseptic hotel, we are not. The Four Seasons may have been a better choice for these folks. The Maile Room is $87. and includes a full buffet breakfast with bird watching for two people. The waffle batter is sometimes whole wheat and looks old but is fresh and never kept more than 2 mornings. We are very careful with our food handling, I enjoy the morning's breakfast here myself. We try to maintain a very friendly caring comfortable Country Inn that is down home and not stuffy. We are not touchy or fussy and don't mind folks exploring and feeling at home but we are not every one's cup of tea. Seems these folks may not have read our Information page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
2.2 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,861 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Maluhia Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Maluhia Country Inn

Property: Hale Maluhia Country Inn
Address: 76-770 Hualalai Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hale Maluhia Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Virtual Kona Coffee Plantation of five rooms and two cottages in country comfort. Exceptional Breakfast Lovers Buffet and DIY omelet bar, fresh fruit, fresh bread baked daily, pure Kona coffee and bird watching. Relax to sage advice, friendly prices, broadband wireless, good beds, private baths and a gentle touch of aloha from old Hawai'i along the road less traveled. Just 3 miles south of Kailua-Kona and 11 miles south of the Kona International Airport (KOA). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Maluhia Country Inn (House Of Peace) Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Country Inn Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Country Inn
Hale Maluhia Country Inn Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing