We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Maluhia Country Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Would stay again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in their Japanese Tea house. It is an very cute little 1 bedroom almost cottage-with everything you need for the vacation. The only thing it does not have is a private bathroom attached to it- you have to walk down the stairs and into the main house to use the bathroom--which was not a problem at all. We arrived around 4pm on Saturday Sept 17- Jeremiah greeted us as the door right away, showed us to our room, have use a tour around the entire property. They then checked us in, and told us when breakfast would be the next am. Our room was very clean. The great thing was having the sounds of wildlife throughout the night. Many people complained about this in other reviews, but we thought it was very peaceful and had no trouble at all sleeping. The next morning breakfast was right at 8am, which they ring a bell to let you know its time to eat. They had a great breakfast spread for us that included, 3 types of juices, coffee, pastries, tons of fruit, homemade bread, and eggs, cheese with a variety of veggies and meat to make your very own breakfast omelet. There was a nice covered outdoor lanai where you could eat breakfast, as well as a living room for guest, a library with tons of movies and a Jacuzzi which we couldn't use as each night we were tired and in bed early! It was very quiet the entire time as there was only us and 2 other guests in the entire bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: the japanese tea room is not attached to the the rest of the house where the rooms were at, so it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libbiroed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    67
    32
    20
    14
See reviews for
46
185
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
middle America
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at the inn for one night so cannot give a full review, but we stayed in the Maile Room and were pleased that it had a private bathroom. Unfortunately there was a problem with the water line, which they tried to fix immediately, but it could not be resolved that night. Ken did an excellent job, however, taking care of us the best he could under the circumstances. Although we had an early flight and could not stay for breakfast, he made coffee and other food available for us. We also enjoyed the singing birds outside.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersboro, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We highly recommend this place to stay if you are looking for a beautiful, quiet, tradtional inn. They were very accommodating to every request, and looked after our every need ,their motto was, "Hey, you're on vacation, relax!'. The breakfasts were wonderful, with a wide variety of fresh fruits, homemade breads, and make your own omelet bar. This place is surrounded by a huge variety of exotic plants, birds, and flowering trees, very lovely. We enjoyed sitting in the jacuzzi at night and listening to the sound of the tree frogs chirping. If you are used to modern resort atmosphere, this place may not be for you, but if you want a slice of paradise, stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artist_Carol_Bailey_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed 4 nights here in the Japanese Tea House room. It was amazing. Now, you have to remember that this is a country inn, not in the middle of a city... there are noises from frogs and birds. This room also has the bathroom in the main house, not connected to the room. It is a short walk to the bathroom but something you need to think about before booking the room. The price for what you get is awesome. The room was clean and secluded. The breakfast was amazing. The people working are so helpful and friendly. They can help answer any questions and gave us ideas about itenaries. We loved being up higher and not in the city. This is a bed and breakfast, not a 5 star resort, so just remember that when you are booking. They always say you get what you pay for... but here we feel as if we got a lot more. We would come back in a heartbeat (if only it wasn't so far from our home in Paris!)
Thank you for the wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsoliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

My cousin and I stayed at the Hale Maluhia Country Inn for two nights in June 2011, which left us with mixed feelings. On the positive side, the inn is located not-too-far not-too-close to Kailua-Kona, in a very charming and peaceful setting. The vegetation around the small cottages is abundant and diverse, and so is the fauna (which can be very loud at night; we were glad we had those earplugs!). The hosts are very friendly and helpful and the common rooms are fun and convenient. The big highlight of our stay was the breakfast. One word: WOW. Home made bread and pastries (different every day), an omelet bar, a waffle maker, fresh fruits, etc. All that with a bird show every morning as Ken feeds the birdies. Such a pleasant surprise, and by far the best breakfast we had at a B&B during our stay in both Kaua'i and the Big Island. On the negative side, we were very scared by the look of the room we rented (Maile) when we came in. The room smelled a little, the carped wasn't all that clean, and the bathroom floor was covered in tiny dead moskitos and ants. The room was simple, but convenient... but it desperately needed a good spring cleaning. We were afraid there might be some 'live' bugs in there, but we checked around alot and didn't see any. We ended up enjoying our stay alot, despite our first impression of the room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bibistylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KonaPilgrim, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Mahalo for the G.I. Inspection. We are having some difficulty training a new housekeeper, may need to let him go. So, if you are out our way again, please accept a free night at Hale Maluhia Country Inn in a very clean room. Best Regards, Ken Smith, Owner. (Just bring a copy of this TA Review.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

I stayed 3 nights. It was just wonderful! I chose the Japanese Tea House just for the novelty of it. I loved the design of the hexagonal cottage with Shoji windows right under the huge Banyon tree. And the breakfast - loved it. Although on the first day later on the fish in the ocean ate my breakfast. But that's another story.
I liked the location - in the midst of unspoiled nature and yet not too far from the downtown.
When I arrived from the east coast really late exhausted without my luggage I was just looking for some leftover fruit or snack. Instead Ken offered me veg stew his wife made (Shhh...don't tell her). Its particularly extraordinary coming from a person who is dealing with all kinds of nuts every day. And the bonus - I got to hear a bit of Ken's experience in post war Japan.

Room Tip: Japanese Tea House for the young at heart
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enchanted77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at this Bed and Breakfast for 3 days when we first got on Big Island. We loved the place so much that we came back on our last night on the island. The owner was nice enough to drop the cost of one of his room because he wanted us to stay with them again. They even invited us to have dinner with their family on the last night which was wonderful. The food was excellent and it was an interesting experience to have dinner with them.

We stayed in the tea house and we liked it. Of course, you can't expect a 5 star room for a 70$ price... But, after a long day playing outside in Hawaii, this room was perfect for us and we had very good sleep. As the other reviews says, there are a lot of frog noises, but this was quite exotic and charming to us, they're not the kind of noise you hear back in Canada. And if that prevents you from sleeping, that means you probably did not do enough things during your day... In our case, we were so tired every night that we fell asleep very quickly. Worst case, you can always ask for ear plugs.

The most amazing thing about this place was definitely the breakfasts. Everything was so good and fresh. The owner bakes his own bread every night which is delicious. There are fresh herbs and pineapple from the house's garden. Everyday we had breakfast there we had no problem skipping over lunch because we had so much to eat in the morning, definitely a plus.

The location of the B&B was very convenient, a little bit uphill so it's a bit cooler to sleep at night. It was also not too far away from Kona, some nights we were driving down there to have dinner or to go have some drinks in the local pubs. During the day, we drove to a couple of beaches and great snorkelling spots such as Captain Cook's monument and "2 steps".

The only slightly negative point is that the room was not ready when we got there on our first night and we had to wait for them to change the sheets and clean it up. That was done quite quickly and we were satisfied with the room when we got into it.

But overall, this a great place to stay and we would definitely go again if we ever go back to Hawaii!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tibass84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
2.9 mi away
Big Island Retreat
Big Island Retreat
#3 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
14.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Maluhia Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Maluhia Country Inn

Property: Hale Maluhia Country Inn
Address: 76-770 Hualalai Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Virtual Kona Coffee Plantation of five rooms and two cottages in country comfort. Exceptional Breakfast Lovers Buffet and DIY omelet bar, fresh fruit, fresh bread baked daily, pure Kona coffee and bird watching. Relax to sage advice, friendly prices, broadband wireless, good beds, private baths and a gentle touch of aloha from old Hawai'i along the road less traveled. Just 3 miles south of Kailua-Kona and 11 miles south of the Kona International Airport (KOA). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Maluhia Country Inn (House Of Peace) Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Country Inn Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Country Inn
Hale Maluhia Country Inn Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing