We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honu Kai Sonnet”
Review of Honu Kai B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honu Kai B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honu Kai Sonnet”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Honu Kai, Kona, is the place to go,
You won’t be disappointed in your choice,
From the moment you enter your mind blows,
You’ll see your surroundings and you’ll rejoice!

Wendi and Kona Dave are there to greet,
From the moment they exclaim “Aloha,”
You know you’re in for a special retreat,
Think of a tree house with all the koa!

Rising you hear the java sparrows cheep,
Dave’s 6 am feeding time almost there,
Your three course meal awaits, you won’t oversleep,
Such eye candy to partake, yummy fare!

But, no, it can’t be, don’t tell me it’s so,
Goodbye, Wendi, Dave, Soni, Mahalo!

Kathy & Kelly from Tucson, AZ :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
454
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have to agree with all the wonderful reviews of this B&B. We have stayed in many and this one is right up there at the top of the list. Wendi and Kona Dave are the reason. They strive for perfection and treat everyone like their best friends. We stayed in the Lani Suite. It's like being in a treehouse. And when they feed the birds in the morning, they all line up outside your window! Besides the phenomenal breakfasts, Wendi and Dave make sure you have a plan for the day and everything you need to help you get it done. At the end of the day, they are there to ask you how it went and visit with you. They couldn't have been any better hosts. We hope to return someday for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J_Squared_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Mahalo for your review of our Honu Kai B&B and for joining the list of previous guests who also feel we "strive for perfection". We make this strive with all of our guests, not because perfection is our goal, but rather because it is our standard. We love our island and love to share it with all the people who come a long distance to experience it. If you're reading this review and are planning a trip to this beautiful and unique island, give us an opportunity to share it and reveal to you some of her hidden secrets.
A Big Island Aloha to you from your island friends,
Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We loved staying with Wendi and Kona Dave and Soni, at the Honu Kai B+B. Great people - so helpful and fun. Great breakfasts also. We couldn't have asked for more cordial hosts. The surroundings are also beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at the wonderful condo that the B&B owners also own. It was so wonderful!

This was the most amazing property to stay in and our host Wendi was a delight to deal with! She was a text or phone call away and super helpful and quick every time!

THE PROPERTY WAS PERFECTION! Inside was spotless, decorated "to the nines" and still very comfortable. My husband slept the best ever on the bed. He loved the pillows!
We could not believe how beautifully it's appointed, how clean it was and how every detail was considered. It exceeded our expectations by far! Every time we needed something, whether a beach chair, a boogie board, beach towels, sunblock, shampoo, spices, cookware, cooking utensils, zip lock bags, re-usable grocery bags, cleaning supplies, washer & dryer supplies etc. It was all there! The access to the Beach Club was a wonderful bonus and snorkeling was great there.
I cannot say enough about how happy we were with the stay!

Thank you Wendi for an amazing stay and many wonderful memories! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: ***Please note that this review is for the Mauna Lani condo at Golf Villas M3 which is also owned by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cottonsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Mahalo Becky for your review of our B&B's sister rental property, our Golf Villas condo at the exclusive Mauna Lani Resort. We're happy to hear that it exceeded your expectations and everything you needed was there at your finger tips. We did not buy this executive style condo as a rental property, but rather as our home which we lived in until we bought the B&B in Kona. We left it just the way it was as when we lived there, with all the high end furnishings, kitchen supplies, bikes and beach gear. We are also one of the only owners at Mauna Lani who actually live on island. What does this means to you as a guest renting our unit? We are only a phone call away to help you with any issues, questions or even help you plan your stay on our island. We are you're on island concierge service. We're glad you made use of the our Homeowners Beach Club. It is the main reason we decided to buy this property. Whether you choose to stay at the condo or our B&B in Kona, the Homeowners Private Beach and Beach Club is a very special place that all of our guests have access to.
Mahalo for allowing us to fill your vacation with "many wonderful memories". We look forward to the day our warm topical trade winds blow you and your family back to our island for another visit.
A Big Island Aloha from Wendi & Kona Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Wendy and Kona Dave were absolutley amazing hosts. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights on the second leg of our Hawaiian honeymoon and had a fantastic time. The breakfasts are amazing - every morning was a delectable creation that surpassed our expectations.
The knowledge and kindess and extensive preperation that they bring to the host/guest experience puts this B&B over the top.
The decor, cleanliness, comfort, and eye to detail make this a great base when visiting the Big Island.
If you're looking a first class stay, located only 10 minutes from Kona airport and many amazing restaurants for dinner you're in luck. We did our trips during the day looked forward to turning in at Honu Kai at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abnyc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

It really is difficult to add anything which hasn't been said already about Honu Kai. But it is all true. The gardens are exotic and tropical. The lanai is relaxing and spacious. The room was incredibly comfortable and tastefully decorated. The bathroom had a great shower and lovely products. Breakfast was delicious and sociable. But what really is the cherry on the icing on the cake. What raises Honu Kai above other great B&Bs are Wendi and Dave, amazing hosts who do everything they can to make your stay in their home very, very special.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JustinCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Mahalo Justin for your review of our Hale, the Hawaiian word for home, which we love to share with all of our guests. We wish you could have stayed longer with us as well. It's called the "Big Island" for a reason, it's big! Our average stay at Honu Kai is 5 nights and this island is easily an 8 day island. We try very hard to share this fact with future guests and try to persuade them to give the Big Island the time it deserves. We are here to help visitors have the best time possible and to experience the many hidden secrets which we can help you explore.
We look forward to another visit from the both of you so we can share the many things you missed on this last stay.
Mahalo Nui Loa,
Wendi & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We make a habit of staying at B&B's, and this one is just paradise. The entire place is like a spa - there are fountains everywhere, with soft music, beautiful plants...it is one of the most relaxing places I've ever been to. The room itself was awesome (we stayed in Nigori). A beautiful bathroom with a great shower and tub, a cedar-lined closet that I wanted to live in just because of the smell, and beautiful vaulted ceilings with a big bed and Asian-inspired decor. The place is impeccably clean, and so tranquil. I slept wonderfully there.

All this, and I haven't even mentioned the hosts - Wendi and Dave are two wonderful people. They made us feel like family, which is pretty amazing, since I suspect they make everyone feel like family! They are so kind and helpful. And the breakfasts - wow!

I can't say enough positive things about this place. Please, go and check it out for yourself!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nigori Room - absolutely beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
3.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
24.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
1.2 mi away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
20.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honu Kai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Kai B&B

Property: Honu Kai B&B
Address: 74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honu Kai B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise with Aloha and Concierge Class Service ... Beyond Compare! Honu Kai, set on a lush tropical 1.3 acre estate, offers a serene, Zen like feel amidst an old growth garden environment ... so relax, rejuvenate your senses and feel at one with nature — whether it’s lounging on the expansive lanai deck, listening to the water flowing into the koi pond, enjoying the garden jacuzzi under the Kona stars, or letting the occasional rain falling on the roof lull you to sleep. Honu Kai is extremely conscious of our environment and is 100% solar powered. We have been recognized as a Platinum Level Green Leader by TripAdvisor, their highest level of recognition. We use biodegradable toiletries, water efficient fixtures, Energy Star appliances, recycle waste, encourage towel and linen reuse, and serve locally sourced or on-site grown organic produce. Concierge services and trip planning by hosts with many years of experience in executive hospitality and travel services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honu Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Honu Kai Bed And Breakfast
Honu Kai B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing