We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
Review of Honu Kai B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honu Kai B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at Honu Kai BB end of August / beginning of September as part of our Hawaii honeymoon journey and were very happy to have chosen that place for Big Island.
In a nutshell lovely premises with garden and a lot of green, nice an clean rooms and extremely friendly owners offering all amenities you could imagine.

The rooms a stylish decorated and offer enough space to store all luggage away - in our case 3 large suitcases, one bag plus golf clubs. The beds are very comfortable and we did not find anything to complain about.

Breakfast is delicious always containing something with fruits and/or Yoghurt plus something warm - changing every day. And all you can drink of Kona-Coffee

Moreover every guest receives it space in a fridge and can use the huge barbecue-station free of charge.

If you need something for the beach, e.g. chair, umbrella, cooler-box they provide it -> free of charge.

Laundry, just ask...

Beside that Wendy and Kona-Dave are very funny and care taking hosts, so take your time talking to them and you might get great stories.

Thank again for that wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hallo_Reise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 581 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

Mahalo to Wendy and Dave for offering such a fine place to stay at the Golf Villas at Mauna Lani.

This is a beautiful one level home, just as the website and photos described. It is 2 bedroom 2 bath in pristine condition; its furnishings and linens are exceptionally fine. We were aware of other (quiet) renters/owners, but not above us. The A/C worked great.

This was our first experience staying on a golf course. We had open, easterly views of mountains which was very nice. I loved the beautiful pre dawn light out on the lanai during the beginning of the week when we were waking up early. The early morning golf course maintenance crew took some getting used to but it was not intrusive.

On a couple of late afternoons, we took a one minute walk over to the pool to enjoy the spa there. And there is a built-in BBQ on our lanai that we used to grill dinner. The automatic tiki torches on the lanai were a nice touch. Very quiet and relaxing!

We really liked the proximity of the Golf Villas to Makaiwa Bay (parking pass at the Beach Club included) and Honoka'ope Bay. The coral reef at the Beach Club is extensive and fabulous. Do not miss the fishponds at Mauna Lani in the late afternoon! Aloha!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank kathyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is a review for Dave and Wendi's Condo located 20 miles north of Kona on the Kohala Coast. The first thing you will notice about all of these reviews is everyone mentions Dave and Wendi by name.....that should stick out to anyone reviewing their lodging options. Personal service! We did not get to experience the hospitality of their B&B but their Condo is better equipped than our home in California. Take the money you would spend for a small hotel room at the Fairmont Orchid and come live the Hawaiian Life. We did. The grounds around the Condo rival the nicer hotels without the crowds.

Here are some further observations of the Condo and Kohala Coast area:
1. The outdoor BBQ lanai is outstanding. I BBQ'ed 3 times. Get your meat at Costco or head up to Waikoloa Village for some Grass Fed Hawaiian Beef.
2. Condo has anything and everything you could need for your trip: beach towels, small ice chest, tons of spices for cooking
3. You have access to two private beaches. Make sure to snorkel "49 Beach", a black sand beach walking distance from Condo.
4. While picking up some Grass fed Beef in Waikoloa Village make sure to get some mini cinnamon sticky buns; the best pastry I have ever eaten (I do not recommend eating 4 at one sitting).
5. The swimming pool and hot tub area is less than 100 yards away from the Condo. Beautiful clean pool area and not crowded at all.

The Big Island was not our favorite Hawaiian Island but Dave and Wendi's Condo make a return to the Big Island a sure bet.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaiderSkiBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Mahalo Nui for your review of Honu Kai's Sister Property, our condo at the exclusive Mauna Lani Resort. We are very happy you enjoyed our Private Homeowner's Beach Club, our beautiful lagoon style pool and all the special amenities we offer at our condo. We did not purchase this property as a vacation rental, but rather as our home which we lived in until purchasing the Bed & Breakfast in Kona. This is the reason for all the high end furnishings and amenities which you found in the condo. We are also happy that you stopped by the B&B to say Aloha and allowed us to explain some of the special things to do and see on our magical island. Although you miss out on our great breakfasts staying at the condo, you still receive the personal attention and concierge service which we provide to all of our guests staying with us. Another important point of difference between our condo and others for rent at the Golf Villas complex in Mauna Lani, is we are the only owners who actually live on island. This means that if any issues or questions arise during your stay in our condo, they will be addressed or resolved by us within hours as apposed to a management company within days or weeks.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay on our island and our Mauna Lani home. Come back to Hawaii for the magic, stay with us for the Aloha.

Mahalo Nui,
Wendi & Kona Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Visiting Hawaii is an adventure, due to the distance and the nature of each of the Islands.

Finding Fantastic places to stay and making new friends along the way just makes the travel adventure most EXCELLENT.

We just returned from the Honu Kai, Kona, HI and loved the people we met and our NEW friends Wendy & Dave (Kona Dave).

The Honu Kai is about 1000' up the Kona hillside, just high enough to stay pleasant, but close to town ( about 1 mile NE.). Away from the busyness & traffic of Kona bay.

An EXTREMLY comfortable place to stay, excellent company, roomy facilities, fantastic décor and a great place to get a good night's sleep and be awakened by the crow of the wild rosters of Hawaii.

Landscaping is fantastic, and Breakfast is wonderful. Great for the 1st thru 50th honeymoon.

ALOHA Wendy & Dave, we will return!!!
Louise & John

Room Tip: No real need for AC here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank none202011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We felt the aloha spirit from Wendi and Dave, the moment we arrived and all throughout our visit. The special touches and time spent with guests took the Honu Kai above and beyond the many B&Bs we’ve stayed at over the years. Dave greeted us with a Mai Tai as soon as we stepped onto their gorgeous property (homemade, in a pineapple!) and he and Wendi gave us a full tour so we quickly felt at home. Each morning, we enjoyed coffee, fresh guava juice, a fruit plate, and a unique hot breakfast. Our room was just lovely – clean, fresh, lots of towels. For our anniversary, a surprise bottle of champagne was left in our room – so thoughtful. The property itself has great common space: couches and chairs around a fire-pit coffee table, as well as the dining table. Perfect for gathering in the evening with other guests or our hosts, to unwind after the day! Many B&B hosts serve breakfast and disappear, but Wendi and Dave treated us like favorite family, offering suggestions and offering beach supplies each day, welcoming us home and inviting us to join them, their friends, and other guests as we chatted late into the evening. We’d enthusiastically recommend the Honu Kai to any of our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Mahalo Nui for your review and for sharing your experience with the rest of the traveling world.
Everyone arrives at Honu Kai as a guest, most people leave feeling like Ohana (Family).
We are so happy you felt this during your stay with us and are honored that you chose Honu Kai for your Anniversary. From the Kona Dave Killer Mai Tai to our 3 course breakfast, we serve it all up with a big side of Aloha. Our goal here is to provide visitors who come a great distance to experience this magical island, more than just a breakfast and a bed to sleep in. We like to provide to our guests a breakfast dining experience, and a comfortable bed from which you can launch your Hawaii dreams from. Come to Honu Kai and allow us to share this island with you and help make your vacation to Hawaii the best possible.
A Big Island Aloha,
Wendi and Kona Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Dave and Wendi are very nice and caring couple there, very considerate and details- oriented. Wendi decorates rooms with lots of orchids made me feel like I am in a garden also with a stunning terrace for breakfast. We stayed there for Valentine , Wendi prepared special breakfast for us with heart shape dessert. We feel so romantic and enjoyed the stay so much. We highly recommend for travelers to stay in big Island.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_Cryssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

One does not have to be on a honeymoon to enjoy this place, even us more mature types can have a good time. Wendi and Dave were excellent hosts. This B&B us located on the hill overlooking the ocean and is a beautiful, almost Zen-like place with a covered lanai opening out to the backyard. Our hosts immediately made you feel like family, and the Aloha feeling of warmth surrounded the place. The breakfasts were out of this world and consisted of coffee and fruit juices, fresh fruit, and a wonderful breakfast. We particularly liked the waffles, made with rum and honey. Yum! The rooms were tastefully decorated and geckos were all around eating fruit guava sauce left by our hosts. We had a great time as our hosts pointed us to great sight seeking places and restaurants to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nausetguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
24.6 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
20.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
10.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honu Kai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Kai B&B

Address: 74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $200 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honu Kai B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise with Aloha and Concierge Class Service ... Beyond Compare! Honu Kai, set on a lush tropical 1.3 acre estate, offers a serene, Zen like feel amidst an old growth garden environment ... so relax, rejuvenate your senses and feel at one with nature — whether it’s lounging on the expansive lanai deck, listening to the water flowing into the koi pond, enjoying the garden jacuzzi under the Kona stars, or letting the occasional rain falling on the roof lull you to sleep. Honu Kai is extremely conscious of our environment and is 100% solar powered. We have been recognized as a Platinum Level Green Leader by TripAdvisor, their highest level of recognition. We use biodegradable toiletries, water efficient fixtures, Energy Star appliances, recycle waste, encourage towel and linen reuse, and serve locally sourced or on-site grown organic produce. Concierge services and trip planning by hosts with many years of experience in executive hospitality and travel services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honu Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Honu Kai Bed And Breakfast
Honu Kai B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing