We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and worth the price”
Review of Honu Kai B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honu Kai B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing and worth the price”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

From the time you arrive to the time you leave, Wendy and Dave want to make sure that you have a good time. You don't need to bring those extra things that take up space in your luggage. They have them to share with you. They provide travel binders for your destination, ice chests, maps and recommendations on places to see on you journey. If I had it to do over again, I would have stayed longer as it is a great place to decompress and enjoy the beauty of Hawaii
There is not much I would add that others haven't already said. Staying here is like staying with good friends. We stayed in the Lani room which was like being in a tree house. It was a corner room surrounded by a tree that was home to tiny birds-a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
454
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
196 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The innkeepers, Wendi and Dave, are the reason this B&B gets such a high rating. For once, the cliche "nothing is too much trouble" applies. In addition to cooking a very delicious and different hot breakfast everyday, they give you information on various sights and restaurants that they've put together themselves, to give you a local perspective on wherever you're going. Dave gave us a small cooler, complete with ice pack before we set off one day, so that we'd have somewhere to put sandwiches (because we mentioned we might stop by the Coffee Shack.) If you need towels, snorkle gear, whatever -- just ask.

And they go beyond even that. We were having trouble finding a car to rent -- the island runs out of rental cars during the busy Christmas/New Year periods. I e-mailed all of the places we booked, asking if they knew anyone who was willing to rent us a car. Everyone was sympathetic, but only Wendi offered to rent us their own car, at a good rate. She said they would use their neighbor's car while we used theirs! We were eventually able to find a rental car, but how great a gesture was that? (Wendi - mahalo nui loa!)

Our room (Mahina) was the smallest, but it felt roomy. It was pleasant and nicely decorated. What I really liked, though, was the garden, filled with exotic trees, some of them unique. And the bullfinches and geckos around and on the lanai were fun to watch. (I wasn't enamored of the distant roosters that started crowing very, very early every morning, but ... what can you do, some far-away neighbor apparently keeps chickens.)

Downtown Kona is about 4 miles away, straight down the road, an easy drive. We liked Lava Java for dinner. Walk along the seafront on Ali'i Drive. Reminds me of how Waikiki used to feel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed with our family for a wedding with Wendi and Dave dec 2012-jan 2013 for 13 days. This place is truly paradise. Breakfast, friendliness, service was absolutely amazing. They truly make you feel at home. They provided any supplies what we might need for the day as well as a world of advise and tips. The surroundings are peaceful and full of Zen. Highly recommend this place to anyone! We found a home away from home!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Letty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I hosted our wedding at Honu Kai. Wendi and Dave were amazing. Hard working couple who run a world class operation. Breakfasts were excellent and they made every effort to facilitate an amazing stay on the big Island. Their encyclopedic knowledge of the area is well worth drawing on for future guests who are looking for ways to get the most out of their visit.

Thanks again guys!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrock778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed on Maui and the Big Island for a total of 12 nights and the 3 nights we spent at Honu Kai were by far the best! Wendi and Dave are fantastic hosts - warm and friendly but non-intrusive. Everything we could have possibly needed was made available - snorkel gear, beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, coolers, you name it. Breakfast was incredible! I can't emphasize this enough. Breakfast always include an assortment of fresh pastries, a fresh fruit course that was beautifully arranged, and finally a full breakfast entree (omlette, french toast, etc). Our room was wonderfully appointed, clean, bright, and airy. Overall our stay was incredibly relaxing and if we ever return to Kona we will stay at Honu Kai.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Sorry it has taken me so long to get this review on here!! My husband and I stayed with Wendy and Dave for a week at the end of November 2012. From the moment we arrived late we felt very welcomed and knew we arrived in paradise!! We were on the big island for at total of 9 days and spent the first 5 days at the Honu Kai and 3 days on the Hilo side and back to Honu Kai for our last day. Wendy and Dave are not your typical B&B hosts they make you feel as though you are family and go out of their way to make your trip unforgettable. The moment you wake up and join the birds, the geckos, other guests you will enjoy fresh fruit juice, Kona coffee, an array of pastries and fresh fruit parfait plus a beautiful and delicious breakfast!! My favourite was the pineapple sausage served with a homemade pineapple salsa....yummy :) Afterwards Wendy and Dave spend time with their guests giving info and tips including the BLUE book (a must have) and binder with maps and directions all the info you could ever try to look for yourself is there plus more!! They give beach towels, sunscreen, snorkel gear, umbrella for Hilo side where it rains most of the time. They share stories memories and their hearts!! We absolutely loved every minute of our stay and cannot wait to return with our family and friends. It was very hard to leave we felt such a connection with Wendy and Dave we were in tears when we left!!! We miss you guys and will be back <3

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Wendi and Dave are spectacular hosts- very warm and inviting! Their home is beautiful and we were definitely hesitant to leave. The rooms are spacious and wonderfully decorated. Breakfast was DELICIOUS; especially, the fresh fruit picked right from trees on the grounds! We could not have asked for more gracious hosts or a more enchanting and relaxing environment. Thank you so much Wendi and Dave! Hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tran l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Mahalo Nui to our new friends who have helped Honu Kai Bed & Breakfast kick off another fabulous year with a fabulous review, and our first review of 2013. We're glad you enjoyed our breakfasts which are all prepared and served with that one special ingredient called, Aloha.

We both love our island, and being able to share it with all of our guests, is truly a gift which motivates us to making excellence not our goal, but our standard.

May the new year bring you health, happiness and back to Hawaii. We here on island call it the 3H Club. Come back soon, we have the perfect place for you to stay.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Wendi and Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
3.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
24.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
1.2 mi away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
20.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honu Kai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Kai B&B

Property: Honu Kai B&B
Address: 74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honu Kai B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise with Aloha and Concierge Class Service ... Beyond Compare! Honu Kai, set on a lush tropical 1.3 acre estate, offers a serene, Zen like feel amidst an old growth garden environment ... so relax, rejuvenate your senses and feel at one with nature — whether it’s lounging on the expansive lanai deck, listening to the water flowing into the koi pond, enjoying the garden jacuzzi under the Kona stars, or letting the occasional rain falling on the roof lull you to sleep. Honu Kai is extremely conscious of our environment and is 100% solar powered. We have been recognized as a Platinum Level Green Leader by TripAdvisor, their highest level of recognition. We use biodegradable toiletries, water efficient fixtures, Energy Star appliances, recycle waste, encourage towel and linen reuse, and serve locally sourced or on-site grown organic produce. Concierge services and trip planning by hosts with many years of experience in executive hospitality and travel services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honu Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Honu Kai Bed And Breakfast
Honu Kai B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing