We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such nice hosts!”
Review of Honu Kai B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honu Kai B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The innkeepers, Wendi and Dave, are the reason this B&B gets such a high rating. For once, the cliche "nothing is too much trouble" applies. In addition to cooking a very delicious and different hot breakfast everyday, they give you information on various sights and restaurants that they've put together themselves, to give you a local perspective on wherever you're going. Dave gave us a small cooler, complete with ice pack before we set off one day, so that we'd have somewhere to put sandwiches (because we mentioned we might stop by the Coffee Shack.) If you need towels, snorkle gear, whatever -- just ask.

And they go beyond even that. We were having trouble finding a car to rent -- the island runs out of rental cars during the busy Christmas/New Year periods. I e-mailed all of the places we booked, asking if they knew anyone who was willing to rent us a car. Everyone was sympathetic, but only Wendi offered to rent us their own car, at a good rate. She said they would use their neighbor's car while we used theirs! We were eventually able to find a rental car, but how great a gesture was that? (Wendi - mahalo nui loa!)

Our room (Mahina) was the smallest, but it felt roomy. It was pleasant and nicely decorated. What I really liked, though, was the garden, filled with exotic trees, some of them unique. And the bullfinches and geckos around and on the lanai were fun to watch. (I wasn't enamored of the distant roosters that started crowing very, very early every morning, but ... what can you do, some far-away neighbor apparently keeps chickens.)

Downtown Kona is about 4 miles away, straight down the road, an easy drive. We liked Lava Java for dinner. Walk along the seafront on Ali'i Drive. Reminds me of how Waikiki used to feel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 614 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed with our family for a wedding with Wendi and Dave dec 2012-jan 2013 for 13 days. This place is truly paradise. Breakfast, friendliness, service was absolutely amazing. They truly make you feel at home. They provided any supplies what we might need for the day as well as a world of advise and tips. The surroundings are peaceful and full of Zen. Highly recommend this place to anyone! We found a home away from home!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Letty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I hosted our wedding at Honu Kai. Wendi and Dave were amazing. Hard working couple who run a world class operation. Breakfasts were excellent and they made every effort to facilitate an amazing stay on the big Island. Their encyclopedic knowledge of the area is well worth drawing on for future guests who are looking for ways to get the most out of their visit.

Thanks again guys!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jrock778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed on Maui and the Big Island for a total of 12 nights and the 3 nights we spent at Honu Kai were by far the best! Wendi and Dave are fantastic hosts - warm and friendly but non-intrusive. Everything we could have possibly needed was made available - snorkel gear, beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, coolers, you name it. Breakfast was incredible! I can't emphasize this enough. Breakfast always include an assortment of fresh pastries, a fresh fruit course that was beautifully arranged, and finally a full breakfast entree (omlette, french toast, etc). Our room was wonderfully appointed, clean, bright, and airy. Overall our stay was incredibly relaxing and if we ever return to Kona we will stay at Honu Kai.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Sorry it has taken me so long to get this review on here!! My husband and I stayed with Wendy and Dave for a week at the end of November 2012. From the moment we arrived late we felt very welcomed and knew we arrived in paradise!! We were on the big island for at total of 9 days and spent the first 5 days at the Honu Kai and 3 days on the Hilo side and back to Honu Kai for our last day. Wendy and Dave are not your typical B&B hosts they make you feel as though you are family and go out of their way to make your trip unforgettable. The moment you wake up and join the birds, the geckos, other guests you will enjoy fresh fruit juice, Kona coffee, an array of pastries and fresh fruit parfait plus a beautiful and delicious breakfast!! My favourite was the pineapple sausage served with a homemade pineapple salsa....yummy :) Afterwards Wendy and Dave spend time with their guests giving info and tips including the BLUE book (a must have) and binder with maps and directions all the info you could ever try to look for yourself is there plus more!! They give beach towels, sunscreen, snorkel gear, umbrella for Hilo side where it rains most of the time. They share stories memories and their hearts!! We absolutely loved every minute of our stay and cannot wait to return with our family and friends. It was very hard to leave we felt such a connection with Wendy and Dave we were in tears when we left!!! We miss you guys and will be back <3

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Wendi and Dave are spectacular hosts- very warm and inviting! Their home is beautiful and we were definitely hesitant to leave. The rooms are spacious and wonderfully decorated. Breakfast was DELICIOUS; especially, the fresh fruit picked right from trees on the grounds! We could not have asked for more gracious hosts or a more enchanting and relaxing environment. Thank you so much Wendi and Dave! Hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tran l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Mahalo Nui to our new friends who have helped Honu Kai Bed & Breakfast kick off another fabulous year with a fabulous review, and our first review of 2013. We're glad you enjoyed our breakfasts which are all prepared and served with that one special ingredient called, Aloha.

We both love our island, and being able to share it with all of our guests, is truly a gift which motivates us to making excellence not our goal, but our standard.

May the new year bring you health, happiness and back to Hawaii. We here on island call it the 3H Club. Come back soon, we have the perfect place for you to stay.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Wendi and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at the Honu Kai (a December retreat) and words cannot truly begin to describe how wonderful an experience it is to stay at the Honu Kai. You will not find more welcoming and accomodating hosts than Wendi and Dave. From the moment you set foot on their amazing property you are greeted with the Hawaiian spirit. There is nothing like getting your day started with fresh local fruits and a terrific home cooked breakfast. Wendi and Dave know the island very well and can help guide you for an action packed adventure or relaxing day at the beach. They provide you everything you could possibly think of for your day, whether its a cooler, beach chairs, snorkel gear, towels, boogie boards, umbrellas, or even flashlights and personally made binders for different sites..

All of the rooms are beautifully and tastefully designed to capture the Hawaiian essence. You really can't go wrong with your room choice, it is just a person choice of how much space you want in your room and size and upgrade of bathroom. The open area has a beautiful dining and sitting area where you can simply sit any take in the paradise on their grounds. There is also a huge gas grill in the updated outdoor kitchen area that I regret not using during this most recent visit. I would also recommend using the upgraded washer and dryer as it will help limit all packing for trip (and give you extra room to take home crafts from local market).

The Honu Kai is centrally located to most places of interest. You are not far from the ocean (how far from it can you be in Hawaii???) and since all of the beaches are public access you really dont need to be in a hotel located on the water.

Our opinion is to stay at one of the generic hotels or condos you are missing out on the full experience of being on the Big Island. You will miss one of the greatest reasons for being in Hawaii, the personal connection and aloha spirit that you wont find anywhere more so than at the Honu Kai.

Aloha
- Jason & Laura

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Mahalo for helping us end a great year at Honu Kai with your great review and our final review for 2012. It was an honor to welcome you back to your Hawaii home for the third visit to our Island. We're glad you liked and noticed the constant upgrades and changes we are making to Honu Kai, which makes returning guests such as yourselves, always feeling good about returning home. May the Aloha trade winds of 2013 carry you back again safely to our Island and experience even more this magical place we call Hawaii.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Wendi and Kona Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
20.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
2.1 mi away
Lilikoi Inn
Lilikoi Inn
#1 of 6 in Holualoa
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honu Kai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Kai B&B

Address: 74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $200 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honu Kai B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise with Aloha and Concierge Class Service ... Beyond Compare! Honu Kai, set on a lush tropical 1.3 acre estate, offers a serene, Zen like feel amidst an old growth garden environment ... so relax, rejuvenate your senses and feel at one with nature — whether it’s lounging on the expansive lanai deck, listening to the water flowing into the koi pond, enjoying the garden jacuzzi under the Kona stars, or letting the occasional rain falling on the roof lull you to sleep. Honu Kai is extremely conscious of our environment and is 100% solar powered. We have been recognized as a Platinum Level Green Leader by TripAdvisor, their highest level of recognition. We use biodegradable toiletries, water efficient fixtures, Energy Star appliances, recycle waste, encourage towel and linen reuse, and serve locally sourced or on-site grown organic produce. Concierge services and trip planning by hosts with many years of experience in executive hospitality and travel services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Honu Kai B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honu Kai Bed And Breakfast
Honu Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Honu Kai B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing