We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bed and Breakfast We've ever stayed at!”
Review of Honu Kai B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honu Kai B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 13, 2012

After seeing all the excellent reviews on this B&B I knew I had to give it a try and, to my surprise, it was all everyone said and more! This is definitely the best B&B we've ever stayed at anywhere. It's not just the food, which was great, or the accommodations, which were also superb, but the attitude of the owners which put this place on top. Wendi and Dave come from a service background where they shepherded around a top Hollywood star. They've applied the same dedication to the guests at their B&B. The result is that they are always genuinely interested in making sure you have a memorable stay not just at their facility but also in your travels around Hawaii. To do this, they ask where you want to go for the day then pack up supplies, make suggestions, and even give you itineraries. I highly recommend anyone go to their private beach property for an incredible snorkeling experience (they'll provide you with towels and snorkeling gear!). Staying at this B&B was like staying with a rich relative. We felt right at home! Thanks again Wendi and Dave!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 596 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

The property is beautiful and well maintained. The rooms are clean and bright and each is decorated in a lovely but distinct manner lending a different feel to each room. Wendi and "Kona" Dave are the proprietors and they are great at what they do. They have tips and write-ups for most of the attractions. They also take a personal interest in providing whatever assistance they can to their guests. For example, they knew that my wife and I would be heading out on the Kona Aggressor to dive for a week after staying with Wendi and Dave at Honu Kai. They asked us to return because the boat asks guests to disembark in the AM but our flight did not depart until after 10 PM. We took them up on their offer and we delighted to be able to rest and relax and get organized before the long flight to the mainland. Breakfasts were delicious and frequently incorporated fresh ingredients from the property like mangos or avocado. They are superb at blending flavors and making beautiful presentations on each plate. I cannot say enough good things about our stay with Dave and Wendi. All I can add is that when I was researching a place to stay in the Kona area and I found Honu Kai on TripAdvisor.com I was impressed that all the reviews were strongly positive. I even asked Wendi when I booked our stay how she could have such sterling reviews with nary a negative comment. She was humble and professional in her reply and she showed me how she could generate such strong reviews during a fabulous stay. The last tip I should add is that the weather around Kona depends on whether you are at sea level or if you are at a higher elevation on the side of one of the volcanos. Honu Kai does not need AC or heat. Temperature for sleeping is perfect and my wife dislikes AC so for those with similar preferences please keep this in mind. We will definitely stay there again if we travel back to Hawaii.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ponderlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had a great stay at Honu Kai! It's a little gem just outside of Kona's downtown area! The host were amazing and very helpful! The breakfasts were very tasty and different every morning! It's a great spot to explore the island from, as it's pretty central on the West coast. There are several very good restaurants in Kona, most are very good, and not too expensive. Hapuna and Makawelena beaches were our favorties! You should also make time to go up to Hawi, the views are incredible!
The rooms were very big, clean and well decorated! And don't worry about the heat as it cools down nicely at night.
Wendi and Kona Dave always have a recommendation regarding every spot on the island, so don't hesitate to ask questions!
We will be back!
Marie and Vince

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights on our honeymoon and we could have easily stayed another week. Dave and Wendi were incredibly accommodating, served the best 2 course breakfasts, provided us with beach chairs, snorkel gear, towels, and even packed a snack bags with water for us to go to the beach. They have intimate knowledge of the island, can tell you the best places to eat, and have immaculate rooms. Not to mention they have apple-banana, mango, and other trees growing right on the property so their breakfasts and snacks are fresh as can be! All in all an A+

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mr Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had the opportunity to once again visit the Big Island July 9th-16th. We had stayed at Honu Kai B&B last year, and had an absolutely wonderful time. This year we were vacationing with another couple so we decided to book the condo at Mauna Lani (property owned by Wendi and Dave). As we expected, the condo was a perfect haven... well supplied kitchen, lovely furnishings, beach equipment, beautiful lanai, etc.!!! We began and ended each day sitting on the lanai, sipping beverages and recounting our fun-filled days. There is a beautiful beach with snorkeling and a lovely pool, both within walking distance of the condo. We enjoyed the fact that Mauna Lani is an intimate place, yet it has all of the amenities of the large resorts (without all of the crowds of people).
We did not expect to return to the Big Island, but our experience with Wendi and Dave and their properties have kept us coming back. Our memories will help carry us through the long Ohio winter! Thanks again, Wendi and Dave, it was great!
Mary Anne and Jim

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAM-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

We missed having these guests stay with us at the B&B this visit, but are very happy they had an outstanding stay at our Mauna Lani Golf Villas condo. Excellence is not our goal but rather our standard, and the same care and Aloha we provide at Honu Kai B&B, we also provide to our guests staying at the condo. For 2 couples traveling together, our 2 bedroom 2 bath condo is and excellent alternative to staying at and paying for multiple rooms at a resort hotel. We did not purchase our condo as a rental property, but purchased it to be our home. When we moved out to relocate to the B&B, we left it with all the high end amenities and furnishings as when we lived there. Situated on the 4th tee of the famed Mauna Lani South Course, our Golf Villas property has a full gym next to our beautiful tropical lagoon style pool with access to the homeowner's private beach and beach club. We hope anybody checking out our Honu Kai B&B website, will take the time to click on our "Sister Property" link to view our condo and what it has to offer.
To our new friends and repeat guests, mahalo for your positive review of our condo, and we hope your memories of our island will get you through those cold Ohio winters.

Aloha from Kona Dave and Wendi, Owners of Honu Kai B&B and the Golf Villas condo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We spent four nights at the Honu Kai in June in the Mala Hale bungalow. It was a beautiful little apartment with a fully equipped kitchen and its own lanai looking over the gorgeous garden area. Wendi and Dave were the perfect hosts, very friendly and helpful with planning what we should see to make the most of our time in the Kona area. All of their recommendations were excellent. The setting of Honu Kai is peaceful and the breakfasts every day were amazing--absolutely the best we have ever had at any B and B. The breakfast lanai area was a lovely outdoor dining room surrounded by birds and flowers, and the perfect place to start our mornings on the Big Island. Be sure to ask them about the private beach. We spent our last day in Hawaii relaxing, snorkeling, and exploring the fish ponds there. If you are planning to use the Kailua-Kona area as your starting point to explore that side of the Big Island, you should stay definitely chose the Honu Kai as your base. We loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poem19girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

A Big Island Mahalo for your positive review, and for mentioning our homeowners Private Beach and Beach Club associated with our sister property at the exclusive Mauna Lani Resort. We are proud to be the only B&B on island to offer this very special perk to our B&B guests staying with us at Honu Kai. We hope future guests will take advantage of the great snorkeling off our white sandy beach and end their magical day by staying for dinner at our Beach Club's 5 star restaurant "Napua" for one of the most romantic beach front dinning experiences on island.

Mahalo Nui Loa from Wendi and Kona Dave,
Owners of Honu Kai B&B and the Golf Villas Condo at Mauna Lani.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Many thanks to Wendi and Kona Dave for a great 'no plans - no worries' vacation. My wife and I went to their wonderful B&B with a week to spend, and no specific plans on what we were going to do while there. Wendi and Dave welcomed us to our own self contained room with separate entrance/bath. At 1000" elevation it was nice a cool, and we slept wonderfully that night and every night. Then for the next seven days we were served a satisfying breakfast (yum) to start our day. After breakfast they listened to whatever plans we had decided on for the day. Once they knew what we were thinking, they went out of the way to supply us with a 'daily planner' on how to get the best experience on what we wanted to do while out and about. Excellent tips on where to stop and see local sights, where to eat, and extra tidbits of what we might find along the way.
The overall experience was fantastic, and now we are totally spoiled for any future B&B stays. They have set the bar so high I'm sure it will never be broken. Now the only problem... how to get Wendi and Dave to go with us to help out on our next vacation. Love you guys!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
2.1 mi away
Lilikoi Inn
Lilikoi Inn
#1 of 6 in Holualoa
594 reviews
7 mi away
Big Island Retreat
Big Island Retreat
#3 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honu Kai B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Kai B&B

Address: 74-1529 Hao Kuni St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $200 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honu Kai B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise with Aloha and Concierge Class Service ... Beyond Compare! Honu Kai, set on a lush tropical 1.3 acre estate, offers a serene, Zen like feel amidst an old growth garden environment ... so relax, rejuvenate your senses and feel at one with nature — whether it’s lounging on the expansive lanai deck, listening to the water flowing into the koi pond, enjoying the garden jacuzzi under the Kona stars, or letting the occasional rain falling on the roof lull you to sleep. Honu Kai is extremely conscious of our environment and is 100% solar powered. We have been recognized as a Platinum Level Green Leader by TripAdvisor, their highest level of recognition. We use biodegradable toiletries, water efficient fixtures, Energy Star appliances, recycle waste, encourage towel and linen reuse, and serve locally sourced or on-site grown organic produce. Concierge services and trip planning by hosts with many years of experience in executive hospitality and travel services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Honu Kai B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honu Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Honu Kai Bed And Breakfast
Honu Kai B&B Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing