We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally worth the time and money. Great crew!”
Review of Sunlight on Water

Sunlight on Water
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
1 review
“Totally worth the time and money. Great crew!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Been a longtime tripadvisor member but have never posted a teview until now. My girlfriend and I went out with these guys last night for the manta ray night snorkel. The crew was too notch. Professional but fun at the same time. Trip was a bit bumpy but there's nothing to be some about that. After a great sunset we hopped into the water and almost immediately saw a manta. When it got totally dark they were everywhere. Put on a great show doing flips in front of our faces! The crew was with us the whole time, then back on the boat we had a warm shower and some good eats. Really recommend this experience, totally recommend these guys to get you there!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AC-Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    37
    12
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Trip!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We did a private charter today on Sunlight on Water with China as our Captain and Dusty and Bree on deck. We are in Kona with our family group of 12 and had a wonderful time. We were able to swim with the dolphins several times, snorkel around a wonderful reef and see some "false" killer whales. The crew was wonderful and we had a great time! I would highly recommend Sunlight on Water.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience. Great company.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

There are a variety of tours to night snorkel with Mantas. We are happy we chose these guys. Good sturdy boat - relatively small group. Provided with wetsuit and snorkeling gear if u need it. Not hanging around for ages. In the water for about 40 mins of watching Mantas then out, hot shower, hot chocolate - quickly back to jetty. They also take HD photos accessible thru FB.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic group, fantastic staff and people ...”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Two sections. First, the company. Captain Jeff and Dusty were a great duo and we felt their skills in the water as well as with the people on their boat were outsanding. We were very happy with this group, and I would recommend anyone using them for their dolphin or manta experiences. Top notch! Snacks, drinks, friendly service, all there!

As for the events themselves, we also had a blast with our two events. We enjoy the Dolphin swim more as the dolphins were around us more, and it felt like we were in the water more and therefore more worth the time and money. The manta ray dive was very neat, and we had a couple show up, but it was not the life changing experience I seemed to hear about from other reviews. The creatures are truly amazing though, even one caused a stiff within.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lonewulf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Night snorkel with the angels of the sea. Fantastic experience great value and an honour to be so close to these magnificent placid giants. You watch in awe as they swoop to feed on the plankton right in front of you amazing. Highly recommend to anyone going to Big Island. Great crew who took care of us. Added bonus that they include a number of photographs in the price which is great. Make sure you take underwater camera/video got amazing footage.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nige12208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunlight on Water also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sunlight on Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing