We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome.”
Review of Sunlight on Water

Sunlight on Water
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

First time for swimming with the dolphins. Took my three kids (ages 9,8,6) as well as wife and my parents. It was a short boat ride to the area where the dolphins were hanging out. I lost count the number of dolphins we saw. I was unable to swim, due to a recent operation - so I hung out on the boat with China (captain). We stayed at the initial spot for about an hour (a long time for snorkeling) before moving to another location to find manta rays (which he did find). The group snorkeled for about 30 minutes before the boat took everyone back to the dolphins and swimming there for another 30 minutes or so. Everyone thought the swim was great. Dolphins everywhere, swimming behind, underneath and beside them. Was bummed I was unable to participate. Will definitely have to do this the next time we visit.

Of note: kids do wear life vests. There are noodles for them to use as well (which makes it easier for the adult to pull them about in the water). Waves did not seem too large, made the swim easy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RoxCo864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    36
    12
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best dolphin & manta swims on the big island”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

China, the captain, has been doing this for 30 years. He has a great boat, a fantastic crew, and he knows exactly where to go for the best dolphin and manta activity. Our trips with them were bliss. Great swims with wild dolphins by day, the manta swims are at night. We did have a chance to see some of the other dolphin swim tour boats because one of them left a customer behind and our boat took care of the guy. China & his crew rock!! They provide snacks & beverages. Loved this!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LSSSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Manta Ray night swim”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We did a Manta Ray night swim in September 2012 with this company. It was an awesome trip and i would recommend this company again. The guide was really experienced and gave us some information on the Manta's before entering the water.
First we stood in the crowed of swimmers and divers as there were the most Manta Rays. In the end we came back to our own boat and we got kind of a private show with a lot of Manta Rays. They are coming real close and have a fascinating look. After they gave us some overtime we got on the boat where they offer a hot "shower" and hot chocolate to warm up a little.
It would go on a tour with them again!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Best Snorkeling Event in Hawaii”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Fabulous experience. Not to be missed.

Swim with spinner dolphins.

This is the best adventure in Hawaii.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank baycityart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Manta ray snorkel tour was a dreamlike, once in a lifetime adventure that should not be missed!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Capt and crew were fun and respectful while getting us to a site (1 of 3 worldwide) to view manta rays while they feed on plankton within inches of our mask. The small boat felt like a private charter but was still comfortable and safe. I loved the hot cocoa and hot shower as we got out of the water, but not as much as I was mesmerized with watching the gentle giants as they somersaulted beneath us in the dark water. Definitely go during a new moon- this apparently attracts more plankton to our artificial light (thereby attracting more mantas) but regardless, Sunlight on Water will make sure the experience is an unforgettable one no matter what!

Helpful?
Thank gt0081a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunlight on Water also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sunlight on Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing