We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, freshly made food and some unique offerings”
Review of Rapanui Island Cafe - CLOSED

Rapanui Island Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious, freshly made food and some unique offerings”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The menu reflects a creative mind and fresh ingredients. This is a small cafe, seating for maybe 30 people inside and out. And the ambience is a little funky, this is not remotely an elegant dining spot, and there is no view to speak of but the food more than makes up for that. It's a little tricky to find, it's at the back of the the Banyan Court "mall" building. There's a public parking lot directly behind and you can enter from that side as well. Seek this place out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    53
    14
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Delightful Find!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Tucked in a little shopping arcade, near public parking, we happened upon this great little place. The Paw Paw chicken was really outstanding and those in my party who order fish or satays were pleased too. Delicious rice. Friendly service, large portions, reasonable prices. A real treat in Kona.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall gem!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Went for supper and quite enjoyed it. Location is nothing special, a small inside courtyard with no scenic view. But food was just fantastic, really enjoyed the mussels appetizer. Satay was tasty but steak even better. Try the mini coconut cream pies for dessert.

Prices just bit lower than several of other restaurants.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Laura-Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Satays and More!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

On vacation and where to eat tonight? I usually do the research and chose but after a not-so-great previous meal I let my spouse do this one. And it was great! I had the 1 satay plus 2 other choices: shrimp and beef satay plus chicken paw paw. She had the stir fry shrimp. After some sharing we agreed the flavors were tantalizing and delightful. Definitely we will be back, especially for the beef satay.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Small but good food”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Tiny place located in alley of stores off the mainroad. Small menu selections and a few New Zealand wines to choose from. Prices are reasonable and the food was well prepared. Our server was really good with a nice personality. The chicken in a peanut sauce was excellent and my tuna shrimp dish combo was good with the only fault that the tuna was not rare as ordered but came out as medium.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rapanui Island Cafe also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing