We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satays and More!”
Review of Rapanui Island Cafe - CLOSED

Rapanui Island Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Satays and More!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

On vacation and where to eat tonight? I usually do the research and chose but after a not-so-great previous meal I let my spouse do this one. And it was great! I had the 1 satay plus 2 other choices: shrimp and beef satay plus chicken paw paw. She had the stir fry shrimp. After some sharing we agreed the flavors were tantalizing and delightful. Definitely we will be back, especially for the beef satay.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    53
    14
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Small but good food”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Tiny place located in alley of stores off the mainroad. Small menu selections and a few New Zealand wines to choose from. Prices are reasonable and the food was well prepared. Our server was really good with a nice personality. The chicken in a peanut sauce was excellent and my tuna shrimp dish combo was good with the only fault that the tuna was not rare as ordered but came out as medium.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toms river, new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great Little Place Hard To find”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My wife and I decided to go here for dinner one night while in Kona bases on the reviews from trip advisor. Glad we did. Kind of off the beaten path. If you are on the main street in Kona look for Scandinavian shaved ice. Simply walk up the road to the fight for about 150 feet. This is a very small place that only has one cook and one server doing it all. Let me say the food was excellent, portions were plentiful and the price was right. Would definitely go back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter194940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Kona Secret”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This restaurant has to be Kona's best kept secret. Don't be fooled by the simplicity of the restaurant as it serves delicious gourmet fresh local foods. The portion sizes are generous. I had the best Ahi cooked perfect to my request. Many dishes passed by us as we ate & they all looked delicious. We definitely be going back to try a few more before we leave the island. Great service as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRBUG54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was one of our best meals in Kona! I was kind of worried when we saw the place, because it really could use some help with the ambiance. However, the food was worth it. We had the mix of sate's - chicken, beef, pork, shrimp, over their special lemongrass-coconut rice, with a peanut sauce over the top. Absolutely delicious! Service was great. We did have to wait about 1/2 hour to get a table, because they have fairly limited seating.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rapanui Island Cafe also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing