We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly great Thai food”
Review of Rapanui Island Cafe - CLOSED

Rapanui Island Cafe
Cuisines: Asian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly great Thai food”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This offbeat little restaurant is a bit of a challenge to find, but well worth the search (it's in the Banyan Court Mall, one block off Alii Drive). While the atmosphere is nothing special, the food was outstanding! So flavorful--the best chicken satay with peanut sauce I've ever had. My husband loved the beef cashew, too. Dinner comes with a small cucumber salad that was light and refreshing and a generous portion of rice. And the coconut tartlet we had for dessert was perfection--especially priced at just $3.00! The whole meal was very reasonably priced and tasted delicious. Our suggestion--go on one of your first days in Kailua-Kona; you'll want to go back again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    53
    14
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The other reviews on this restaurant are on target. It is "hidden", but truly easy to get to once you've found it--within walking distance of the pier. Prices are reasonable for dinner and service was good. We tried the paw-paw chicken and the ahi stir-fry--abundant portions, wonderful taste and presentation. The kitchen is easily seen from the tables, and it's a bonus to watch the chef prepare the meals. The coconut cream tart was a perfect finish to the meal---good crust, nice flavor, low price, and piled high with whipped cream. Seating space is limited---we went early and were seated right away, but the restaurant filled to capacity while we ate. Interestingly, when we shared our positive experience with the concierge at our resort, he said because the restaurant was a favorite of his and other locals, he purposefully didn't tell tourists about it to prevent tourists from overcrowding it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Well-prepared, generous portion, reasonable...for Kona.”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had dinner here and loved it. The Aussie chef/owner knows how to cook and does it well. I had a satay combination of marinated beef and chicken with house rice. Fabulous. My wife had the vegetarian option. Both were huge and priced in the mid-teens. We were first in the door (5 pm) and were served within 20 minutes. Seating is limited and covered open-air. You can't go wrong here! You'll find it near the back of the 80 foot hallway of shops.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Retired-math-teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Laid back and yummy”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Paw paw chicken was very moist. Ahi fresh catch stirfry was delish. Wine from New Zealand not so great. Chill atmosphere. Overall very pleasant, tasty and a nice start to vacation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I shared the Gado Gado salad and each tried the Ahi special. The food was amazing! Such fresh ingredients, and so many delicious flavors. The portions were very generous, and reasonably priced. We can't wait to get back to Kona and try Rapanui's again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rapanui Island Cafe also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing