We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food;Bad ratio”
Review of Splasher's Grill

Splasher's Grill
Ranked #11 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Amherst, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food;Bad ratio”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Had dinner here that last night we were in Kona. The atmosphere was great; sitting on the balcony watching all the people walk by. It took almost 10 minutes for our server to acknowldege our presence, but was very nice and apologized for the wait. My wife had a Mai Tai to start and I had a Lava Flow, both were quite satisfying. For dinner, i had the Teriyaki steak with mashed potatoes and corn. Now, what I mean by bad ratio, I'm talking about the meat to potato ratio. Don't get me wrong, the food was excellent, but there was not nearly enough potatoes to go with the amount of steak I received. Overall it was a very nice dining experience and highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimR18AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,385
    928
    264
    53
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, view and value”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The food here was excellent and the view of Kona harbor is very hard to beat--perfect shot of where the Hawaiian Ironman starts which for some of us is a very special event.

The food quality and variety is very good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food and ambience on Kona”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We visited Splasher's on our last night on the Big Island on our way to the airport. The food was good and reasonably priced with no wait on Saturday evening. We also enjoyed the covered, open-air dining overlooking the harbor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Had a great time at splasher grill”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

me and my friends had lunch at splasher grill. we first ordered coconut style shrimps which comes with pineapple chutney which is very delicious. then I had crab sliders which comes with fries on the side. really liked the food at splasher grill

Helpful?
1 Thank Velancio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place to start your day”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Had breakfast here 4 out of 7 days. Could not get enough of their veggie omelet and the splasher's special was another favorite. The view is great and the staff are friendly and attentive. The newly remodeled rest room gets high marks, too. Only disadvantage was some in our party had trouble with the stairs... then we found the elevator! Parking can be challenging.... We wanted to try them for lunch or dinner, but were elsewhere on the island in the afternoon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splasher's Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Splasher's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing