We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite place in Kona”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Splasher's Grill

Splasher's Grill
Ranked #10 of 285 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
525 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“Our favorite place in Kona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Splashers is located across the street from the Marriott on the north end of town, upstairs. There is a small parking area to the side with free self parking. This is our favorite place in Kona. My husband loves fish and chips, and orders them quite often, especially in Hawaii. Their fish and chips is the best in the islands, according to him. The portion is large as are the pieces of fish, and the fish they use is Ono, his favorite. I had the French dip one night and on our second visit had a bowl of their seafood chowder. All the food is good. The Fish and chips were $14.99, the French dip $13.49. We always ask for a seat on the rail because we like to look at the scenery while we eat. There are always a lot of "locals" there, which says a lot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saxeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,275
    885
    252
    51
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
158 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fish Tacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Blackened Ono tacos special plate for $12.99, which we had for lunch, were fantastic! My husband doesn't usually do fish, but he absolutely loved them too. The waitress was so kind and accommodating, especially to our two young kids. Pleasant music and atmosphere, with open-air dining and a nice breeze on the second level, overlooking the bay.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hijodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

The servers in the restaurant were friendly, recommended places to visit while on the island. They make a mai tai in a pineapple that is outstanding. The food is good, large portions and reasonably priced.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank huskiemom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our family of 4 stopped in for breakfast. Nice location with a great view of the bay. Decent service with the exception of our coffee, first cup was great, but the second cup took half an hour to come and when it did come around it was cold. 2 of us had the eggs, one pancakes and another an omelet. Decent food, good value. Our server was very friendly and efficient except for the coffee.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank riderfan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Overrated food with a view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

First, plan to wait for a seat- 30-60 minutes seemed standard, but at least they give you a buzzer, so you can wander a little. Check out the world class mounted marlin in the hotel across the street if you're into fish. Hope that you get one of the tables on the rail, for the ocean/ tiki torch view. Wait another hour (yes, it's "Hawaiian" time) for the food, which will be just OK. Oddly, our waitress would swoop in with a full glass of soda or iced tea and replace the glass which was still 3/4 full, so at least you won't get dehydrated while you wait. Burgers are large (you could easily split), the mashed potatoes are served "stuffed" in a bowl with bacon, green onion on top, and the macadamia crusted mahi-mahi was the best of the bunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WAgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splasher's Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Splasher's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing