We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open Air view of the pier and good food.”
Review of Splasher's Grill

Splasher's Grill
Ranked #10 of 287 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Green Bay Wisconsin
Level Contributor
265 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Open Air view of the pier and good food.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a table overlooking the ocean and Kailua Pier.
The food was tasty and hot and was adequate portions.
You can watch swimmers at the pier, and occasionally a dolphin jumping.
It is a good choice for both the view and the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiAloha777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,301
    900
    258
    51
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
134 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Friendly service, great food, reasonable price. I eat here at least once a week. Love the Eggs Benny!! If you are staying at the King Kam Marriott, it is so convernient, just right across the street.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank smalltowndiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Value, Good Food”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Okay, so the food is standard fare -but, I think Splasher's does it better than most. The prices are good and you get plenty to eat. My son and I ate there three times while in Kona. We were staying across the street at the Courtyard King Kam -so, this place was convient. The burgers were really good -some of the best I have had - the onion rings were awesome -very big and crispy. The breakfast was good as well -varied menu and our service was great.

One watchout - it is a covered eating venue -open to the outside. I love the island breeze and the view of the water. But, birds did frequently fly into the restaurant - you know what that means -watch your food and your hair.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DvrDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Splash out & Enjoy”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went to Splasher's as it was conveniently across the road from our hotel, as my wife wasn't keen on the dinner menu there. We visited the Grill twice while we stayed in Kona, as the first night we went, I asked for the Teriyaki steak, a favourite of mine, but they had none left, which showed how popular it was there, so I had the local fish, which was really nice.
I had to go back for the steak later in the week, & wasn't disappointed, as it was delicious. There was live music as well, which made the evening very pleasant.
If your in Kailua-Kona, I would recommend the Grill, but get in early for the teriyaki steak!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaBeach_Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
285 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Looking at this place I thought it would be sorta average when it came to the food. Good service and better food.

We only had breakfast but we went back for a total of three times. Had the Crab Cakes Benedict, Lobster Omelette and the Mac Nut Banana pancakes. All three were terrific.

This place surprised me. Really.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dalpokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splasher's Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
 

Been to Splasher's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing