We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious sushi and sashimi at a reasonable price ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sushi Shiono

Sushi Shiono
Reserve with OpenTable
Sushi Shiono is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 285 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Alii Sunset Plaza
Description: Sushi Shiono is without a doubt the best sushi restaurant on the Big Island of Hawaii. We offer only the finest and freshest selections of fresh fish from all over the world, including lots of local Kona fish expertly prepared and served with love.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious sushi and sashimi at a reasonable price ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I ate here tonight and we had their Shiono Boat for two. It was fantastic! Service was excellent as well. I will certainly eat here again.

Helpful?
10 Thank Trekster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    79
    24
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We go to sushi restaurant weekly and this is the First time I saw my picky daughter licked the plate with her finger. She had salad, soup and teriyaki chicken dinner. My husband and I loved sushi and Sashimi plate. Great food and great service. Definitely go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
13 Thank Christie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a great place in down town Kona. Great Sushi and really good Japanese food.
The grilled mackerel is well worth the trip. And such good miso, just like Japan.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Kona!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Love Shiono's, the food is outstanding and the service is fantastic! Love the Hawaiian Volcano Roll- a definite must.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good variety and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

When I went to the restaurant, I wasn't thinking I wanted Sushi, I had a lot of rice and fish and wanted to get something a little different. My friend ordered the Sushi and Sashimi plate while I ordered Udon with a side of tempura. There were a lot of options on the menu, not just sushi.

We shared and I loved all of it. I enjoyed the chewy udon noodles in a tasty broth as well as the tender cuts of sashimi. When I went to write the review, I had to ask myself was there anything wrong? There wasn't, the service was very friendly and attentive, the place was clean and I walked away feeling thinking I would go back there again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank LAGuy90019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Shiono also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sushi Shiono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing