We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi”
Review of Sushi Shiono

Sushi Shiono
Reserve with OpenTable
Sushi Shiono is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Alii Sunset Plaza
Description: Sushi Shiono is without a doubt the best sushi restaurant on the Big Island of Hawaii. We offer only the finest and freshest selections of fresh fish from all over the world, including lots of local Kona fish expertly prepared and served with love.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our family absolutely loved this restaurant from the food to service. We went back twice during our three days on the island. Try it and you won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank tyler d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    83
    24
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Sushi”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We eat a lot of sushi and this was some of the best we've had. I had the sashimi/sushi set which was plentiful and well executed. My wife had a roll and asari miso, both just right. My ten year old enjoyed his udon and sushi as well, leaving nothing behind.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank ustensai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Totally Awesome!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I actually crave sushi at this restaurant on a regular basis... I recently started having the sake and I'm a wine person... must try the furikaki chicken, mongoose roll and the tiger rolls at the very least...this place is not cheap, but don't complain about the prices. Groceries stores are charging outrageous prices for sub par sushi...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank OhioMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi - great price”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We live in SF Bay Area where there are dozens of excellent sushi restaurants. This was a great find on The Big Island. Prices for the sushi were really good, though the cold saki was expensive compared to home. Fish was fresh and flavorful and rolls were innovative. It was also encouraging that several of the clientele were speaking Japanese. We did step into at least one other close by sushi-restaurant that was full of tourists and smelled somewhat fishy - go here instead...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Favorite Sushi Spot!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I've been visiting Sushi Shiono for several years now and it is a top notch Sushi and Japanese restaurant. The quality of the fish is the very highest, grade AAA. The Sushi chefs are all from Japan. It's as good as any of the best establishment I've been to in Honolulu. They also over some really unique local items like abalone and local seaweeds. They offer the highest quality period. They also offer a complete Japanese menu also. For lunch I really like the Seafood Salad, small sashima chunks on fresh local greens, with a scoop of crab meat. If there is on drawback, it's that seats at the sushi bar are sometimes hard to come by as there are some regulars that haunt the place, but really who can blame them. This place is the real deal!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Shiono also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sushi Shiono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing