We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is so so sushi” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushi Shiono

Sushi Shiono
Reserve with OpenTable
Sushi Shiono is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 283 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Alii Sunset Plaza
Description: Sushi Shiono is without a doubt the best sushi restaurant on the Big Island of Hawaii. We offer only the finest and freshest selections of fresh fish from all over the world, including lots of local Kona fish expertly prepared and served with love.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It is so so sushi”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Have been to Shiono with my husband. After having tried Seiji Sushi, Shiono cannot compete at all, it is just very average level sushi, nothing special. The service was also disappointing for one of the lady was really unfriendly. If you want to dine for nice environment and decoration, it is good place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zhuo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    79
    23
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sushi Shines!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Driving back from the Volcano, we were in the mood for sushi. This did not disappoint. Try the volcano roll, which is topped with macadamia nuts. Our son chose chicken teriyaki. It had such a lovely smoky taste which balanced the sweetness. Extensive sake options.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice sushi place - good food and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The decor is beautiful with unique sculptures of clay orchids and origami...if you can, sit at the sushi bar if you want to have fun. The sushi chefs are happy and fun and very lively. We had several rolls and all were good. They have a special sauce that goes with tempura that was extra good (like a dipping soy combo). If you order a larger sake, they have really cool sake carafes to pour from. Staff was friendly and service was excellent. Want to go back...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kdhillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
392 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
“Best Japanese restaurant in Kona?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a great experience at Shiono. Not so much at Kenichi Pacific.

The service was very good and prompt. The rolls were tasty.

We ordered Tonkatsu and it was very good. Delicious salad, rice and miso. The tonkatsu sauce was tasty and the cutlets were very nicely cooked. The only thing I thought was a bit weird was the portions. Lived in Japan for 5 years. Eat Japanese cuisine weekly. Have never, ever been served two large cutlets in my life. Don't get me wrong they were good, but there was a lot of them. So much so we had a doggie bag wrapped up (first time in my life, ever, from a Japanese restaurant) and had a second meal out of them the next day.

All in all a good Japanese restaurant in Kona. One worth going back to.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BuccaneerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Execellent dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We when for dinner with my family one of wholm spent time in Japan. We all enjoyed dinner especially the deluxe boat. Highly recommend this restaurant. Service was excellent too even though we were outside. Will go back another night soon.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJBRoute66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Shiono also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sushi Shiono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing