We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay at the Kona Sugar Shack”
Review of Kona Sugar Shack

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Sugar Shack
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just spent a week at the Kona Sugar Shack and once again had a fabulous time. The owners have done many improvements and the pool area looks wonderful. This is the perfect place to relax. Whether going across the street to the Magic Sands beach, in to the Kona village, or day trips to the many wonderful north coast beaches, the Sugar Shack is a perfect place for families, singles and groups of friends. The owners pay attention to the smallest details and have an abundance of information available on the many different types of things to do while on the Big Island. The owners keep a stock of snorkeling equipment, boogie boards, coolers, beach chairs, beach towels and umbrellas available for use. This saved us time and money. We really enjoy spending a day at a beach and then returning to the Sugar Shack to grill and relax with cocktails by the pool, watching the sunset and looking for the mystical green flash as the sun falls below the horizon. I highly recommend the Sugar Shack and look forward to a return trip in September. This next trip will be a ladies trip and the six of us be staying in the Ocean Suite.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank amw53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 127 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

We left the Sugar Shack not one week ago, and miss it already!! The Kona Sugar Shack is a well-appointed traditional Hawaiian home divided into 4 separate units, all with full kitchens and private baths. It sits on Ali'i Drive, just south of the bustling downtown seaside community of Kailua-Kona. Though Ali'i Drive is busy at times, the home is built up above the road so that you cannot see the traffic, but can enjoy unobstructed views of the ocean (and can see/hear the white water of crashing waves). The patio and pool area are a beautiful space to swim, barbecue, and enjoy a meal, all in the presence of tropical flowers, birds, and an incredible ocean view. Bring your binoculars so you can see the many boats and dolphins just off shore!

We stayed in the Ocean Suite with our family of 4, and it was the perfect size. This particular unit was well suited for a family with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It can also connect to the Mango suite downstairs, and the Anniversary Suite upstairs if you need more room. The Sugar Shack is well equipped with all the things you need for a day on the beach, snorkeling, boogie boarding, picnicking, etc. Coolers, blue ice, beach towels, umbrellas, boogie boards, pool noodles, a few kids life vests and some random snorkeling equipment are all included with the home. The beds were incredibly comfortable, and the pillows and sheets were soft (we really appreciated this). The bedrooms are near the back of the unit and are quiet, all with air conditioning and ceiling fans.

All in all, the Kona Sugar Shack is a Hawaiian treasure that we would love to return to. Owners Jae and John are very responsive and helpful with suggested places to see and things to do. Mahalo for a wonderful Big Island experience. Melissa, Jeff & kids.

Room Tip: Ocean Suite if you need 3 bedrooms with room for 2 to sleep in each room - great for a family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We rented the entire Kona Sugar Shack for a week long birthday celebration. We loved it. Everything was exactly as advertised and the location is great. In addition, the house has all the little things we needed like beach chairs, coolers, etc. The pool is wonderful and you'll have no problem with bugs in the evening -- just be sure to light the tiki torches -- they make a huge difference.

The beach right across the street was perfect -- you just have to be a bit careful with the waves -- some days it was really fun for novice surfing, but some days the waves were huge and you better know what you're doing. If you drive 5 minutes south, there is a great bay with wonderful snorkeling -- we went in the morning and saw turtles and lots of fish. We went on a great snorkel trip (saw tons of dolphins), and the night dive with the Mantas is great.

We had great weather for 5 days and a bit of overcast / light rain on 2 days -- but if you still want some beach time, I suggest driving about an hour north to Waialea Bay -- we did that on one of the overcast days and still got some great sun that day.

Can't wait to go back.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank GreginSF12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our family of four stayed in the Ocean Suite on the second floor for a full week and really loved this location. It was away from the hustle and bustle of town but not too far. And, more than anything it was right across the street from the Magic Sands beach which was truly magical! Our kids LOVED the boogie boarding (when the waves weren't too dangerous) here. We also appreciated the hospitality from Jai. She and her husband ended up being gone for much of our time there but she did what she could to ensure we were well taken care of. The Kona Sugar Shack was our homebase as we traveled much of the island during the week that we were there. Our 9 year old was the only one to use the pool and just one time. There were too many wonderful beaches to visit! We also loved being able to use the beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards and more that they have a great supply of so that we didn't have to purchase these items while we were there.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the ocean suite which had two bathrooms and three bedrooms. Each bedroom had a window ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilesDavisFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our family loved the Kona Sugar Shack! We had the two units upstairs that open up as one unit, the Anniversary and Ocean Suites. The accommodations were roomy and comfortable for 7 adults and 2 children for almost 2 weeks. We loved the convenient location, good beds, nice furnishings, pool, etc., but what we loved the most was the experience of staying in an Hawaiian home. To wake up every morning to so many birds, to hear the ocean surf pounding on the shore, to watching sunsets from the deck at night, to picking limes for our drinks, flowers for our hair, going on gecko hunts in the yard where they hide in numerous tropical trees - it was truly an experience that we have not had before when visiting Hawaii and staying in a condo. The only problem we had with the Sugar Shack that it was hard to leave to go sight-seeing - we were happy just to sit on the porch or by the pool! This really made our family trip one of the best ever! We also very much appreciated all the "toys" that are available, beach towels, chairs, coolers, umbrellas, etc. that made our beach outings so great. I would absolutely recommend this place! (stayed March 12 - 25, 2013)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bufordco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Kona Sugar shack back in July 2012. We could not have had it any better than the ocean suite at the Kona Sugar shack. I wish they had a webcam and I could go back and day dream every day. The home is right across from white sands beach with gorgeous sunsets,a wonderful pool,all sorts of equipment to take to the beach,everything you could possible need for your vacation. We made our own leis with all the plumeria flowers they have on the property and I love the apple banana's. Kona sugar shack is close to everything on the west side of the island. We could walk down to Kahuluu beach and snorkle.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 130KatieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We actually stayed in December of 2011, just before the Christmas holiday. We had the place to ourselves. A highlight for the kids was when John chopped a banana tree down. The location was perfect and we spent hours at Magic Sands beach. i also snorkeled in the bay next to it - a bit tricky to enter the water but lots of good fish to see.
Now when we ask our 8 year old where he wants to live, he always says, The Sugar Shack!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
3.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
16.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#1 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,618 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Sugar Shack

Address: 77-6483 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2407
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $150 - $1,200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Kona Sugar Shack" is a lovely traditional Hawaiian style home/specialty lodging surrounded by lush tropical gardens. From several of the spacious lanais you can watch migratory whales, spinner dolphins,kayakers and spectacular Hawaiian sunsets. Relax in the waterfall pool while you sip a Mai Tai,BBQ fresh fish and let the weight of the world slip away. The home is located within a one minute walk of White Sands beach and the Ocean Views are incredible.Special features include. :Water fall Ocean view pool: Several private suites, which when combined can accommodate up to 20 guest: Brazilian hardwood and tile floors, Lime Stone counter tops : Laundry room with propane commercial coin operated washers and dryers: Photovoltaic , net metered panels: Solar water heater ; Large Studio/Storage on lower level: Low voltage exterior lighting: A/C units in all bedrooms : Tile shower stalls: Security cameras. Carport + rear parking total 8 parking spaces: The Kona Sugar Shack has been consistently near or at the top for Specialty Lodging facilities on Trip Advisor: This unique vacation home features antiques furniture and original artwork. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Sugar Shack Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sugar Shack Kailua
Kona Sugar Shack Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing