We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Low Key Hawaiian Honeymoon”
Review of Kona Sugar Shack

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Sugar Shack
Centerport, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Low Key Hawaiian Honeymoon”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Kona Sugar Shack was the PERFECT place to begin our Hawaiian honeymoon - it's hard for me to even write this review because I miss it so much! We stayed in the Honeymoon Pool Suite - it was spacious, clean, well appointed - we had everything we needed. The outdoor kitchen for our private use was great - every night we whipped up some appetizers and mai tais and watched the glorious sunset right from the Sugar Shack pool.

The owners were very welcoming, friendly, and helpful. They often checked in to see how our trip was going and never seemed bothered by our questions or requests. We felt like we were staying with friends.

The location of the Sugar Shack can't be beat - it is on a busy road, yes, but it's several miles away from the main hustle and bustle of Kailua Kona. The road traffic was not noisy, however, and did not negatively impact our trip in any way. Right across the street is the beautiful ocean and a small beach, so the views are really fantastic. Nothing like waking up to the sound of crashing waves :)

The Sugar Shack is an incredible value. Not once did we regret our choice. If you are looking for charm, privacy, and a boutique feel, the Sugar Shack is the place to be.

We hope to return ASAP!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Pool Suite is very large and has its own private outdoor kitchen, and is directly adja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler3381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This was our 3rd visit to the KSS. 2005, 2007, and now 2011. We have stayed there with family and friends. J and John are excellent hosts. J is a great resource for locating the best beaches and shopping. John enjoys people. They are very accommodating. Everything is there at the house! Beach, snorkel, you name it, they have it or they know how to get it. They have fully equipped kitchens. Lovely view of the ocean. Great pool. It's as if you are in your own home. Fresh bananas on the property. I can't say enough. My go to for Kona. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Big view from the ocean suite. The ocean suite has a master suite, full kitchen, living room and de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JandaPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at the Sugar Shack for a bit more than one week and we felt in love with it, cannot wait to come back...

We were lucky enough to stay in the Honeymoon Suite and especially liked the outdoor kitchen a lot!

Service, value, location and the rooms were just perfect for us and we really felt like home there!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yves S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My husband and I met Jae, the owner of Kona Sugar Shack, by pure coincidence - we had troubles getting in touch with the owner of the place we booked at, and she was a passer-by we asked for help. As it was already late, Jae was a true life-savior - she helped us make several phone calls (our international phone did not get the connection every time), she offered us some fresh fruit and a drink, which we really needed, she was incredibly comforting, and she even let us stay at her beautiful place. The apartment is spacious, classy, clean, well maintained, with all the amenities you can think of, and there is a lovely swimming-pool in the garden to chill-out in the evenings. You can even borrow body boards and snorkel gear. If we ever get back to Kona, we will certainly stay at Kona Sugar Shack. Thank you, Jae!
Petra, Slovenia

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matej_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We had a great stay here. We were a family of six (two grandparents, two parents and two children) and occupied the entire upstairs (three bedrooms). When booking a vacation rental, I worry that the representative will misrepresent the property or "nickel and dime" me. Neither was the case here. What was represented was true, and there were no hidden fees. The property has a great location, it is fully stocked by the owners (e.g., a closet is full of beach gear/equipment), and it completely met our needs. I recommend it and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron_Adkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed for four nights in the Ocean Suite and it was just perfect - well set up home away from home, very comfortable rooms and facilities and a great beach and snorkelling across the road. Jae and John were excellent hosts - very helpful and friendly. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinedale, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The Sugar Shack is like having a home in Hawaii. The accomodations were great! The outside kitchen is perfect. The flowers, landscaping, pool, room were just what we needed after a very snowy spring in Wyoming. The location was great for exploring the Kona side of the island. Snorkeling is amazing in many places near the Sugar Shack! The McCaskills provide a wonderful guide book to head you in the right direction for exploring the beautiful island of Hawaii.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank wyomingwinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
3.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.6 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
2.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Sugar Shack

Property: Kona Sugar Shack
Address: 77-6483 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2407
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Kona Sugar Shack" is a lovely traditional Hawaiian style home/specialty lodging surrounded by lush tropical gardens. From several of the spacious lanais you can watch migratory whales, spinner dolphins,kayakers and spectacular Hawaiian sunsets. Relax in the waterfall pool while you sip a Mai Tai,BBQ fresh fish and let the weight of the world slip away. The home is located within a one minute walk of White Sands beach and the Ocean Views are incredible.Special features include. :Water fall Ocean view pool: Several private suites, which when combined can accommodate up to 20 guest: Brazilian hardwood and tile floors, Lime Stone counter tops : Laundry room with propane commercial coin operated washers and dryers: Photovoltaic , net metered panels: Solar water heater ; Large Studio/Storage on lower level: Low voltage exterior lighting: A/C units in all bedrooms : Tile shower stalls: Security cameras. Carport + rear parking total 8 parking spaces: The Kona Sugar Shack has been consistently near or at the top for Specialty Lodging facilities on Trip Advisor: This unique vacation home features antiques furniture and original artwork. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Sugar Shack Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sugar Shack Kailua
Kona Sugar Shack Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing