We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
Review of Kona Sugar Shack

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Sugar Shack
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The Sugar Shack is like having a home in Hawaii. The accomodations were great! The outside kitchen is perfect. The flowers, landscaping, pool, room were just what we needed after a very snowy spring in Wyoming. The location was great for exploring the Kona side of the island. Snorkeling is amazing in many places near the Sugar Shack! The McCaskills provide a wonderful guide book to head you in the right direction for exploring the beautiful island of Hawaii.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank wyomingwinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 125 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2011

Our family of 14 had the privilege of staying at the Kona Sugar Shack over our Spring Break. It was a delightful stay and John and Jae were wonderful hosts. We really enjoyed hanging out as a family at the Sugar Shack and will recommend this location in the future! We hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationer3_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

My daughter and I were lucky enough to pay a return visit to the Sugar Shack in Kona last week. Staying at the Sugar Shack blends all the best aspects of a B&B, a hotel and a private home: charming accoutrements with none of the hassles. The location is perfect for exploring the Big Island, and you could not ask for better hosts than Jae and John. Each room has a "Black Book": a binder personally compiled by Jae & John, of tips and favorite spots on the island, which is updated regularly. Trust me, you will use it! This trip we stayed in the Mango Suite, which has its own private patio -- big plus. Previously we stayed in the Pool Suite, which is nearest to the outdoor kitchen -- nice too. If you aren't the Big Resort Hotel type, this might be just the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotsomeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

The Kona Sugar Shack is one really fabulous place. Our family stayed in the Mango suite which was very clean and very nicely decorated. There is also a private patio/garden that was my favorite spot to sit early in the morning, drink coffee and listen to the birds singing, and the geckos clicking. The owners, Jae and John are the two nicest people anywhere and made us feel very welcome. They offered the use of boogie boards, coolers, chairs and beach towels, and threw in lots of bananas from their trees for good measure. We also can't thank them enough for letting us stay long past check out time because of a late flight. We loved everything about the Sugar Shack, and will definetly go back. Thanks Jae and John!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

One of the nicest places we have ever stayed on holiday. Our extended families from the UK and USA all loved it and the flexibility of the accommodation worked perfectly for us all from 60 to 6 months. The 5 year old learnt to swim in the pool, the 10 year old helped cut down bananas and picked papayas. The rest of us loved sitting around the pool and garden watching the waves and magical sunsets over gin and tonics. We even saw whales one morning. We ate outside every evening and appreciated the tiki lamps and the barbecue. Everything you needed was provided - towels, cooking equipment etc even waterproof capes for visiting the volcano and spare sun hats! All in all, a small piece of heaven. Mahalo to John and Jae for being perfect hosts, friendly, helpful and charming. And for providing the perfect base for our daughter's wedding. Memories to cherish.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zippy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

My boyfriend and I recently returned from 8 nights at The Sugar Shack and absolutely loved it. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite; we loved the outdoor kitchen. Everything you need is available - beach towels, chairs, coolers, kitchen supplies etc. We had a gorgeous sunset everynight. The pool and grounds are gorgeous and Jae and John could not be more friendly or helpful. They definitely deserve all their excellent reviews; we would definitely stay there again. We dove with Big Island Divers who we also highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We spent the second half of our big island vacation at the Sugar Shack and had the most amazing time. Jae was out of town for the week, but John was the consummate host, offering beach recommendations and more. His on-site art studio is impressive, and I can't help but envy the location of his "office", just steps from the beach. We had the whole place to ourselves, and took advantage of this luck by spending our daytime hours reading poolside (or at nearby beaches). I simply didn't want to leave. Needless to say, I'm already trying to find my way back to the Sugar Shack.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adair75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
3.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.7 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Sugar Shack

Address: 77-6483 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2407
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $150 - $1,200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Kona Sugar Shack" is a lovely traditional Hawaiian style home/specialty lodging surrounded by lush tropical gardens. From several of the spacious lanais you can watch migratory whales, spinner dolphins,kayakers and spectacular Hawaiian sunsets. Relax in the waterfall pool while you sip a Mai Tai,BBQ fresh fish and let the weight of the world slip away. The home is located within a one minute walk of White Sands beach and the Ocean Views are incredible.Special features include. :Water fall Ocean view pool: Several private suites, which when combined can accommodate up to 20 guest: Brazilian hardwood and tile floors, Lime Stone counter tops : Laundry room with propane commercial coin operated washers and dryers: Photovoltaic , net metered panels: Solar water heater ; Large Studio/Storage on lower level: Low voltage exterior lighting: A/C units in all bedrooms : Tile shower stalls: Security cameras. Carport + rear parking total 8 parking spaces: The Kona Sugar Shack has been consistently near or at the top for Specialty Lodging facilities on Trip Advisor: This unique vacation home features antiques furniture and original artwork. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Sugar Shack Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sugar Shack Kailua
Kona Sugar Shack Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing