We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit to the delightful Sugar Shack!”
Review of Kona Sugar Shack

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Sugar Shack
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Return visit to the delightful Sugar Shack!”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

My daughter and I were lucky enough to pay a return visit to the Sugar Shack in Kona last week. Staying at the Sugar Shack blends all the best aspects of a B&B, a hotel and a private home: charming accoutrements with none of the hassles. The location is perfect for exploring the Big Island, and you could not ask for better hosts than Jae and John. Each room has a "Black Book": a binder personally compiled by Jae & John, of tips and favorite spots on the island, which is updated regularly. Trust me, you will use it! This trip we stayed in the Mango Suite, which has its own private patio -- big plus. Previously we stayed in the Pool Suite, which is nearest to the outdoor kitchen -- nice too. If you aren't the Big Resort Hotel type, this might be just the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotsomeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
61
46
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

The Kona Sugar Shack is one really fabulous place. Our family stayed in the Mango suite which was very clean and very nicely decorated. There is also a private patio/garden that was my favorite spot to sit early in the morning, drink coffee and listen to the birds singing, and the geckos clicking. The owners, Jae and John are the two nicest people anywhere and made us feel very welcome. They offered the use of boogie boards, coolers, chairs and beach towels, and threw in lots of bananas from their trees for good measure. We also can't thank them enough for letting us stay long past check out time because of a late flight. We loved everything about the Sugar Shack, and will definetly go back. Thanks Jae and John!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

One of the nicest places we have ever stayed on holiday. Our extended families from the UK and USA all loved it and the flexibility of the accommodation worked perfectly for us all from 60 to 6 months. The 5 year old learnt to swim in the pool, the 10 year old helped cut down bananas and picked papayas. The rest of us loved sitting around the pool and garden watching the waves and magical sunsets over gin and tonics. We even saw whales one morning. We ate outside every evening and appreciated the tiki lamps and the barbecue. Everything you needed was provided - towels, cooking equipment etc even waterproof capes for visiting the volcano and spare sun hats! All in all, a small piece of heaven. Mahalo to John and Jae for being perfect hosts, friendly, helpful and charming. And for providing the perfect base for our daughter's wedding. Memories to cherish.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zippy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

My boyfriend and I recently returned from 8 nights at The Sugar Shack and absolutely loved it. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite; we loved the outdoor kitchen. Everything you need is available - beach towels, chairs, coolers, kitchen supplies etc. We had a gorgeous sunset everynight. The pool and grounds are gorgeous and Jae and John could not be more friendly or helpful. They definitely deserve all their excellent reviews; we would definitely stay there again. We dove with Big Island Divers who we also highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We spent the second half of our big island vacation at the Sugar Shack and had the most amazing time. Jae was out of town for the week, but John was the consummate host, offering beach recommendations and more. His on-site art studio is impressive, and I can't help but envy the location of his "office", just steps from the beach. We had the whole place to ourselves, and took advantage of this luck by spending our daytime hours reading poolside (or at nearby beaches). I simply didn't want to leave. Needless to say, I'm already trying to find my way back to the Sugar Shack.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adair75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Highly recommended, we have never had a better holiday with our extended family - there was something for everyone and the Kona Sugar Shack was a perfect base for us all. We particularly enjoyed the terrace, pool and outdoor kitchen as well as the proximity to the beach and town. Our hosts were lovely and very accomodating to all of us including our small children.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricardachrissydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

My husband and I recently spent a week at the Sugar Shack on Hawaii's Big Island and cannot imagine a more perfect place for us in this tropical paradise! If you want to truly experience the Big Island (instead of peering at it from the 20th story of a mega resort and sharing the beach with 1000 people) this is absolutely the place for you!

The Shack is the beautiful island home of John and Jae, your gracious, wonderfully friendly hosts during your stay. It's split into several spacious, private, lovely suites - we stayed in the Honeymoon suite which was comfortable, clean, artistically appointed and had a really cool outdoor kitchen on the way to the peaceful stone-lined be-waterfalled pool in the yard and your very own view of the Pacific.

Everything about this place was just what we were looking for - we really appreciated the awesome private pool/yard, perfect view of the sunset each night, the lush grounds full of fragrant flowers and fruit trees, all the beach equipment there for borrowing, the great suggestions from John, Jae and Uncle Mike on where to eat, snorkle, swim, etc, the close proximity to Magic Sands Beach and downtown Kona...sigh. Loved it.

If you're looking for someone to clean up after you, pamper you with room service, deliver you drinks on the beach, etc, then I would head north to the mega resorts. But if you're looking for a fun, beautiful, genuine Big Island setting with the perfect dose of Aloha, search no further - Sugar Shack is it. You don't feel like a tourist - you feel like you're completely at home.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
3.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,545 reviews
2.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,819 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Sugar Shack

Property: Kona Sugar Shack
Address: 77-6483 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2407
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Kona Sugar Shack" is a lovely traditional Hawaiian style home/specialty lodging surrounded by lush tropical gardens. From several of the spacious lanais you can watch migratory whales, spinner dolphins,kayakers and spectacular Hawaiian sunsets. Relax in the waterfall pool while you sip a Mai Tai,BBQ fresh fish and let the weight of the world slip away. The home is located within a one minute walk of White Sands beach and the Ocean Views are incredible.Special features include. :Water fall Ocean view pool: Several private suites, which when combined can accommodate up to 20 guest: Brazilian hardwood and tile floors, Lime Stone counter tops : Laundry room with propane commercial coin operated washers and dryers: Photovoltaic , net metered panels: Solar water heater ; Large Studio/Storage on lower level: Low voltage exterior lighting: A/C units in all bedrooms : Tile shower stalls: Security cameras. Carport + rear parking total 8 parking spaces: The Kona Sugar Shack has been consistently near or at the top for Specialty Lodging facilities on Trip Advisor: This unique vacation home features antiques furniture and original artwork. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Sugar Shack Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sugar Shack Kailua
Kona Sugar Shack Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing