We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast and great people watching!”

Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks
Reserve with OpenTable
Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 287 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Alii Drive
Description: Fish Hopper - Kailua-Kona * Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean at The Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks, overlooking Kailua Bay on the Big Island Hawaii. Enjoy fresh Big Island and seafood flown in weekly from California. Our bar serves up signature Bucket of Fire and Volcano flaming drinks and is the perfect oceanfront location to gather with friends for Happy Hour. We are within walking distance to shops and historic sites. A landmark (formerly the Ocean View Inn) and a local favorite Kona restaurant since 1934. The Fish Hopper has been beautifully restored to expand upon its spectacular ocean views. We proudly serve seafood from sustainable sources, harvested by methods that do not harm the environment. Open daily from 730am-930pm.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
206 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast and great people watching!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We enjoyed a delicious breakfast and the views over Kailua Bay. Good place for people watching. Alii Street is a busy two lane road but you sit enough above street level that the traffic is not annoying. It's fun to watch the morning swimmers, jiggers, stand up paddle boarders, etc. Service was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PassportTherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottie T, Marketing Assistant at Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
So thrilled that your breakfast was enjoyable and entertaining. The people watching gets even more interesting whenever there is something special going on in and around the pier. Canoe races during the summer, cruise ship passengers during the spring and fall and even the Ironman Triathalon held each year in October. Mahalo for choose us for your personal vantage point and for taking the time to post and share!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,331
    851
    307
    104
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We spent a lot of time looking for a great fish restaurant in Kailua and we were so pleased to find the Fish Hopper. We had a beautiful table overlooking the sea, delicious tropical drinks, and the most wonderful ono. The fish was delicate and perfectly prepared. Great evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottie T, Marketing Assistant at Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
All of us here at Fish Hopper Kona are delighted to know that your dinner experience was truly a wonderful one. We appreciate the time it takes to research and select a restaurant for your vacation dinner, so we are thrilled that we did not disappoint. Glad your Ono was ono (delicious) and that we are a part of your cherished Big Island vacation memories. Mahalo for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our Fave”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This was our favorite place to go to while in Kona. We went there twice for breakfast and both times it was excellent. Once night we stopped in for the late happy hour with some appetizers and cocktails. We loved this so much that we purchased a gift certificate from here to give to our favorite person at the Courtyard, Haidee!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stepmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottie T, Marketing Assistant at Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Your kind words have the entire staff and kitchen smiling! We all would like to send you a huge MAHALO for dining with us not just once but TWICE!! Such kind words from such kind folks! Thank you again for sharing and taking the time top post!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Ok so we only had appetizers and happy hour drinks. However even that was tasty. Service was excellent. Prices were reasonable. The view was amazing (straight out to the ocean). If we were not leaving Kailua-Kona hours before trying this restaurant we would have been back for dinner! !

Helpful?
Thank Meekie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottie T, Marketing Assistant at Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
We are thrilled to know that your visit to our happy hour made you happy! We have two happy hours each day and everyday! 2:00-6:00pm & 8:00-9:30pm. Discounted drinks and appetizers along with a beautiful bay view! Mahalo nui for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno Nevada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Water view”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were surprised how few places right in Kailua had water views and were open for breakfast. After a trip to the farmers' market, this place fit the bill. Friendly staff and lots of specials to choose from, even beyond the big menu. Good bloody marys.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tourgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottie T, Marketing Assistant at Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
We are delighted to hear your Fish Hopper Kona experience was enjoyable. Our bloody marys are a special handmade recipe which make them more tasty than salty. So happy that you took the time to post. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing