We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner”

Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks
Reserve with OpenTable
Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 290 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Alii Drive
Description: Fish Hopper - Kailua-Kona * Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean at The Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks, overlooking Kailua Bay on the Big Island Hawaii. Enjoy fresh Big Island and seafood flown in weekly from California. Our bar serves up signature Bucket of Fire and Volcano flaming drinks and is the perfect oceanfront location to gather with friends for Happy Hour. We are within walking distance to shops and historic sites. A landmark (formerly the Ocean View Inn) and a local favorite Kona restaurant since 1934. The Fish Hopper has been beautifully restored to expand upon its spectacular ocean views. We proudly serve seafood from sustainable sources, harvested by methods that do not harm the environment. Open daily from 730am-930pm.
Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Open Air dining, food was very good, service was good and friendly. Price was competitive for the area

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,397
    901
    323
    105
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prosperity
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service! Wonderful view!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We were riding down Alii Drive and noticed the sign that The Fish Hopper had been voted best seafood restaurant in 2012, so we made a reservation for later in the week. I can see why they received this award. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding!

I had the beef and shrimp skewers and my husband had one of the fish specials. Both were excellent! And there was always someone walking by our table to pour more water or get anything we needed. Oh, the chocolate macadamia nut pie was wonderful! We didn't order the clam chowder, but the sample that the lady gave us as we walked in, was delicious!

We had a table by the window so we watched the sunset while waiting on our food. The meal was expensive, but that's to be expected for a nice restaurant in Hawaii

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Good view, mediocre food, lousy service”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had lunch. The good–all salad dressings are made from scratch. The mediocre–small portions, minimal ingredients in the Cobb salad; wine by the glass reasonable for a tourist area but some bottles on the list were almost double the price of a similar restaurant in Hilo. The bad–calamari was very dry and tough; service was very inattentive. We will be in Kona again, but will not eat here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redneckersson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“nice view and great food.”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed the setting of this restaurant. It has a great vi3w. The food was reasonably priced for hawaii. They have a kamaiana m3nu for the l8cals.a full coyurse meal for sixteen dollars.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pookibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good food but at a price.”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in Kailua-Kona Feb. 9th-18th for our honeymoon. We ate at The Fish Hopper twice, once for dinner on Valentine's Day and once for lunch. I had fresh fish both times. The macadamia nut crusted mahi mahi is amazing! The service was okay, a little slow. It is a very pricey place however and I would say there are plenty of other restaurants on the island that have great food for less. When I made the reservation I had made a request to sit at a table facing the ocean. We arrived early and there were two such tables available, however the staff made no effort to seat us there and instead gave them to two other couples, one who arrived after we did. So for the average service and awful customer service, I'd say skip it unless you have money to blow.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seana1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing