We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly fish restaurant.”

Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks
Reserve with OpenTable
Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 290 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Alii Drive
Description: Fish Hopper - Kailua-Kona * Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean at The Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks, overlooking Kailua Bay on the Big Island Hawaii. Enjoy fresh Big Island and seafood flown in weekly from California. Our bar serves up signature Bucket of Fire and Volcano flaming drinks and is the perfect oceanfront location to gather with friends for Happy Hour. We are within walking distance to shops and historic sites. A landmark (formerly the Ocean View Inn) and a local favorite Kona restaurant since 1934. The Fish Hopper has been beautifully restored to expand upon its spectacular ocean views. We proudly serve seafood from sustainable sources, harvested by methods that do not harm the environment. Open daily from 730am-930pm.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly fish restaurant.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Right on the seafront near the top end of the promenade this restaurant has tables on the balcony with great views of the sunset and the ocean.
There is a wide selection on the menu with daily specials depending on the catch that day. The staff are very friendly and we got good service. Busy around sunset but the food is just as good later.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,398
    903
    323
    105
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramona, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Breakfst, Lunch or Dinner?”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

While looking for a spot for a late breakfast, we tried the Fish Hopper at the north end of town. I had breakfast and my wife had lunch. My omelet was great and my wife said her sea food salad was also. It wasn't too busy when we came in, but by the time we left the lunch crowd started to fill the place - many were locals. Service was good, attentive without being a pest. I would recommend giving it a try -- there are a number of places to eat in town. It is open air dining with a great view of the harbor. We never got to try it for dinner -- it was packed the night we tried and went elsewhere due to the wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food Service & Food”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have been going to Fish Hopper for years - Atmosphere is exceptional and so is the decor. Always clean and comfortable seating, and the staff is always friendly. The food comes out fresh and is presented well. Ample parking in back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KonaKawika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice view...only!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had dinner here a couple of weeks ago. We should have guessed it's standard by comparing the number of diners packing a nearby restaurant, with this one - both with great water views. We were disappointed by the lacklustre service - hardly noticing us when we arrived, but even less impressed when our meals arrived. My wife's burger was burnt underneath, while my veal was swimming in a watery sauce which appeared to come from vegetables which hadn't been properly drained. Would look elsewhere unless desperate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Archie700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, great view”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We originally tried this restaurant for lunch because it was across the street from the hotel. We ended up back for dinner the next night. The food was fresh, delicious and attractively served. I liked that they had the specials displayed so I could get an idea of portion size (enough to share). For dinner with another couple, we ordered 4 different entrees and asked to have them served family style so we could share. Our server was happy to do that. During both meals, the manager Joel came to our table to check on us. The only reason I didn't give this restaurant 5 stars is that it's not exotic or elegant. But what is in Hawaii? However, we had nothing but praise for our experiences there. It's fun to sit at the large open windows and watch and hear the waves crashing across the way. We will definitely return on our next visit to the Big Island.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing