We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and casual” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks

Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks
Reserve with OpenTable
Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 283 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Alii Drive
Description: Fish Hopper - Kailua-Kona * Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean at The Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks, overlooking Kailua Bay on the Big Island Hawaii. Enjoy fresh Big Island and seafood flown in weekly from California. Our bar serves up signature Bucket of Fire and Volcano flaming drinks and is the perfect oceanfront location to gather with friends for Happy Hour. We are within walking distance to shops and historic sites. A landmark (formerly the Ocean View Inn) and a local favorite Kona restaurant since 1934. The Fish Hopper has been beautifully restored to expand upon its spectacular ocean views. We proudly serve seafood from sustainable sources, harvested by methods that do not harm the environment. Open daily from 730am-930pm.
bedford, ma
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable and casual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Not crowded at all on a Thursday night, food was good, didn't rush our party of seven so we enjoyed a leisurely dinner. Ask for the Kama'aina (local) menu; it has specials and better pricing than the regular menu.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank camp_boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,276
    815
    300
    101
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Post Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
632 reviews
403 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Wow. We really liked this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

A couple of the guide books rip this place. Ignore them. I've been doing this for awhile and I hope by now readers know I don't write about a place if I don't like it. We had several breakfast her, and two dinners including my birthday dinner. The fish and the sides were excellent. Drinks were just right and the view terrific. Service can be iffy but its Hawaii where everybody wants to talk to the server about the area. Relax have a drink, and wait for some really good food while enjoying a terrif view.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank wdlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The second story open air restaurant has a beautiful view and excellent service. The island bar drinks were delicious as well as the salads we ordered. The ribeye steak was excellent, cooked perfectly to order. Two of us ordered the Asian BBQ ribs and they tasted like reheated meat which we did not enjoy. I probably would not return to this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lodigirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Kona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a lovely evening we had here, overlooking the Kona Bay, great food, amazing drinks and terrific service. (I can't believe there was a negative review on the opening page of Tripadvisor here as we loved our evening at Fish Hopper). We had walked passed the restaurant and it looked nice, so we popped in - no reservation; it was happy hour and we were invited to sit at our table overlooking the sea (over the road) instead of drinking at the bar which is customary at this time.
Olaf the waiter gave us friendly, courteous and efficient service with gracious humour, all night, without being pushy - and the management were likewise attentive without being obtrusive. They were terrific folk.
We started with cocktails! A mai tai each; then we saw on the drinks menu the "bucket of fire" - supposedly for three (we convinced them we were responsible drinkers and they let the two of us share it!) a huge glass fish-bowl of vodka, rum, gin, cherry brandy topped with "flaming 151" - in a sugar cube. It was enormous and came with two long straws - but there was a good amount of ice in it so we were still capable of enjoying the food.
THe meal: I don't recall the details of the chowder (except that I enjoyed it!) - this thick fishy soup is something to behold in Hawaii (when done well); the coco shrimp appertiser the bloke had was good. For mains (they call them entrees) he had the filet mignon - a round, fat, perfectly cooked piece of tasty, tender steak with a mound of tasty mash, and a delicious vegetable concoction on the side - (we suspect Americans aren't usually fond of veges as most meals elsewhere we had concentrated on meat and fried carbs, so this was a nice surprise). My meal was, however, delicious. Having had mahi in Bali, and loved it, I was disappointed at the mahi I had several times elsewhere in Hawaii (and was about to give up ordering it) - but the mahi risotto at the Fish Hopper was simply superb. Well cooked, flakey, tasty and soft, full flavoured and the risotto had a tasty creaminess to it - with some nice wilted greens (veges again!) topped with two large prawns (shrimps sorry!) Very filling, delicious and no complaints at all. We had no room for dessert. We would recommend this restaurant, heartily, to anyone - it was delicious and good value. All up, with drinks and all food for two, we spent only $110 - now that's a fabulous thing for such a great memorable night. If we are back in Kona we'll be back to Fish Hoppers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry20326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great view good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Great fresh seafood! Had 5 in our party and never heard one complaint! Service was great! Next time I'm in kona ill go back to the fish hopper

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jknisley23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing