We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawaiian Delight”

Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks
Reserve with OpenTable
Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 290 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Alii Drive
Description: Fish Hopper - Kailua-Kona * Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean at The Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks, overlooking Kailua Bay on the Big Island Hawaii. Enjoy fresh Big Island and seafood flown in weekly from California. Our bar serves up signature Bucket of Fire and Volcano flaming drinks and is the perfect oceanfront location to gather with friends for Happy Hour. We are within walking distance to shops and historic sites. A landmark (formerly the Ocean View Inn) and a local favorite Kona restaurant since 1934. The Fish Hopper has been beautifully restored to expand upon its spectacular ocean views. We proudly serve seafood from sustainable sources, harvested by methods that do not harm the environment. Open daily from 730am-930pm.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hawaiian Delight”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

A very good, fresh dinner served with expertise, flair & attention. The manager graciuosly accepted our compliments for the fantastic meal & mentioned that the chef & the pastry chef were his sons. A hard to find combination of culinary excellance all in one family...the deserts were amazing! The absolute best key lime pie & cocoanut cake on the island!!

It's hard to explain how such a popular vacation destination has so many really marginal restaurants, but if you decide on this one, you will come away completely satisfied & you don't need to break the bank either.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tevye11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,398
    903
    323
    105
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colfax, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just an all around great restaurant. We had a great breakfast and a couple of days later a wonderful dinner. The staff is well trained, friendly, and knowledgeable. We ate here in 2010 also and had the same fantastic experience. Anyone going to Kailua-Kona should make it a point to eat there at least once. There is a lot of great food in this area and this place is hands down one of the best.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobW238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places in Kailua-Kona”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have always been pleased with this place and enjoy the variety of fresh fish on the menu. I travel all over the country and this is right up there with some of the best seafood restaurants (we're not talking Red Lobster) I have eaten at.

Service is usually quick and friendly. I would avoid the very busy times because like all full restaurants you may not get the service you desire. There are always two or three specials which are always presented well and offer some interesting choices to an already fine menu.

For two entrees, salad a bottle of wine and dessert, expect about $150 with tip. This is not something we can afford to do every night, but knowing the food is always good and fresh, its worth it for a nice treat when visiting the Big Island.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldirish33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always good food”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We try to visit the Fish Hopper at least once when we come to Kona. The food this time didn't disappoint. I had the Kalua pork and cabbage and it was wonderful. My husband had the Mahi and reported that it too was wonderful. The service was quick and super friendly. We highly recommend giving it a try

Helpful?
Thank AlohaLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fish Hopper lunch”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Our first time dining at Fish Hopper. Nice views of the harbor. Good service and friendly waitstaff. I had clam chowder which was very tasty. We both had fish and chips and substituted cole slaw for the fries. Fish was good and cole slaw very good with the addition of small chunks of sweet pineapple. Good portions

Worth a try.

Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing