We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and the seafood was delicious.”

Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks
Reserve with OpenTable
Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 285 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Alii Drive
Description: Fish Hopper - Kailua-Kona * Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean at The Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks, overlooking Kailua Bay on the Big Island Hawaii. Enjoy fresh Big Island and seafood flown in weekly from California. Our bar serves up signature Bucket of Fire and Volcano flaming drinks and is the perfect oceanfront location to gather with friends for Happy Hour. We are within walking distance to shops and historic sites. A landmark (formerly the Ocean View Inn) and a local favorite Kona restaurant since 1934. The Fish Hopper has been beautifully restored to expand upon its spectacular ocean views. We proudly serve seafood from sustainable sources, harvested by methods that do not harm the environment. Open daily from 730am-930pm.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
406 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great view and the seafood was delicious.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The view of the seawall and the boat ramp area is a very pleasant dining experience. Being on Alii Drive some peoplemight think this is a touristy type place but they would be wrong. The selection ofseafood was excellent, the food was prepared well and presented beautifully. The prices were in line for a seafood restaurant. Very good wine and beer list. Very good swafood restaurant in Kailua Kona.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,309
    838
    302
    101
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fourth Strike... You're OUT!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

PROS: Wonderful ocean view!

CONS: The food!
++++++++++++++++++++++++

Our personal opinion is: DO NOT order any fish here! While waiting for our cheque, the Wifey barely made it to the Ladies' Room... could barely get her shorts down in time. 2nd explosion was less than a block away. I had my fair share of the trots, starting 30 minutes later. Might be a great place if you just want a beer or straight liquor, as the view is pretty darn hard to beat. That being said, we are residents who have given this place several disappointing tries, and will NEVER return, nor recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Indiana
Level Contributor
331 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The location is great, wonderful view. The breakfast was wonderful, ate here a few times for breakfast. Would recommend it to everyone. Prices were very reasonable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tagent22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, open windows with view of the ocean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stopped in for a late lunch after 3pm. After sitting at our table across from the hostess stand and ordering our drinks, we overheard the host talking on the phone telling the caller that there was a happy hour at the bar from 3-6pm. I was disappointed that he did not mention this to us and give us this option before seating us. After we asked him about it, he said our server would take care of us which we thought meant she would give us the drink discount. When we got the bill she did not give us the discount. Not a big deal but it would have been appreciated. The food itself was pretty good. I ordered the crab quesedilla but when it came out it was only a cheese quesedilla. The server was embarrassed and brought the correct order as quickly as possible. It would have been nice if she offered a discount or a free dessert since I had to eat my meal after everyone else in my party but I decided not to ask. I would say that the food is good and tasty and the service is just ok. The atmosphere is nice. We sat by the window where we could look out at the ocean and the people in the streets where there was a street market. Apparently they close a good portion of the road every 3rd Sunday of the month and have street vendors selling local Hawaiian goodies.

Helpful?
Thank Jenn-Pickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Recommended to eat here by a local, we had lunch here twice - both times food was just fantastic - beautifully presented as well as delicious - and the best clam chowder we have ever eaten (saying a lot from a New Englander!). Reasonable prices to boot!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lawonridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing