We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveler rating
281
221
45
12
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
221
45
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk free breakfast hi express the breakfast area yogurt reading lights king suite guest laundry perfect hotel small gym sitting area clean hotel parking pass hotel parking ali'i drive shops and restaurants one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 572 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2018

Good location. Room decent size with fridge with freezer compartment so you can freeze icepaks. Best computer desk area I have seen. Plumbing is wrong on wet bar sink. Hot and cold water reversed so you get hot water when you turn on the cold in room 319. Breakfast ok but you have to watch out for the little birds because breakfast area is in open patio area. Friendly helpful staff but there is no bell to ring when the staff is away from front desk. Have to pay for parking but that is because they have 24 hrs security for the hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank dragon428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018


Holiday Inn Express, Kailua Kona
We stayed here for three nights from 20 to 23 May 18. It was one of the best stay during our two months’ tour.
Very good location. Very close to everything, but not on the main road. ABC store/ good restaurants of different cuisine are all within 2 to 10 minutes walk. Practically all amenities within walking distance. Airport shuttle not available.
But the best about the hotel is the staff who are always ready to help the guest. When we entered the hotel after a very long flight, the smile and the helping attitude of the lady at the front desk at that time (Sala) were awesome. In fact all the staff were extremely helpful always.
Room was very spacious. Beds very comfortable. Toiletries very good. Additional coffee/tea provided in the room if required. Service extremely good at all times. They were so good that if you ask for one item, they would give you five items.
Breakfast spread was ok. A little more variety will be better. Generally breakfast items finish off around thirty minutes prior closing time. Of course the staff tries to bring something. 24 hrs coffee available at the lobby.
Smoking is outside the hotel. Sitting arrangements with music make the smoking really pleasurable.
Wi-Fi available all over the hotel including room.
It has a decent gym and a small pool.
We will positively stay here if we return to Kona

Date of stay: May 2018
1  Thank cbkrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

What a great little place. Great location a block from the water. Nice little pool area with jacuzzi. Great little free breakfast in the morning. Rooms are spacious and has everything you need including microwave and fridge.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank scottgA8147YD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018 via mobile

We spent our first night in Hawaii at the Holiday Inn Express. It was not far from airport and easy to get to. The location is great. Lots of restaurants,bars and shops within walking distance. The room was really spacious and clean. Would definitely stay again. I would consider it a good overall value. It’s not the cheapest hotel in Kona but it sure isn’t the most expensive.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Mpressive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

Loved the location - you can walk all over! Very clean, friendly and great free breakfast. Will totally stay again. Loved the beachy feel of the area. The Big Island was our favorite and Kona was a perfect location.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews