We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good But Expensive”

Kenichi Pacific Sushi & Pacific Rim
Ranked #80 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Kamehameha III
Transit: Keauhou shuttle It's new, Open-Air 44seat trolley type shuttle. Between Keauhou and Kailua town eight times aday.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Good But Expensive”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Came here as we were craving sushi and heard good things about the restaurant. The service was terrific and the food was indeed good, but quite pricey in comparison to other local restaurants. A surprise was their Macadamia Crusted Lamb Chops - one wouldn't expect this in a Japanese restaurant, but one of our group ordered it, and it was absolutely delicious. The mall location isn't spectacular but comfortable and relatively quiet in the evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    60
    33
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A MUST!!!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Okay, Kenichi is one of my all time favorite Japanese restaurant - ANYWHERE! The food is delicious and plentiful. Everything from our edamame to our sashimi to my mom's "spaghetti" (which I would HIGHLY recommend - the wafu kinoko pasta) to the duck confit to our tenderloin carpaccio to the mac nut crusted lamb was so delicious that my mouth is watering just thinking about it! And I know YOURS IS TOO!

Yes, the prices are that of a typical Japanese restaurant, but seriously, one of the best Japanese restaurants I've ever experienced. I love this place, and have been back 3 times. The service is really good as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeezPulelehua27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Count on it”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This restaurant is a survivor. It has been here for years because it does a very good job. It is somewhat pricy but you are assured of a good Jappanese meal and good service. It is in a mall so not much atmosphere but the interior is elegant enough.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yum Yum Yum”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had dinner here during Spring break and the food was fabulous, as was the staff. Our youngest is not a sushi fan but he had incredible "fried chicken" and lamb, both really delicious. Our 16 year old had a bowl of Miso soup which I usually find intensely boring but these folks offered it with clams... simple addition and totally changed the soup. Now I am trying to get my local places to offer this option! The rest of the food was fresh and tasty and the staff really knew the menu and had a great sense of what worked with what. The location isn't anything special though the interior has an urban hip vibe. Nothing in the Kona area is cheap but I really felt like I got my money's worth here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoxil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome food and superb service!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We loved the ambience here with the water lights on the wall. Our waiter (Michael) was the best...he kept our sake/beer poured and was attentive to every detail. He had excellent recommendations too. The Kenichi roll was delicious - order the real wasabi (worth the price) for your sushi - hard to find and reaaallllly good. The sunomono salad was fresh and tastey - not too pickled like some. We ate way too much and had a great time there. Want to go back -

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kdhillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenichi Pacific Sushi & Pacific Rim also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kenichi Pacific Sushi & Pacific Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing