We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting fish”

Kenichi Pacific Sushi & Pacific Rim
Ranked #77 of 285 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Kamehameha III
Transit: Keauhou shuttle It's new, Open-Air 44seat trolley type shuttle. Between Keauhou and Kailua town eight times aday.
New York
Level Contributor
307 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Interesting fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This restaurant is in a small shopping center, near the main road and many of the nice condo complexes located a few miles south of the town of Kona. It is very popular for its happy hour, because appetizers as well as drinks are at a reduced price. The appetizers are good. Local fish is fresh and prepared fairly well. It was my first experience having ono, a very light, non oily, white fish. It was okay at this restaurant, but I did have it better prepared in other restaurants as our trip progressed. It is a pleasant place to eat. Outdoor seating, is outside the restaurant, but inside the mall area. Main dishes will cost around $30.

Again, whether eating out or shopping at the market, all food is extraordinarily expensive. If trying to save on eating out on this side of the island, your best bet are the sandwich plates at the cafes/bar restaurants in the town of Kona. They can be generous and cost under $20 each.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PokeyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    59
    32
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great seafood and sushi in keahou”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Happy hour 5-6:30 sushi is half price and it is awesome. Seafood dinners also awesome, I had the Ono plate.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Khayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I ate there twice and the food and service were both fantastic. The first night we had the fish of the day, Black Cod, a must have it was great. The second night was more appetizers and they were great and almost full meal themselves. If you have not been to Kenichi's you have to go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best overall meal on the Big Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We ate many good things on this trip, but Kenichi was the best complete meal we had on the island. The food was excellent, the service was on par and the prices were very reasonable. We found Kenichi 1/2 by accident and 1/2 by recommendation. Our waiter, Michael, was personable, helped guide us through the menu and pointed out some dishes to try. He also didn't push us to over order or pad the bill by suggesting a super expensive bottle of sake, in fact it was the opposite, he showed us one of the cheaper options. The whole meal was really delicious. If Kenichi NYC opened, I'd be the first in line for a reservation. The must order is the crab cake.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GramercyGirlNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food high prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We had some very good sashimi and sushi. Salads were good too. But $16 for 6 small pieces of sashimi just seems a little steep the place is in a shopping center so no views either. If you want some good sushi and don't mind the prices then go for it, you will not be disappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Altaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenichi Pacific Sushi & Pacific Rim also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kenichi Pacific Sushi & Pacific Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing