We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A RUSH”

Paradise Helicopters - KONA
Book In Advance
More Info
$539.00*
and up
Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona
More Info
$685.00*
and up
Viator VIP: The Sunset Experience Helicopter Tour from Kona
More Info
$639.00*
and up
Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island
Ranked #26 of 199 Tours in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Paradise Helicopters - Hawaii's Most Unique Helicopter Experience! Enjoy the Hawaii few people ever witness on our one-of-a-kind air adventures departing out of Kona & Hilo on Hawaii Island, Lanai and Oahu. Whether flying Doors-Off over the volcano to feel the heat of the lava, hovering beside a 2000 foot waterfall, landing for stunning views on an epic ridge top, or photographing the remote beauty of Hawaii’s rare rain forest valleys, black and GREEN sand beaches – our Hawaiian helicopter tours offer a diverse set of adventure options to suit every need! This is one flight you will be sure to remember for a lifetime.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Rancho PV, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WHAT A RUSH”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Something I have always wanted to do is ride in a helicopter. We read reviews and settled on Paradise "Doors off" helicopter ride over the volcano in Kona. Our family of four was flown by Zack - who happens to be a Seattle Seahawks fan and since we are from Los Angeles and without a pro-football team, we tormented him mercilessly. He is a great sport and soon realized he could teaze us too.

Anyway, the ride - it was AWESOME. You MUST do the doors off. I don't like heights but the way they strap you in and prep you made me feel very comfy. My wife and I sat in the back where it was very windy so don't plan on carrying on a conversation, even with the headphones and mic because mostly all anyone hears is wind. Even when Zack put the ship into a tight turn over my side it was fun and GREAT for pics. The volcano wasn't flowing but Zack managed to find some places where it was bubbling up and boy is the air warm over the volcano. The view are spectacular, the aircraft was beautiful, the staff we can not say enough nice things about them. They were entertaining, and very fun to hang out with while we waited for the helicopter to get checked out.

We had a GREAT time and recommend Paradise to EVERYONE!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RichRanchoPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robparadise, Manager at Paradise Helicopters - KONA, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you so much for flying with us and taking the time to write a review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the flight despite your hesitation about heights. All of our pilots and crew try to keep the atmosphere lively and enjoyable, and of course the volcano does the rest! We hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    716
    79
    28
    13
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely Incredible Experience”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I visited Kailua-Kona at the end of September, beginning of October 2013. We booked an the "Fly and Zip" tour with Paradise Helicopters and their partners at KapohoKine Adventures. This is the most amazing experience of my life and my wife has said the same. The scenery is simply breath-taking from takeoff to touchdown. To give you an idea of how the tour works from the Kona side of the island, we met at the Paradise location on/near airport at Kona International. We were greeted by Christine from Paradise who was very warm and welcoming, down to Earth and showed a true appreciation for us a customers and guests of "her island". We were quickly introduced to our pilot, Pete, who like Christine is very down to Earth, witty, funny and professional. The ground crew was just as courteous and professional.
Now the flight - We liftoff from Kona and piped through our headset we hear great music when we are not interacting with Pete or each other. We soon find that Pete has done a masterful job at clipping and mixing music in accordance to the sites we are approaching or departing. Each matches the scenery to a tee. We are soon over the volcanos, lava flows and great scenery from the Southern portion of the Island. After 50 minutes of flying we land at Hilo Intl. where again we are greeted by a great ground crew who escorts us to our awaiting shuttle for the Zip adventure.
After Zipping we are returned to Hilo Intl. where Pete has the chopper warm and ready. As we take off we head North out of Hilo toward the Waipio Valley. Again, Pete has treated us to some of the most impressive scenery on Earth as we enter the valleys and see the sea cliffs and waterfalls that are over 1500 feet high. The natural beauty of this area is hard to describe because it is so expansive and vast. To add to the scenery Pete again has perfectly timed clips of music to match the scenery in front of us.
The Zipping – We are shuttled from the airport to the KapohoKine storefront in Hilo. There we are greeted by a great staff and Brandon is our shuttle driver for the 20 minute drive to the Zip lines. Brandon provided great humor and wit as he described the scenery and landmarks along the way to the Zip lines. As we arrive at the Zip Lines we were greeted by our instructors Sam, Matt, and Alex. These three are some of the most professional people I have ever met and are very safety conscious in everything they do. We go through our safety briefing and the staff puts everyone at ease as we embark on the 8 line adventure. Oh what an adventure it was. It starts out slow enough on the first 2 “bunny lines” and then the scenery and intensity of the lines picks up. Again, you are seeing some of the most beautiful scenery on the island that is difficult to access other than by air or Zip line. The safety of the adventure was paramount to our instructors but the view and the thrill was incredible.
Thanks for the time of our lives….. Jeff and Nancy!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseTeam, Manager at Paradise Helicopters - KONA, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind and detailed review!!! We're happy to hear that this experience stands out as one of the best in your traveling endeavors. If you are ever on the Big Island, or Oahu again, don't hesitate to stop by and say hello...and have a cup of coffee on us!

Aloha and Mahalo,
Team Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Don't expect lava fountains”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

There was nothing wrong with this helicopter ride, but I had just expected the "continuously erupting" description of the volcano to mean lava bubbling out of the ground like the fountains that you see on video clips. Turns out that that type of eruption hasn't happened since 2011. So what you see now is some barely orange, barely moving lava sort of oozing out of the ground. Still sort of cool, because it is lava, but a little disappointing frankly. When we paid $240 per ticket (wow! A lot of money for 45 minutes) we just expected something a little more wow'ing. As is, you see lava fields, the vaguely orange, vaguely moving ooze, and a reasonable view of waterfalls. We did the "no doors" trip with 4 people per trip, which was nice - not scary. The helicopter goes more slowly than I had expected, so it was tame rather than thrilling, but nice. The pilot made sure both sides got to see the ooze. All in all, a neat thing to do, but I can't recommend it for the money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer2662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant flight on perfect day”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Had an amazing trip with these guys taki g us over the volcanos and on to the valleys up north where we landed to take in the views. Well organized arrival, great staff, great pilot (Darren) and with 5 people I think everyone enjoyed the sights. Not cheap but worth every cent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank brookie0871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome views of the island, valleys and volcanoes!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Pilot Darron took me and my wife on an awesome tour of the big island. Lava was flowing so it was definitely worth the money. When else are you going to see lava?! Views of the valley on the north coast were thrilling, with Darron taking us in valleys and over ridges as close to land as you'd want to get. 5 people in the back was a little crowded if the other passengers are on the large side, which is what we encountered, but other than that everything was excellent. Did it with a combo zip tour in Hilo with KapohoKine Zipline, which was also excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaptnCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Helicopters - KONA also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Paradise Helicopters - KONA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing