We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome views of the island, valleys and volcanoes!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Helicopters - KONA

Paradise Helicopters - KONA
Book In Advance
More Info
$299.00*
and up
Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight
Ranked #24 of 198 Tours in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Paradise Helicopters - Hawaii's Most Unique Helicopter Experience! Enjoy the Hawaii few people ever witness on our one-of-a-kind air adventures departing out of Kona & Hilo on Hawaii Island, Lanai and Oahu. Whether flying Doors-Off over the volcano to feel the heat of the lava, hovering beside a 2000 foot waterfall, landing for stunning views on an epic ridge top, or photographing the remote beauty of Hawaii’s rare rain forest valleys, black and GREEN sand beaches – our Hawaiian helicopter tours offer a diverse set of adventure options to suit every need! This is one flight you will be sure to remember for a lifetime.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome views of the island, valleys and volcanoes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Pilot Darron took me and my wife on an awesome tour of the big island. Lava was flowing so it was definitely worth the money. When else are you going to see lava?! Views of the valley on the north coast were thrilling, with Darron taking us in valleys and over ridges as close to land as you'd want to get. 5 people in the back was a little crowded if the other passengers are on the large side, which is what we encountered, but other than that everything was excellent. Did it with a combo zip tour in Hilo with KapohoKine Zipline, which was also excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaptnCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    75
    23
    12
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
256 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“very scenic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Helicopter flights are not cheap any where in the world and this two trip was expensive but not over priced.The trip around the island took in some amazing scenery that can only be accessed by the a helicopter.
WE were squeezed in with 4 others with me facing backwards for two hours.this limits your viewing and just about impossible to get good camera shots.
The pilot was their best and just clocked up 10000 hrs.He is no doubt he a good pilot but as tour guide thumbs down.he spoke to softly even with the headset turned up and his accent made to commentary very hard to understand.I think they should get a lot closer to the lava

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kruuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Best of Oahu Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I did a helicopter tour on our first day in Hawaii. I wasn't quite sure what to expect and was very pleasantly surprised! The tour was fantastic and our tour guide was great. The tour was a bit expensive, but totally worth it. There are great views of the island that can't be seen without the helicopter tour, such as the Sacred Falls.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LHoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“The best every!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had the best day every. Spent the morning flying over the waterfalls, 1/2 day in Hilo and the afternoon over the lava flows. We were lucky enough to see some lava coming down the mountain...which is not always flowing. There are restrictions over the volcano's so don't expect to fly close to the open tube. If you go, ask to fly with Danny. Great personality and very knowledgeable about the area's that he flies over. Well worth the flight.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 899Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TXWORLDTRAVEL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kona Helicopter Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Took the 2hr tour of the entire island out of Kona airport with our own group of 6; absolutely amazing. Our guide (former military pilot (Kalet) was extremely knowledgable and friendly with us --- answered all of our innane questions whilst instilling interesting tidbits of information. As I recall, he is a Hawaiian by birth which was a nice addition as he could shed some light from the historical perspective --- awesome guy! Would do this again for certain.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TXWORLDTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Helicopters - KONA also viewed

 

Been to Paradise Helicopters - KONA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing