We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Paradise Helicopters - KONA
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$299.00*
and up
Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight
Ranked #25 of 201 Tours in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Paradise Helicopters - Hawaii's Most Unique Helicopter Experience! Enjoy the Hawaii few people ever witness on our one-of-a-kind air adventures departing out of Kona & Hilo on Hawaii Island, Lanai and Oahu. Whether flying Doors-Off over the volcano to feel the heat of the lava, hovering beside a 2000 foot waterfall, landing for stunning views on an epic ridge top, or photographing the remote beauty of Hawaii’s rare rain forest valleys, black and GREEN sand beaches – our Hawaiian helicopter tours offer a diverse set of adventure options to suit every need! This is one flight you will be sure to remember for a lifetime.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

If there is one thing you do while on the island, this is it! We took the 3 hour Valley Landing trip which was amazing. We saw some incredible scenery while flying through sun, mist, clouds, rain and smoke from the volcano. Yes, we saw lava both in the crater and as it entered the sea, but my favorite was the waterfall valleys- so beautiful. Our pilot was very knowledgeable about the area and I was very impressed with the pre safety presentation before starting out. My only suggestion is not to pay the extra to secure a particular seat as the views are great from all seats. Our 11 year old son sat in the middle and loved it cause he could see both sides. The pilot also changed direction to give all passengers the best views. Thanks for an experience I shall not forget.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Review_Meisteress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robparadise, Director of Business Development at Paradise Helicopters - KONA, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to fly with us! Its great to hear that you enjoyed your air adventure, especially the valley portion. Our guests often point it out as their favorite part of the tour. We also appreciate your comment on our seating. The great viewing angle from each seat is the reason we chose the Bell 407. We appreciate your positive feedback and hope to see you again on a future flight.
mahalo,
rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    77
    27
    13
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“As Good As It Gets”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was a first rate tour. The entire ground crew and pilot, Kalei, were terrific. We saw things that one could never see from the ground, and covered the island in two hours as opposed to days in a car. This was well worth the cost, and a must-do while on the island.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robparadise, Director of Business Development at Paradise Helicopters - KONA, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your experience here.
We are constantly working with our staff to insure that all our guests will have a great interaction and overall experience.
As mentioned in numerous responses w understand that a helicopter Air Adventure is not cheap and should be "well worth the cost" and "as good as it gets".
We appreciate that you chose us !
mahalo,
rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“2 hour Big Island Helicopter tour with pilot, Dan, USMC Veteran”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

FANTASTIC! Flew through active volcano, We saw the open lava filled crater of Kilauea, red hot lava flowing into the ocean. Also so many many coffee fields. We then flew up to the Waipi'o Valley -INCREDIBLE. Dan, the pilot, maneuvered the helicopter with perfection, saw many many waterfalls, thousands of feet tall. Dan was funny, as well as very knowledgeable about what we were seeing and experiencing. He flew with perfection, and I always felt very safe. It was truly flying through a paradise! The Coastlines-absolutely beautiful! In beginning the tour, we were very warmly greeted, all employees were warm and funny and everyone thanked us for flying with them. At first thinking this trip was kind of pricey, but it well worth every $$ spent. This is one excursion that should absolutely be taken while visiting the Big Island! Paradise Helicopters-OUTSTANDING!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank msbrown06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robparadise, Director of Business Development at Paradise Helicopters - KONA, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to fly with us. We are blessed with many USMC veterans including our owner. At present count we are probably up to 8 or 9. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with Danny. Its easy to see that he loves what he does. We appreciate your comment that it was "worth every $$ spent". We know that a helicopter tour is not cheap and work hard to provide a great value and experience. Thank you for the positive review!
mahalo,
rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“THE company to fly with!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

In addition to scouring reviews (I'm sure you're wondering if you should go with Paradise or Blue Hawaiian), Paradise was also highly recommended by our hotel, The Four Seasons Hualalai.

Everything from start to finish was great with Paradise. I spoke with their offices the week before about weather and the differences between the tours - office personnel were very knowledgeable and friendly. Office and ground crew were great, our pilot was AMAZING! It was my husband's 40th birthday and he was lucky enough to get seated next the pilot in front.

We did the Valley Landing trip which was amazing. I felt safe the entire time and everyone was given ample time to see everything from both sides of the chopper. Seeing flowing lava (at the crater and ocean) was a lifetime experience.

The entire trip was perfect and I highly recommend Paradise!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robparadise, Director of Business Development at Paradise Helicopters - KONA, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to fly with us, especially after all of your research. It is important to us that each and every guest has a wonderful air adventure; we realize that a helicopter tour is often a once in a lifetime experience. We appreciate you sharing your review here and hope to see you on a future visit to the Big Island.
mahalo,
rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great flight/Lava View/Beautiful valley”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just got back from a cross-island flight from Kona. Weather was good most of the way. The pilot, Koji was superb! He maneuvered that helicopter with amazing skill making us all feel perfectly safe. We saw the open lava filled crater of Kilauea as well as Pu'u O'o crater. I saw lava flowing into the ocean. Koji insured all of us got perfect views by flying back and forth so both sides of the copter had an opportunity to take pictures. It could not have been better!
We then headed up the coast to the Waipi'o Valley and some breathtaking sights. Again, Koji made sure he turned the copter around several times to give everyone multiple views of waterfalls and the length of the valley. Here his skills were on full display, and I was very glad they were!
This was the highlight of my trip. An unforgettable ride to the most incredible sights with the best
of pilots . Two thumbs way up!
Chris Knowles, NY

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShannonIrishGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robparadise, Director of Business Development at Paradise Helicopters - KONA, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha Chris,
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with Koji. He has already surpassed the 10,000 hour flight mark which is quite an accomplishment for any pilot. It sounds like you took our Hawai'i Experience air adventure which highlights the helicopter's maneuverability. Thank you for sharing your positive review here. Please come back and see us again soon!
mahalo,
rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Helicopters - KONA also viewed

 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Paradise Helicopters - KONA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing