We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY BREATHTAKING”

Paradise Helicopters - KONA
Book In Advance
More Info
$539.00*
and up
Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona
More Info
$639.00*
and up
Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island
More Info
$685.00*
and up
Viator VIP: The Sunset Experience Helicopter Tour from Kona
Ranked #26 of 200 Tours in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Paradise Helicopters - Hawaii's Most Unique Helicopter Experience! Enjoy the Hawaii few people ever witness on our one-of-a-kind air adventures departing out of Kona & Hilo on Hawaii Island, Lanai and Oahu. Whether flying Doors-Off over the volcano to feel the heat of the lava, hovering beside a 2000 foot waterfall, landing for stunning views on an epic ridge top, or photographing the remote beauty of Hawaii’s rare rain forest valleys, black and GREEN sand beaches – our Hawaiian helicopter tours offer a diverse set of adventure options to suit every need! This is one flight you will be sure to remember for a lifetime.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Jesse was our pilot, he was very informative. He made sure that both sides of the helicopter could see everthing. Even though not garenteed cause we cant predict mother nature, we were able to watch molten lava enter the ocean, we seen several volcanos, hundreds of waterfalls, one 2,000 ft. which he was able to get very close to. I would reccomend this place over any other.

1  Thank COZYMELMIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robparadise, Director of Business Development at Paradise Helicopters - KONA, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Aloha,
We are glad that you enjoyed the Volcano & Valley Landing tour. We enjoy the ability to share the different parts of our beautiful island with others.
We are glad that you liked the waterfalls, they are very beautiful.
Thank you for choosing us.
Mahalo,
rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

698 - 702 of 892 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

We did a lot of things in our recent trip to Hawaii. The two things I will always remember was the Arizona memorial and the Paradise helicopter tour. Hats off to out pilot Mark, he was very good.
You will see things only this tour will show you. We took the 2 hour tour with Valley landing and it was more than worth the price. You see lava flows, volcanoes, crashed WWII bomber and get a whole new perspective of the big island. We spotted whales on the way back to the heliport and our pilot Mark turned and let us get a little whale watching in as a bonus.

Thank Clarence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robparadise, Director of Business Development at Paradise Helicopters - KONA, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Aloha,
We are glad that you enjoyed the Volcano & Valley landing tour, it is a tour which is exclusive to Paradise, and we enjoy being able to show people the dichotomy between parts of the island.
We are always glad to have the privilege to share with people our beautiful island, and the interesting places which you can see on it.
Mahalo,
rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We took the 3 hour Volcano and Valley Landing tour, Marco is a great pilot, Renee was great booking the tour at our orientation, and the people at the airport office were nice. We saw everything that was promised and more, it was an experience of a lifetime I would do it again.

Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robparadise, Director of Business Development at Paradise Helicopters - KONA, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Aloha,
The Volcano & Valley tour is a Paradise exclusive, and we enjoy being able to take people to these locations, we are glad you liked the tour.
We are glad you had a good experience with our staff, and remembered their names, we will tell them that you enjoyed them.
Mahalo,
rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We did not see much it was way windy & cloudy.Nothing like the ad says,it may have been due to weather,Our trip should have been canceled due to weather by Paradise Helicopters.We prepaid.That was a waste of $500(and 2 other people rode with us $1000 for 4 people abord)) for seeing not much.We took the morning trip 2/20/2013 Very disappointed
Just say trees old harden lava,NO RED HOT LAVA,NO CRATER.
No waterfall as in add,just a brown river.
Rip off!!!

1  Thank JimmyBoyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robparadise, Director of Business Development at Paradise Helicopters - KONA, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Aloha,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your adventure with us. Thank you for speaking with me on the phone and allowing us to make amends. Hope to see you on a future visit.

mahalo,

rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We did the Volcano and Valley Landing on our first morning of the island, and it was a fabulous way to get acquainted with the island. Everyone gets a headset, so you can communicate with other passengers, but more importantly for me, the pilot can communicate with you. Our pilot was a great tour guide telling us where to look, what to see, and what to expect as he was flying around. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone that has the time; in fact, I already have recommended it to others I've met on the island!

I'd recommend shorts and a shirt, maybe a light cover-up if you get chilly easily. Sunglasses helped me. I found the ride to be smooth (maybe slightly bumpier than an airplane), but I don't get motion sickness. Should be good fun for people of any age; an elderly women on our flight needed a few helping hands to step in/out of the helicopter, but she managed just fine.

Thank BrettK569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robparadise, Director of Business Development at Paradise Helicopters - KONA, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for choosing us.
The Volcano & Valley landing is a Paradise exclusive, and we enjoy having the ability to take people to those locations.
Thanks for giving the tips, we try to give them to other customers, so that they can better enjoy the tour.
Mahalo,
rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Helicopters - KONA also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Paradise Helicopters - KONA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing