We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take your chance”

Paradise Helicopters - KONA
Book In Advance
More Info
$559.00*
and up
Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona
Ranked #24 of 208 Tours in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Paradise Helicopters - Hawaii's Most Unique Helicopter Experience! Enjoy the Hawaii few people ever witness on our one-of-a-kind air adventures departing out of Kona & Hilo on Hawaii Island, Lanai and Oahu. Whether flying Doors-Off over the volcano to feel the heat of the lava, hovering beside a 2000 foot waterfall, landing for stunning views on an epic ridge top, or photographing the remote beauty of Hawaii’s rare rain forest valleys, black and GREEN sand beaches – our Hawaiian helicopter tours offer a diverse set of adventure options to suit every need! This is one flight you will be sure to remember for a lifetime.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We did not see much it was way windy & cloudy.Nothing like the ad says,it may have been due to weather,Our trip should have been canceled due to weather by Paradise Helicopters.We prepaid.That was a waste of $500(and 2 other people rode with us $1000 for 4 people abord)) for seeing not much.We took the morning trip 2/20/2013 Very disappointed
Just say trees old harden lava,NO RED HOT LAVA,NO CRATER.
No waterfall as in add,just a brown river.
Rip off!!!

3  Thank JimmyBoyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robparadise, Director of Business Development at Paradise Helicopters - KONA, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Aloha,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your adventure with us. Thank you for speaking with me on the phone and allowing us to make amends. Hope to see you on a future visit.

mahalo,

rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"helicopter tour"
in 117 reviews
"both sides"
in 61 reviews
"ground crew"
in 35 reviews
"middle seat"
in 31 reviews
"lava flow"
in 63 reviews
"window seat"
in 31 reviews
"great pilot"
in 28 reviews
"active lava"
in 33 reviews
"open door"
in 15 reviews
"the big island"
in 201 reviews
"hilo airport"
in 25 reviews
"circle island"
in 12 reviews
"green sand beaches"
in 9 reviews
"blue hawaiian"
in 10 reviews
"experience hawaii"
in 13 reviews
"the entire island"
in 28 reviews
"ginger candy"
in 13 reviews
Filter

739 - 743 of 931 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

We did the Volcano and Valley Landing on our first morning of the island, and it was a fabulous way to get acquainted with the island. Everyone gets a headset, so you can communicate with other passengers, but more importantly for me, the pilot can communicate with you. Our pilot was a great tour guide telling us where to look, what to see, and what to expect as he was flying around. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone that has the time; in fact, I already have recommended it to others I've met on the island!

I'd recommend shorts and a shirt, maybe a light cover-up if you get chilly easily. Sunglasses helped me. I found the ride to be smooth (maybe slightly bumpier than an airplane), but I don't get motion sickness. Should be good fun for people of any age; an elderly women on our flight needed a few helping hands to step in/out of the helicopter, but she managed just fine.

Thank BrettK569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robparadise, Director of Business Development at Paradise Helicopters - KONA, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for choosing us.
The Volcano & Valley landing is a Paradise exclusive, and we enjoy having the ability to take people to those locations.
Thanks for giving the tips, we try to give them to other customers, so that they can better enjoy the tour.
Mahalo,
rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

First time in a helicopter for our family. Easy to book and pay online, great communication with the office, and amazing flight with Josh as our pilot. Absolutely worth the money. We saw more than we expected to and Josh did a fantastic job of explaining things and making sure everyone saw what he was talking about. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Thank Worradog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robparadise, Director of Business Development at Paradise Helicopters - KONA, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for choosing us.
We are glad that you found the website easy to use. We have revised it a few times with that purpose in mind. We also like your comment about the trip being worth the money - we want everyone to feel this way!
mahalo,
rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This morning, my wife and I did a 2 hour helicopter tour with Paradise Helicopters. This was not our first flight-seeing trip on the Big Island. Previously we had flown with Blue Hawaii and it was not nearly as good. Certainly luck played a big part in the trip with the weather clearing as we passed over key areas and there was exceptional lava to be seen. However, the pilot was very good and we really enjoyed his commentary. I highly recommend this tour. Not having been impressed with the previous experience, I was reluctant to spend the money for this flight. I had even talked my wife into going by herself and then changed my mind at the last minute.

The only negative was that my wife had a seat facing backward.

Many thanks for Shawn K. for his “Tips from an Experienced Hawaii Helicopter Tour Pilot” post on Trip Advisor. That led us to book with Paradise.

1  Thank Alors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robparadise, Director of Business Development at Paradise Helicopters - KONA, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for your excellent review!
First to address seating
For our Kona Flights we use a 6 passenger Bell 407.
What we like about the Bell is
Safety Record; Smooth Ride; Fuel Capacity (no need to stop for fuel while circling the island)
and Seating (5 out of 6 seats on a window - limousine style)
We have been flying the Bell(s) for over 10 years to mostly :) rave reviews
We do appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.
Thank you for choosing us and sharing your experience here.
mahalo,
rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I know this seems like a lot of money but you will see the entire Island. If we didn't do this we would not have seen the actual lava. The pilot was a wonderful guide. Four of us went and we are all so gald we did. Awesome.

1  Thank bcoySundanceWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robparadise, Director of Business Development at Paradise Helicopters - KONA, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Aloha,
Love the title "Spend the money it is worth it" :)
We know that everyone works hard for their money and precious vacation time.
We are committed to sharing a wonderful experience with every guest that chooses us.
SOOO glad that you enjoyed your Air Adventure with us.
Hope to see you on a future visit.
mahalo,
rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Helicopters - KONA also viewed

 

Been to Paradise Helicopters - KONA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing