We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, casual feel”

Huggo's On The Rocks
Ranked #20 of 290 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Opened in 1998 in the waterfront location adjacent to Huggo's fine dining restaurant, On the Rocks is a come as you are, kau kau (eat) great food with sand between your toes, kick back and enjoy great island entertainment center of fun on Hawaii Island. "After operating Huggo's restaurant for 18 years, we had the opportunity to purchase the vacant lot right next door and we jumped at it," Eric says. "The concept is what you see today - a casual bar and restaurant set literally on the rocks and sand of Kailua-Bay. Like many locals, we were tired of driving 20 miles or more up the coast to enjoy this sort of relaxed resort ambiance and decided to create just that right here in town."
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great location, casual feel”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

live music, cheap happy hour prices (on booze and food), friendly staff (bought us a round), always jammed. great place to watch the super bowl!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcav2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,235
    974
    333
    108
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hellertown, PA
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location - average food”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Had a group of 6 and we had a very nice meal, just one I can't rave about. I wouldn't say stay away, after all it was ok, but there are other places on the island I liked better. Drinks also were average. The recommendation for this place is the location. Right on the water. If you have a seat right on the water it's great.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 804 helpful votes
“Should have looked but not eaten”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We went to Huggo's on the Rocks because we had very fond memories of Huggo's, which was not serving lunch, and we wanted to eat lunch in Kailua-Kona.

Well, we won't do that again. It is in a great location, has a cheerful ambiance, and the server was friendly and welcoming. However, the food was not what we wanted or needed--found this out after the fact.

I'm of a certain age. I thought an ahi burger and fries would be fine. Well, my bad in that I ate them even after I realized the burger had "something" (peppers? onions? spices? MSG?) in it and the fries had "something" on them (spices? MSG?).

All seemed well at the time, if a bit leaden. But I had no appetite for dinner and felt unwell all evening. I am not saying anything was unwholesome, just too "something" for my tastes and body.

The real downer is we went here early in the trip and the experience soured us on our plans to go to the new Lava Lava Beach Club (a Huggo's enterprise) for dinner. We dropped by up there and looked at their menu...the place looked great but the menu was all "complicated" dishes that did not bode well given my earlier experience at Huggo's on the Rocks. Nothing like a simple grilled fish, for example.

So we gave Lava Lava a pass, much to our regret because we really, really had looked forward to going on a Friday to hear Ninodem. (Hey, Nino! Sorry and catch you next trip!)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Honu_Ohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua Kona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Local Bar on da Beach”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Fun place to dance in the sand on a Friday night! Good place for sunset drinks any night (there's usually music). Conveniently located near downtown - and attached to a lovely but somewhat higher priced restaurant that we've enjoyed for years. Great views and friendly atmosphere with people who actually live and work in Kona along with tourists.

Also a nice low key place during the day to have morning coffee.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Realestateroxy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The location, right on the beach, can't be beat. The food and drinks were pretty average though.
Go there for a perfect sunset location. The other positive is that they have entertainment most evenings.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trag51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huggo's On The Rocks also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Huggo's On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing