We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not to be missed”

Huggo's On The Rocks
Ranked #20 of 287 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opened in 1998 in the waterfront location adjacent to Huggo's fine dining restaurant, On the Rocks is a come as you are, kau kau (eat) great food with sand between your toes, kick back and enjoy great island entertainment center of fun on Hawaii Island. "After operating Huggo's restaurant for 18 years, we had the opportunity to purchase the vacant lot right next door and we jumped at it," Eric says. "The concept is what you see today - a casual bar and restaurant set literally on the rocks and sand of Kailua-Bay. Like many locals, we were tired of driving 20 miles or more up the coast to enjoy this sort of relaxed resort ambiance and decided to create just that right here in town."
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

we ate hear on our last day in hawaii and we are glad we did not miss it. directly on the ocean, and sand floor on the tables make you feel really on vacation. you have to get your own table if free (or at least that is what we did), they do not have kids menus, but we anyway found something ours could eat.
Food is good but not memorable as the atmosphere, the music, the sunset and the hawaiina dancers.
Worth the dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angecorti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,158
    935
    319
    107
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
150 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Dip your toes in the sand, listen to the surf and dine!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed Huggo's on the beach. The location is awesome, just next to the Royal Kona, the tables are nicely arranged in the sand next to the surf crashing on the black lava rocks below. The scenery couldn't be nicer. And they have live music just about every night, although it ends at 9. The food I'd say is upscale bar food and is pretty reasonable for Kona. My wife had the fish tacos which were good, and my ceasar salad with the seared tuna was very good! Our service was quick and attentive without feeling rushed. We even got a hula dancer as part of the live performance this evening. Several people were celebrating birthdays and there was a newlywed couple as well! Totally enjoyable. Good food, awesome location!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Over the Waves in Kona”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We loved this place, we sat over looking the crashing surf, the view of the Kona harbor was excellent. The fish chowder was outstanding. We had a lovely evening. We were sitting beside a VIP table and never felt slighted. Our server IJ was very good, but very busy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stumcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So much fun.”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great music and good food. And the view is amazing. We love going for happy hour and sunset. Not much more needs to be said.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank toes-n-tha-sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Best spot in town”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a fantastic spot to enjoy a sunset drink while listening to some great music.
Food is good but don't expect gourmet dining, this place is all about location and atmosphere.

Staff are friendly and efficient and the bartender remembered what we were drinking everytime we went.

Make sure you visit at least once during your trip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garrytev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huggo's On The Rocks also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Huggo's On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing