We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing snorkeling, beautiful day!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fair Wind Big Island Ocean Guides

Fair Wind Big Island Ocean Guides
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.03*
and up
Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise
Ranked #2 of 198 Tours in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 1971, Fair Wind has been the leader in snorkel cruises on the Big Island of Hawaii. Cruises include morning and afternoon tours to pristine Kealakekua Bay aboard the spacious Fair Wind II. Enjoy one of Hawaii's top snorkel locations and site of the famous Captain Cook Monument. Perfect for families of all ages and experience levels. Includes (2) 15-ft waterslides and high-jump platform.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing snorkeling, beautiful day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Thanks to the crew of the Fair Wind II for a most wonderful and incredible day out snorkeling. The catamaran cruise was surely one of the highlights of our trip to the big island, as we took a 1 hour cruise out to the captain cook monument, where the water was perfect and the fish and coral were extraordinary today. The water was crystal clear, no current, easy to snorkel. The crew served a perfect breakfast and cooked hamburgers on the grill for lunch. These things, along with potato chips, pasta salad and fruit made for the enjoyable luncheon fare to compliment the perfect weather and sights.

There was a snorkel lesson for those who needed it, there were inner tubes and boogie-boards for the kids on board. Snuba was also available for an extra charge for those interested.

Thanks to all for a most memorable day! I highly recommend this trip if you are looking for a snorkeling adventure on the Big Island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,758
    235
    46
    18
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a great experience. Everything on the boat was great. The crew was amazing, the areas we went to were great for snorkeling. The food was good, and overall everything just works! Do not miss on this great adventure.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alitronen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What about bookings from Canada.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Cannot book online with your company from Canada as you do not allow for entry for Canadian provinces. Also, we are not staying at a resort or hotel but a private condo as such there is no entry for this either.
Also, your 1-800 phone number does not work from Canada?
How can we book?

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear City, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't miss these boat tours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

While in Hawaii (Big Island) we booked the Fair Wind's Kealakekua Bay (Captain Cook's Monument) Catamaran cruise. This is a "must do" while in Hawaii.

The ship was totally designed to make a snorkel trip easy for the least, to most experienced swimmers.

The food was awesome, and the crew was very friendly and helpful. They were available to answer any questions you might have, and readily helped anyone in need.
By the way, our captain was Captain Kirk.

We so enjoyed the catamaran cruise that we booked the Hula Kai trip the following week. Also great, but if you can't do both, I would suggest trying the Kealakeua Bay trip to start.

The company also does a Manta Ray night cruise. I am sure that trip would be awesome also, but we picked another company for that trip. We had heard that the Manta Ray trips North by the airport has more Mantas.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Snorkeling Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We took the Fair Winds half-day snorkel trip from just south of Kona to the Captain Cook Mounument which we later read in our guidebook was the best place to snorkel on the Big Island. We were served a continental breakfast on the approximately 1 hour trip down. We were given a quick lesson in snorkeling (I hadn't done it in 30 years and was very nervous) and given a variety of flotation devices and options as needed. The spot is above a reef and close to shore, so you could see lots of marine life quite close up. We had 2 hours to snorkel with a break for lunch (burgers and hot dogs cooked on board) in the middle. The crew were all helpful and friendly. The trip turned out to the highlight of our week on the Big Island.

We were very fortunate that the day we went out the boat was only 60% full. I am not sure if I would have been quite as happy if the boat and the snorkeling area had been at capactiy (100 people). The same outfit also has a smaller boat, but it was booked up the day we went.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank OlivierLeSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fair Wind Big Island Ocean Guides also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Fair Wind Big Island Ocean Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing