We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the line operation”
Review of Big Island Divers

Big Island Divers
Ranked #1 of 200 Tours in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Big Island Divers in Kailua-Kona, Hawaii offers SCUBA diving and snorkeling charters from one of their 4 boats. They also do all levels of PADI certification from introductory dives to Divemaster. Wild dolphin snorkels, SCUBA diving charters and Manta Ray charters are offered every day/night. Come experience the best dive shop in Hawaii, served with Aloha!
1 review
“Top of the line operation”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Fri dec 6 2013 I live on Kauai . Came over to Kona to dive the Manta dive. It was amazing . From the dive shop to the staff to the boat to the crew . Everything was perfect. I will come back and dive with Big Island Divers . a big Mahalo to you !!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Proud2kiddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,775
    182
    52
    30
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best SCUBA Diving with Big Island Divers”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Big Island Divers is an outstanding dive shop. My wife and I have refreshed our diving skills after a 25 years lapse. We have done more than 10 boat dives with them, rented gear for shore dives, and purchased various items at the shop, all reasonably priced. We have gone with other Dive Shops on the Big Island and Maui, but for us, Big Island Divers is definitely the best. Having just completed the PADI Advanced Open Water Course, we have only high praise for our experience, and their diving staff.
Big Island provides SCUBA divers an excellent time of fun and adventure. Their crew is professional, knowledgeable and skilled. Every dive has been great. Their customer service from the store to sea to shore is superb. Did I also mention that they are lots of FUN!
Special kudos to Janine, Heather, Flipper, and Captain Mike. We also want to thank Norm and Roberta for operating such a consistently good dive shop. Can't wait for our next dive with them. Ernie and Denise outta Alaska!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DiveandFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing...”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I guess I expected too much after reading all the "hooplahs" on Tripadvisor. First, our boat was one of the last to arrive at the spot. by the time we got to the site, there was a fleet of boats already there. when we finally got in the water, other snorkelers kept running into or kicking us. I understand that it's a magnificent attraction, but I think there should be some sort of regulation as to how many at a time can be out there. Just felt like cattle so I had a hard time enjoying this once in a lifetime experience. also, maybe Captain Mike was having a bad day, but he wasn't at all friendly. We asked a couple of questions, and once he was curt with his answer, the other, he just completely ignored us. anyway, it was a bit disappointing. Mike B., on the other hand, was very friendly and put us at ease, but he was with the divers.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dabugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigIslandDivers, Manager at Big Island Divers, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
I always encourage people to seek out any of our Managers for any reason during your stay, whenever you feel that we have not accommodated you accordingly. So after reading your review, I'm happy to see it looks like your were just irritated with how "busy" the Manta Snorkel Site was; not our Equipment, Dive Master or Snorkel Guides, Hot Coco, etc. That's always good to know! :)

As we approach the “Holiday Season”, like Thanksgiving, Christmas, etc., on an Island; it does get crowed. So we always recommend to guests that find it busy, to visit us during the off seasons, like October or February. I can almost guarantee a quiet setting and less guests in the water.

As for arriving last to the Manta site, we do that intentionally, so other boats will leave the site(since they only stay for a bit). So the seemingly crowed site, will be less populated as the night goes on; until we are one of the only boats left-allowing you a private show with the Manta Rays sometimes! :)

And just like all Captains, they usually have the entire vessel/boat to manage, so our Boat Crew-like Mikey B, will always be a lot more talkative! :)

We truly value feedback like yours, and Loved that you enjoyed Mikey B; but may we suggest(if your schedule can handle it) that next time you might consider a less “busy” time of the year for visiting the Island; and we can then show you, how much fun, you really can have with our Manta Rays! :)

Sincerely Aloha and Mahalo's for your feed back,
Frank, Manager of Big Island Divers
Frank@bigislanddivers.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great Manta Ray Night Snorkel”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Patrick our Captain and Bob our Snorkel Guide led us on an amazing snorkel trip! Though the ocean was pretty rough Patrick smoothly got us to the dive spot while Bob casually kept an eye on the passengers. We were fitted for wet suits, fins and masks, offered water and drinks along the way, dry towels for the ride home, and hot cocoa. Bob did an amazing job leading us through the other groups in the water. We had our 12 & 17 year old children with us and the completely enjoyed this unusually beautiful adventure. Thank you Patrick and Bob for leading a great night!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2200Travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Zane, Captain Mike and Mike B ensured we had the greatest time of our lives. We saw 30 + Manta Rays during the night snorkel. This experience was life changing, thanks for making it great. We will recommend you to anyone wanting to snorkel on the Big Island. Mahalo!

Helpful?
Thank TravelingTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Island Divers also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Big Island Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing