We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful beach

Lovely beach. Has a decent sized sandy portion. Parking is by the sides of the road. Come early or... read more

Reviewed December 30, 2023
Srilekha P
,
San Mateo, California
Beautiful

Beautiful clear water, soft sand. Lifeguards on duty. Some days there are big waves here, some are... read more

Reviewed November 7, 2023
toritheexplorer17
,
Los Angeles, California
via mobile
Read all 1,429 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Island of Hawaii
from $94.00
More Info
from $84.15
More Info
from $242.46
More Info
from $182.70
More Info
Reviews (1,429)
Filter reviews
1,429 results
Traveler rating
1,088
291
39
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,088
291
39
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews favorite beach boogie boarding great beach soft white sand body surfing the big island big waves beautiful sand lava rock crystal clear water sea turtles fish shore hawaii
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 1,429 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2019

We though this was the nicest beach on the island and not as crowded as the ones in town. We saw a monk seal and found some shells.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank R2881HVkenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 23, 2019 via mobile

Great beach and water. The park is meticulous and has great service facilities.
The whole family said “this is one of the best beaches we have been to (and we have been to many)
If you go to Kona; make this a “can’t missing ” item

Date of experience: May 2019
4  Thank mg0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 21, 2019 via mobile

Just a short drive north of Kona town centre easily accessible off the highway. We went around midday Many reviews mention no parking there’s maybe 25 lined however there is ample shoulder and most cars park along this edge. I would not recommend parking at the entrance it would be a long hot walk!

Prior to the beach there’s toilets, showers and picnic benches then a staircase down to the beach. The staircase leads down to a rocky rough section of beach, if you are able I would recommend using the rocky path to access the pristine beach.

Beach is so beautiful soft white sand crystal clear waters and we had a turtle swim right by us in the shallows! Along with many fish.

Bring water and sun shelter there’s no protection and it’s very hot and glarey.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank honestlyspoken14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 20, 2019

Enjoyed body surfing on the waves. The water was not calm the day we were there. Get there early to park. There may be only 20 parking spots.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank dmoyes70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 9, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful white sand amidst volcano rocks with turquoise clear water. This is in the state park and accessible by car on paved road. Yes, it’s a short walk through sand path and volcano steps but you end up at this spectacular bay. Some thing for all, good snorkeling, calm enough to swim and you can explore the volcano formations. Showers available but no bathrooms. 30 minutes from kauali kona

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank trunkjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews