We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay)

Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay)
Ranked #5 of 123 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Palmyra, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Beautiful beach with excellent snorkling on the North end. Bathhouse and showers available onsite. Waves were not to rough for small children. Excellent beach for family outing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    181
    22
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Pretty white sand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Located on the Kona side, Kua Bay is the type of pretty, white sand beach associated with vacation. There's no shade so bring your own umbrella. It's pretty popular so expect it to be crowded by Hawaii standards. There's no concession stand so be sure to bring lunch.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ccesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Now that this beach has a paved road to it, this is a great place to go. For years the locals have needed a 4 wheel drive or a long walk to get there, but now easy access. But go in the morning as the parking gets crazy in the after noon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Bosco1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our favorite beach in Kailua-Kona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was definitely our favorite beach when we visited Kailua-Kona over the 4th of July weekend. I'm from Oahu, Hawaii, and I have to admit this beach was nicer than the ones back home!

Upon driving into the Kekaha Kai beach park, you can see the ocean is extra blue. The parking is along the street and is very easy to find parking. People are coming and going often.

What makes it my favorite beach is the water is so clear and so blue. I don't even know how it is such a beautiful shade of teal - you will not find beaches back on Oahu with water that beautiful! I took a ton of pictures, and even my friends back home said it looks like I'm in Bora Bora or something!

It's not the largest beach, but the vibe was good and we really enjoyed this beach. Another patron was telling me that they saw turtles swimming around the rocky areas, but unfortunately there were no turtles that day we went.

Another suggestion to make this spot better is if there was a food truck or shave ice/drinks stand.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank joyhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful sandy beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This is an absolutely beautiful sandy beach- crystal clear water and a little boogie board surf. It was gentle enough for our smaller kids. There is no shade, and the scramble down over rocks from the main path was challenging for grandma. Restrooms, showers, but usually a walk for parking on a paved road. Very peaceful.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay) also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing